We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great weekend for 10 couples”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A Great weekend for 10 couples”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

In late February, we booked 5 x 2 bed villas for a 70th birthday celebration. We were very happy with the booking process, the reception staff, the accommodation & the breakfasts. This is a second visit to Leisure Inn Pokolbin & definitely won't be our last. We have already recommended this establishment to our friends.

Room Tip: Our bed could have had more support.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Geoff W
Thank you for your review on trip advisor recently. I was pleased to see that your group enjoyed your stay with us.
When next booking please contact me as I’d love to offer you an upgrade to thank you for your business. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Anthony
General Manager, Leisure Inn Pokolbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    431
    165
    66
    34
See reviews for
168
587
16
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

An excellent property, my 4th visit. Ideally situated in the very centre of the Pokolbin wineries and a good choice of restaurants etc within a short drive, some walkable as is the Hunter Valley Gardens and Village centre.
Very comfortable 1 bedroom and adjoining studio unit-all self contained. Great for couples and families. Nice décor and all in good condition. Spa baths would be popular, however shower above is almost a fine mist spray and can wet the floor if you're not careful. Needs some kind of screening. Rooms are not serviced daily if extended stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calypso2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Calypso2
Thank you for your review on trip advisor and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please contact me when next booking as I’d love to offer you an upgrade when next you choose to stay.
Kind Regards
Anthony
General Manager, Leisure Inn Pokolbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bateau Bay, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

we were very lucky to have a cabin facing the ponds - which gave us sensational sunset views. The BBQ area needed attention - the BBQ plates weren't clean. The pool was clean and had plenty of lounges for everyone on a hot day. Staff were friendly. Would go back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Lyn W
Thank you for your review on trip advisor and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please contact me when next booking as id love to offer you an upgrade when next you choose to stay.
Kind Regards
Anthony
General Manager, Leisure Inn Pokolbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This was a friends weekend away in the Hunter Valley. The Inn is very well located in walking distance to half a dozen wineries and a handful of restaurants.

The stand alone cabins are in need of a refresh as they are very dated. They could also do with a decent clean inside and out: I was not game to use the spa in our cabin and the bathroom sink had pink mould in the plug area. Rooms are also quite dark even during the day and noisy at night if you are on the road side of things. On the up side, they have a microwave and other amenities so if you want to self cater you can.

It is also some way from the Reception area to many cabins and if you do not have a car, you will be dragging your luggage across stone and dirt paths to reach your room.

There is no room service, however if you explain clearly to the restaurant what you would like, you can get something simple to take back to your room. The restaurant menu is simple and the food was ok.

Staff were friendly but lacked a bit of training, they seemed somewhat unsure of what they were doing most of the time, but got there in the end.

Given what we paid per night, I had much higher expectations from this property.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Brief one night stay when the majority of other accommodations require a minimum of two nights. Room was comfortable with all amenities that one requires provided. We had a comfortable night sleep. It was within walking distance to the concert we attended at the Hope Winery although a shuttle was provided for a small fee. Although we didn't use the pool it looked very inviting.

Room Tip: We booked a studio but one and two bedrooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annan
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had a weekend stay in this superb location for visiting the vineyards of the Hunter Valley. Rooms had everything you could need to self cater. We booked a wine tour which was excellent although some Cellar Doors are within walking distance. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hecklegirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Hecklegirth
Thank you for your recent review. In was lovely to have you stay with us and when booking again please let me know as we would love to throw in a bottle of wine for your next stay.
Kind Regards
Anthony Phillips
General Manager – Leisure Inn Pokolbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed here briefly over New Years. The rooms were pleasant, access was easy and it was very central to the wine region. When we went it wasn't terribly busy. The receptionists were cheerful and offered to arrange us cabs, plus were informative about the region. The aircon in our room was a godsend - you need this in the Hunter at this time of year even just to sleep. The room was quiet, despite being close to the other units and the road that runs through the property. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank healthyactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Healthyactive
Thank you for your kind review recently. It gave me great pleasure to share this with the staff and we would love to offer you a complimentary upgrade when next you book with us.
Thank you again and all the best
Anthony Phillips
General Manager – Leisure Inn Pokolbin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
4.7 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
3.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
715 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#6 of 15 in Pokolbin
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill

Property: Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Address: Cnr Broke and McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is a picturesque retreat set on 25 acres of tranquility in the heart of the Hunter Valley Wine Country. With many cellar doors and attractions such as Hunter Valley Gardens within easy strolling distance, Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is the unbeatable location to base yourself.Marvel at the truly stunning views over local vineyards and Brokenback Ridge – you might even enjoy a visit from the local native fauna and birdlife. This picturesque backdrop is the perfect setting for a relaxing and peaceful stay in the Hunter Valley. Self-contained Studio, One and Two Bedroom Villas. Take some time-out in our air-conditioned studio, one or two bedroom apartments sprawled across the landscaped gardens of the property. All apartments feature private patios looking out to the 25 acres of peaceful hotel grounds and vineyards. To enhance your stay at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, our Superior Rooms have been upgraded with new beds, LCD TVs, WiFi access, modern kitchen and bathroom fittings and soft furnishings. The perfect way to finish a great day of wine tasting and sightseeing is to sit back on your veranda and with a cheese platter and glass of wine or sink down and relax in your in-room spa tub. Take a stroll to the local restaurants or cook a romantic meal (full kitchen facilities available in one and two bedroom apartments). Guests are also welcome to relax by the hotel’s outdoor heated swimming pool, play a game of tennis, or have a BBQ in our undercover BBQ area surrounded by lush gardens. Guests can awake to a delicious breakfast or relax over a superbly prepared meal served at the onsite cafe & restaurant (under new management). Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is the ideal location for a romantic break or a trip with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill Hotel Pokolbin
Pokolbin Hill Chateau
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing