We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at this place for 2 nights and this was really good experience.
The Inn located next the Hunter Valley garden. It is easy to get there by taxi (you can catch one from bus station). Room is well equipped with cooking items and glassware. Our room is really spacious with one bedroom, 1 bathroom, 1 living room (which has a bed-sofa). More than enough for two of us.
We love the restaurant as well. I had beef and my friend had chicken, both of them were really delicious. However, we actually had to wait really long for those 2 dishes, roughly 45 minutes.
I would recommend this place for anyone wants a short stay at weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanhLien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear HanhLien
Thank you for your kind review on trip advisor. We enjoyed seeing you at the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area.
Kind Regards
Anthony Phillips
General Manager, Leisure Inn Pokolbin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,049)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

826 - 832 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed here and thoroughly have enjoyed my stay on both occassions.
The staff are so friendly and the view is breathtaking at sunset!! Went for a walk at dusk and dawn to meet little kangaroos in the wild; which was quite a treat for our family who had been visiting us from the USA.
Thank u again for a wonderful stay. Dont miss out on this gem right kn the centre of the hunter.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank melanie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWHG_Operations, General Manager at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Melanie W
Thank you for your kind review on trip advisor. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Kind Regards
Anthony Phillips
General Manager, Leisure Inn Pokolbin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stayed the w/end of 16/17 May 2014 and I am going to start what should be a very good review with a HUGE NEGATIVE and that is the restaurant at the Leisure Inn. We were informed that their restaurant had re-launched and with a new menu a few days before we arrived so we thought we would give it a try on the night of our arrival. MASSIVE fail by this restaurant, my partner is vegetarian and there was NOT a single vegetarian dish on either the starters or the main menu, NOTHING, ZILCH, NADA and nothing that could be turned into a vegetarian dish, the 2 very nice front of house staff that were on duty all they could offer was MAYBE a salad, (not their fault and they were very nice and professional) Talk about a massive fail on the Leisure Inns part with this restaurant and total lack of anything that even remotely resembles a vegetarian dish.. The rest of the offerings on the small menu looked bland and uninspiring as well but we didn’t stay to try a dish as no point in only feeding one half of us so I cant comment on what their other dishes are like.

As far as the rest of our 2 night stay went the staff were all very nice, polite and helpful, the cabins/bungalows were clean, comfortable and quiet and well laid out with a very comfortable bed and well spaced between each one across well maintained grounds and the one we stayed in (39) was down by the lake with excellent views. One of the biggest plus’s this place has going for it is LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION, smack in the middle of Pokolbin surrounded by some of the best wineries, the cheese factory, great food and straight across the road from The Hunter Gardens and the Hunter Gardens Village. So much to do within easy walking distance of this place or a short drive.

Overall apart from the major fail by their restaurant this place is excellent value in the heart of the Hunter and I would recommend it.

PS lots of excellent places to eat within very easy walking distance or a 5 minute car trip from the Leisure Inn that offer vegetarian dishes

Room Tip: Ask for the cabins down by the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The good - Comfortable bed and good selection of pillows. Clean crisp bed linen and soft towells. Location is very central and good proximity to attractions - some within walking distance. The bad and the ugly - Simply no good will. Room not serviced daily. No decaf coffee available in the room. Confusion re what is included in breakfast. Incorrect amount (overstated) on our breakfast voucher in error. Bathroom needed a good spray of exit mould. Silly soap / shampoo dispensers on the wall - do yourself a favour and bring a cake of soap. Cafe was too small for the number of guests and became over crowded. It was too cold and windy to sit outside. Cafe renovations commenced on our last day (understand these things need to happen) but there was no compensation for loss of amenity - could not serve anything but instant coffee - but still wanted to charge $4.00. Missing phone on the wall couldn't contact our friends. Booked so far in advance but still got a crappy position! Such a shame given every other encounter in the Hunter Valley was first rate. Next time I would try the Mecure which is near by. 8 friends travelling in October but cannot recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank AussieTravelBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We booked the 2 bedroom for 1 night through timeshare. Right infront of the lake. The rooms were clean and suited 2 adults and 1 child. The staff at check-in was really nice and friendly. Very quiet and peaceful location.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rottie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Situated in the heart of the Hunter Valley winelands,this complex of central admin/restaurant area, with bungalows spread, well-spaced, on gently sloping grass to a lake and views to the rolling hills is the perfect spot to use as a base for your holiday. West-facing, the sunsets are superb, preceded by the appearance of a group of kangaroos for their evening meal.
There is an outdoor pool, children's play area, games room and tennis, but even more appealing is the proximity to nearby wineries, shops and gardens, all within easy walking distance.
The staff were pleasant and helpful; we only experienced the restaurant at breakfast, but could have no complaints at all about the food or service.

Room Tip: Probably better nearer the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Right in the heart of things, the leisure inn is located at a convenient and beautiful spot. Horse riding, wine tours and the hunter gardens all nearby. The cottages are crisp and clean, with a lovely spa bath that definitely did not go to waste. I've stayed here twice before and will keep on coming back!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etiolated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.6 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.2 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
0.5 mi away
Pokolbin Village
Pokolbin Village
#5 of 15 in Pokolbin
328 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill

Address: 485 McDonalds Rd | Cnr Broke and McDonalds Roads, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range: £72 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is a picturesque retreat set on 25 acres of tranquility in the heart of the Hunter Valley Wine Country. With many cellar doors and attractions such as Hunter Valley Gardens within easy strolling distance, Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is the unbeatable location to base yourself.Marvel at the truly stunning views over local vineyards and Brokenback Ridge – you might even enjoy a visit from the local native fauna and birdlife. This picturesque backdrop is the perfect setting for a relaxing and peaceful stay in the Hunter Valley. Self-contained Studio, One and Two Bedroom Villas. Take some time-out in our air-conditioned studio, one or two bedroom apartments sprawled across the landscaped gardens of the property. All apartments feature private patios looking out to the 25 acres of peaceful hotel grounds and vineyards. To enhance your stay at Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill, our Superior Rooms have been upgraded with new beds, LCD TVs, WiFi access, modern kitchen and bathroom fittings and soft furnishings. The perfect way to finish a great day of wine tasting and sightseeing is to sit back on your veranda and with a cheese platter and glass of wine or sink down and relax in your in-room spa tub. Take a stroll to the local restaurants or cook a romantic meal (full kitchen facilities available in one and two bedroom apartments). Guests are also welcome to relax by the hotel’s outdoor heated swimming pool, play a game of tennis, or have a BBQ in our undercover BBQ area surrounded by lush gardens. Guests can awake to a delicious breakfast or relax over a superbly prepared meal served at the onsite cafe & restaurant (under new management). Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill is the ideal location for a romantic break or a trip with friends and family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill Hotel Pokolbin
Pokolbin Hill Chateau
Leisure Inn Pokolbin Hill Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing