We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60 + 1 Birthday Lunch”
Review of Villa du Pays

Villa du Pays
Ranked #15 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Villa du Pays restaurant sits among the spectacular grounds of Leogate Estate. Taking pride in serving you modern Australian cuisine and to compliment your meal, we will be proud to serve you our beautiful Leogate Estate award winning wines.
North Rothbury NSW
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“60 + 1 Birthday Lunch”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had the most delicious 3 course lunch at the Villa du Pays. The service was fantastic and the 3 guys in the kitchen did a fantastic job with the meals. The dessert was light and a delightful way to end the meal. the steak was cooked to perfection. Highly recommended - Great Atmosphere, Fantastic service and the Ambience is truly beautiful. We are glad that we had lunch there, today. We are looking forward to having brunch on a weekend in the near future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    44
    21
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Muswellbrook, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal and Service”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I had dinner here for a speciall occasion at the end of April.

I was able to book in the day before which was excellent and got the 5 course tasting menu, I got the normal menu and my partner the vegetarian which the staff were very accomodating for over the phone.

Both sets of meals were delicious and of a very high standard as was the service, I will definitely return. i am not usually a seafood fan but when it is part of an excellent range of courses I always enjoy it, the cured kingfish was a standout and the wines matched perfectly.

Found out about it as we had spied the new Leogate cellar door and visitied previously and seen the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesEntropy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere, amazing food”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were told about this restaurant by a local so we thought we'd try it. We turned up without booking and we're fortunate to secure a table. We ordered a three course meal which included steak and duck. WOW it was amazing! Service was fantastic. Glad we tried it. We will defiantly be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villadupays v, Public Relations Manager at Villa du Pays, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us Natasha. The Dry Aged steak is our speciality and we are glad that it met your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again when you next find yourself in the Hunter Valley.

Warm Regards,
The team at Villa du Pays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, fabulous service & child friendly too!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We spent an evening in pure heaven at Villa du Pays last weekend enjoying the delicious food and wine and impeccable service. We booked very last minute but fortunately we were able to secure a table. We ordered steak and duck from the mains menu, whilst our 6 year old had her own steak and chips. Everything was cooked to perfection. The steak was tender and succulent and served with a variety of sauces, each one complimenting the meat delightfully. The duck was beautifully presented and was equal in taste to the steak. Even our daughter (who is very picky with her food) polished every morsel from her plate and commented on how good everything was. The wine selection matched the meal very well. We had the 2010 Reserve Shiraz and honestly, it was the best wine I have had in a long time. Finally to end the evening, we shared a souffle which was delicious. I would say without reservation that this was the best meal I have eaten in the Hunter Valley and matches the very top notch restaurants in Sydney. Though it is rated below others in TripAdvisor, we also ate at number 1 and Villa du Pays was better on many levels. It is definitely one to put on your list if you are planning a special meal at the Hunter Valley. We met the owner (Vicky) the next day whilst wine tasting and her sense of pride in the restaurant and estate was most evident. We loved the place and will be making another trip again soon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aquamarine24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villadupays v, Public Relations Manager at Villa du Pays, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We are so glad that your whole family enjoyed your evening. It was our pleasure to serve you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Villa du Pays Restaurant - impressive!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have tasted at Leogate Estate Wines previously, and found it enjoyable. We recently went with friends to their on-site restaurant Villa du Pays and had a wonderful evening. The staff were very welcoming and attentive - we enjoyed the kingfish for entree, which was beautifully presented, and the steak I had for dinner was thoroughly perfect. Out of the desserts we tried, the souffle with salted caramel was to die for! For anyone looking for a luxurious dining experience, I would definitely recommend Villa du Pays.

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa du Pays also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Villa du Pays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing