We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beef Lovers Heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa du Pays

Villa du Pays
Ranked #20 of 73 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Villa du Pays restaurant sits among the spectacular grounds of Leogate Estate. Taking pride in serving you modern Australian cuisine and to compliment your meal, we will be proud to serve you our beautiful Leogate Estate award winning wines.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beef Lovers Heaven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

The restaurant is a part of the Leogate Winery, and definitely delivers on the Aged Beef selections in the menu. The beef is sourced from the Winery Owner's Black Angus Cattle farm in Tamworth, and is is aged to perfection.
We stayed for Sunday Lunch and tried the classic french style Steak Frittes from the Lunch menu. Todays chefs cut was the sirloin. The steaks was cooked Medium Rare and had the very intense flavour from the Dry Aging Process. Just looking into the dry ageing area next to the restaurant was enough to tempt us to book. The steaks were accompanied by a Glass of Pino Noir (fruit sourced in Young) and Shiraz from the surrounding vineyard. Both were excellent accompaniments to the beef. This was a great first entry meal and now will be going back for the grillade or the degustation at the next visit. Highly recommended form service/style and most importantly food quality.

I noticed a previous report suggesting only "Leogate" wines were available, the wine list had
2 sections with the last part detailing the non local wines.

This is yet another Hunter Valley great food and wine experience

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary_TLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villadupays v, Public Relations Manager at Villa du Pays, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed our beef and we look forward to being able to welcome you to dinner in the future. Thank you for taking the time to visit us and provide your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Team Villa du Pays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    42
    20
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We went here for a Sunday lunch
The staff were very friendly and the service good
The meals were great
It does have a wine list limited to the associated vineyard which is a little disappointing
The decor is smart and new but seems a bit eclectic
Worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank KymB0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad Group Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Unfortunately friends and I had a poor experience. Despite having a confirmed booking and the restaurant aware of our larger party (and no recommendation to do a set menu), our entrees took over 2 hours to arrive and an additional 45 minutes for mains. We had to chase up why it was taking so long for our food and we received a poor response from the waiter - "good food takes time to cook". Our whole table was gobsmacked and speechless by this response. Uncalled for and not a professional response.

I ordered the trio of duck and 2 components were barely nuke warm but ate it anyway because I had waited under 3 hours for my food. However the third component was extremely salty, agreed by others on the table so was left to the side uneaten (on multiple plates too).

It is really sad my experience was nothing like most others. A real shame but unfortunately this is what we experienced

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tina812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villadupays v, Owner at Villa du Pays, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are sorry you did not receive the service you were looking for.

In email correspondence, with the member of your party who booked the group, we did offer a set menu option which was declined, we are sorry that this was not communicated to you.

The late arrival of your group (25 minutes after the reservation time) did result in a delay in the delivery of your entrée (of 55 minutes) as we attended to other tables, who had arrived on time, and served you with your bread and an Amuse. Notwithstanding, we wholeheartedly agree this was too long to wait as we indicated at the time by offering your party wine and soft drinks free of charge by way of apology.

Your mains were much more promptly delivered 30 minutes after the delivery of your entrée.

When approached at the end of the evening by the group organiser we were again apologetic for the delay in the mains offering the group the side dishes free of charge also.

It is important to understand that it is extremely difficult for any kitchen on busy nights when patrons arrive late yet demand and are given prompt service. In that event some patrons have to suffer for the late arrival of others if orders are served out of sequence.

We trust you appreciate that we did all we could to rectify the situation with your group on the evening and we thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“High Class atmosphere ... great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Definitely have dinner here, great service and probably the classiest decor on the Hunter. The food was also excellent, lots of good choices and tasty dishes.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TmanSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Deliciously amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

From the moment we pulled up in our car we felt like we were in a different place. From the beautiful countryside to the stunning courtyard and interiors. The service was great and the food was exquisite. The fire place created a cosy environment and was perfect for such a cold evening. We will definitely be returning. Thank you to the wonderful staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LiJoHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa du Pays also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Villa du Pays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing