We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dine and wine”
Review of Villa du Pays

Villa du Pays
Ranked #15 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Villa du Pays restaurant sits among the spectacular grounds of Leogate Estate. Taking pride in serving you modern Australian cuisine and to compliment your meal, we will be proud to serve you our beautiful Leogate Estate award winning wines.
Singleton, Australia
1 review
“Fine dine and wine”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I brought some friends here in friday for lunch and we had an amazing time. The staff were so attentive and the food was excellently presented and well balanced. I had the smoked trout for entree, which was a treat for the eyes as well as the pallet. The sirloin from the dry ageing room for main. It wad cooked and seasoned perfectly. The wine was first class as well opting for the best chard in the hunter! I would highly recommend this place for anyone to dine.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nzkiwiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    44
    21
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Mediocre and overpriced ”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This place is easy enough to find but I found it odd that once you get there it's quite difficult to actually find the front door. The closest door says it's closed, you then have to walk over grass and stone to find the random side door. The restaurant itself is quite nice and the staff are great but I found the food to be highly overpriced for what it was (that's hunter valley for you though). Couldn't fault the wait staff but the chefs need a rev up.

Helpful?
Thank DGerous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A bit over done..”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The food is lovely, and dont get me wrong it feels very plush and you can tell that they are trying to give it an extravagent feel, however it almost seems a bit over done & tacky? and there are random tables with lamps, candle sticks and just extra "things" lying at the front of the restaurant in full view. You also feel slightly like you are sitting in someones living room, it just felt a bit odd. But the food was really nice thank you. Also maybe take a car? its a bit remote

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiji123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villadupays v, Public Relations Manager at Villa du Pays, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased you enjoyed your meal at the very least.

Warm Regards,
Team Villa du Pays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Lovely Ambiance”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Beautifully subdued lighting and plush furnishings give this restaurant an elegant feel. On arrival friendly greetings from the staff make you feel really special. The service is attentive and the staff are well versed in both the food & wines.
All 4 of us enjoyed our meals, especially the quail. The fennel salad was delicious but served with several of our menu choices, so my one small suggestion to the chef would be to vary the accompaniments for each dish.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oldandnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Below Average”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We were looking forward to this meal as had not eaten here before and the menu looked great. Unfortunately everything we wanted on the menu was not available and what we ended up having was disappointing, decor was lovely as was the outlook, waitstaff average and giving us an old menu did not help our choices, high price restaurant that unfortunately did not deliver.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheenat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villadupays v, Public Relations Manager at Villa du Pays, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We are very sorry to hear that your experience was not what you anticipated. We are always doing our best to improve and your feedback is invaluable. We would, as always, welcome the opportunity to serve you again and have the opportunity to exceed your expectations when you are next in the area.

Warm Regards,
Team Villa du Pays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa du Pays also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Villa du Pays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing