We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wine great fun”
Review of Moorebank Vineyard

Moorebank Vineyard
Ranked #31 of 111 things to do in Pokolbin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Moorebank is one of the smallest but finest estates in the Hunter Valley, producing hand-made premium wines and is a family owned and operated boutique vineyard, where outstanding wines come from outstanding grapes.Come and taste our range of premium wines, the new selection of our sons 'Grandis' Ginseng Infused wines as well as a wide range of hand-made, wine inspired condiments.Open 7 days, 10:00am - 5:00pm
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great wine great fun”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

He took his time to understand our pallets.... He was fun and knowledgable and wasn't phased that we were his last customers of the day and had already had a fair bit to drink, he even drove all our wine back for us.... Top bloke

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoorebankVineyard, Manager at Moorebank Vineyard, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Good afternoon Tripadvisor member, Thank you for your lovely review.
It sounds like you could be talking about Ian who served you, as he does like to have a bit of fun!
I'm glad he was able to assist in making your visit to us an enjoyable one.
We hope to see you again soon.
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    10
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
campbelltown, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Boutique Winery”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

We stopped in late on Sunday afternoon, it's our first visit to this winery but it will now be one of our regulars! The lady who looked after us was so informative and helpful. We learnt so much about the wines and why they reacted in our mouths the way they did! We found some lovely wines to take home and also some of the condiments. We also bought some of the natural Lemonade, it was so refreshing!! Also loved the black sheep out the front, we fed it some biscuits, it was so gentle. Thanks for a wonderful experience and See you next time we are in the area!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoorebankVineyard, Owner at Moorebank Vineyard, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Good afternoon Dianne F, it's so wonderful to hear you enjoyed your time at Moorebank & that we were able to provide you with knowledge & a bit of fun thanks to Sheila!
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review.
Hope you thoroughly enjoy your purchases & we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place, Great Wine, Great People”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I first came across this Vineyard 15 years ago, and have been a member ever since. Even when I lived in California, I'd still order wine (especially the Merlot and fortified wines) from here.

The people who work there are always friendly, fun, and knowledgeable about their product. They obviously believe in what they sell.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SiobhanEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoorebankVineyard, Owner at Moorebank Vineyard, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Good afternoon to the lovely SiobhanEllis,
We can't thank you enough for all your continued support to Moorebank over the past 15 years.
We always love catching up yourself and Akiko when you come visit our Cellar Door & we look forward for many more to come!
Chat with you in April for your stock up ;) Cheers!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best boutique winery in the Hunter”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

From my first visit I fell in love with the place. The wines are exceptional. The traditional wines of the Hunter, the Semillon and the Shiraz are presented here in exquisite style. The "Summar" Semillon is presented in two separate bottle sizes distinguishing the fruits that have been grown on their sandy plot and the other from their clay plot, you get a great chance to taste the difference that soil types can make to the flavours in wines. The "Black Sheep" Shiraz is full of good peppery flavours and darker berry fruits, has that lovely Hunter savoury, leathery flavour to it. They make a wonderful range of other wines, preserves and delicacies that make it a very tough place to leave. The team, headed by Ian and Deb, are mostly family but even the staff seem to be part of the clan in this place. Take the time to visit and try most of whats on offer and you might feel like part of the family too, the generous hospitality of the Moorebank team is worth making the trip the Hunter for.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BennyKriks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoorebankVineyard, Owner at Moorebank Vineyard, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Good afternoon BennyKriks, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your experience at Moorebank.
We strive to give all our customers a fun, knowledgeable & relaxed tasting experience & we hope you received this.
When you happen to be visiting us again, please be sure to let us know who you are so we can say thank you for your support .
We look forward to seeing you again at Moorebank soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Best winery in the Hunter”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Went on a private wine tour. This happened to be our first stop and boy did it set such a high standard, we wish we went there at the end of the tour because the other wineries didnt come close.
Ian the owner of the winery was there himself and his approach was truly warm & inviting. He is quite a character, joking around with everyone while giving great insight into the wines. The wine here was also my favourite by far, we went to all the bigger wineries in the area but i think you are truly missing out if you don't try the personalised approach offered by smaller wineries in the area.

Cant wait to visit again truly made our trip !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoorebankVineyard, Owner at Moorebank Vineyard, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Good afternoon Amin25, thank you for your review.
It's so lovely to hear how much you enjoyed our wines, your time with Ian & how we made your trip to the Hunter!

Dont forget to mention who you are when you visit our cellar door again to receive some V.I.P treament!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moorebank Vineyard also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Moorebank Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing