We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately going back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Definately going back.”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The restaurant is perfect. it has the best atmosphere for couples, families or a day out with the mates. the food was perfect, i had the beef and guiness pot pie which had the best quality of meat in it. The bar had great beer on tap and the service was so quick and friendly. I would highly recommend dropping in for a feed if your up this way.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Benji35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarryn M, Front Office Manager at Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Hi Benji,

Thanks for your great feedback. The beef & guiness pot pie is a favourite here at Harrigan's! Great to see you enjoyed your time, see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    134
    63
    24
    15
See reviews for
80
115
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Overpriced rooms which is more like an old motel room with an extra bed rather than a resort style room. Food was average which seemed mass produced and staff were rude and unwelcoming. Saturday night was a nightmare as you cannot sleep due to music blaring till early hours of the morning. I did not enjoy my stay at this place and will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarryn M, Front Office Manager at Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Hi Ramni
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We value your comments as they are an integral part of our internal review process and take such comments seriously. The weekend of your stay was Lovedale Long Lunch and one of the busiest weekends in the Hunter Valley. With our accommodation reservations we advise our guests at various stages of their reservation that we do have live entertainment at the venue. I understand your concerns and sincerely apologise for any inconvenience this has caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Great location and great food. Lots of parking. Rooms fair size. Service was excellent, check-in easy, despite our very late arrival. Good value money. Easy access to all of the Hunter's wineries, etc.

Dinner was great, although make sure you book as it gets busy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajjbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarryn M, Front Office Manager at Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Glad to see you enjoyed your stay. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Went there with a group of old Navy mates and partners, arriving on a Friday and departing Monday. Most of us were accommodated there, so it was the focus of formal and informal social activities. The former included a casual reception and a formal dinner. Some played golf on the Saturday and others went wine tasting on the Sunday, both of which were also arranged by Harrigans. The friendliness and competence of the staff were magnificent.
The rooms were of comfortable size, equipped with what is expected of a good quality motel. The split mattress king beds were excellent. Food, drinks etc were all fairly priced and enjoyable.
I would have no hesitation in recommending Harrigans to other reunion groups.

Room Tip: The bar and restaurant area can be very noisy, especially on weekends, so a room at the back or on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarryn M, Front Office Manager at Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Hi Graham
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. The reunion sounded like everyone had a great time! I will also pass on your comments to Jacqui our co-ordinator.
See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

The rooms are great,beautiful and clean, but the beds are a killer if you have a bad back/ hips.
The food is ok,could have more variety and less expensive especially for families.
Great location to visit beautiful wineries if you like wine, even if you don't and just enjoy the area. Visit the Cafes they have at the wineries for a great coffee.

Great little shopping village at Pokolbin
If you just want a coffee, meal or a gift.
Great play area for children.
Close to surrounding towns such as Cessnock and Maitland.
Visit and enjoy, you will go back again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betterdeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarryn M, Front Office Manager at Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We will certainly look into the your comments regarding the bedding. Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My wife and I stayed here while attending a wedding. The rate was good and the room much better than expected for staying in a pub. The room was very spacious and we had a patio overlooking the adjoining field

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarryn M, Front Office Manager at Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
So glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us, we hope to see you next time you're in the Hunter!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Decent sized room, large bathroom, fluffy towels, comfortable bed, private balcony, good service.

We didn't pre book or get an online deal however believe we got value for our money.

Liked the complimentary earplugs but didn't need them. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanMicAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarryn M, Front Office Manager at Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your time in the Hunter, we hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.7 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.7 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
5.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
1.6 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
247 reviews
3.1 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation

Property: Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation
Address: Broke Rd | Hunter Valley Gardens, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a little Irish charm at Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation, right in the heart of the Vineyards. Offering superb 4-star accommodation, this unique property features 48 guest rooms and suites, each with its own private courtyard/balcony and undercover parking right outside. Relax around the resort-style swimming pool. During your stay, enjoy the casual dining experience of Harrigan's Restaurant, serving a choice of Irish and Australian fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrigan`s Irish Pub Hotel Pokolbin
Harrigan`s Irish Pub And Accommodation
Harrigan's Irish Pub & Accommodation Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing