We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the Hunter Valley”
Review of Billabong Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Billabong Moon
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
198 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Paradise in the Hunter Valley”
Reviewed 2 October 2007

My husband and I stayed one night(wishing it was more)in the "Sunset Ridge" cottage. We had tried to book at the Tower Estate but it was fully booked. Due to the reviews on this site we chose our second option of Billabong Moon. We were not disappointed. Andy and Jenny have a great set up here. Sunset Ridge is very private and you are unaware that anyone else is around. It is beautifully appointed and we loved the double spa bath. The breakfast provisions were amazing and so was the bottle of wine, cheese plate and chocolates. The open fire was going which gave the place an instant cosy attraction on the cool evening we arrived. We dined at 'Splash' just down the road which was organised by Andy and Jenny. Great seafood. We have booked other family members to stay here next week and hope we get another opportunity to stay again ourselves. Just loved it!

  • Liked — Beautifully appointed and warm cosy atmosphere
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank micsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    7
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2007

We absolutely loved Billabong Moon. The rooms are classy and not remotely tacky We stayed in Sunset Ridge and I couldn't tell if you there were other people in - I never saw anyone the whole time. This is not a hotel. But it is what a Bed & Breakfast should be. We only met out hosts on checking in and checking out - their style is very much "if you need anything - call us". The rooms had everything and were so thoughtfully prepared. Just little touches. We had local wine, and chocolates, and all the breakfast provisions. Couldn't speak highly enough of it.

  • Liked — The whole cabin - it was SO beautiful
  • Stayed October 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianaMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2007

Pure heaven.... the studio cottage was beautiful, the owners welcoming, there was a bottle of wine and cheese plate in the room on arrival. All cooking utensils that you would need were there, including a BBQ. Room was spacious and comfortable, and was just perfect. We loved every minute of our stay and would highly recommend. Make sure you go and have dinner at one of the vineyards.

  • Liked — comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2007

My wife and i stayed there after our wedding and loved the place from the minute we were there. while there we inspected each cottage and they all looked really nice, all the furnishings and fit outs were of good taste and had a good vibe about them.

we stayed for 4 nights, and liked the place so much we extended our stay for another two. unfortuantely we couldnt stay in the same cottage (sunset ridge), and stayed in the one we liked least (cant remember the name, it was the artists retreat or something like that), even then, the place was very nice, only issue was that it was at the front of the property, so it wasnt as secluded as the others.

we have been to alot of places in the hunter and this place would have to be easily the best (i havent yet stayed at the tower though and that looks pretty good).

highly reccommended.

  • Liked — it was beautiful and secluded
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank krumpira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2006

Well, what a wonderful place, Jenny and Andy are just simply wonderful, we had total privacy, the treetops cottage was to the highest of standards, everything was so thought out, everything you could possibly need was there. We had a fantastic time. BBQ package is highly recommeded Jenny made such an effort in to taking the hard work out for us, to make sure that our stay was that extra bit more special. Amazing quality all round can't say enough great things about it all.
Have told every one we know to go there, and we will be back again and again. Worth every penny!

Louise & Gareth

Sydney

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2006

We were promised breakfast 'every day', but only received one serving for four nights stayed there,

We were promised wine on arrival, but none was provided.

After we left, they contacted us, with an unsigned, unauthorised $50 debit receipt from my husband's credit card attached to a rude letter. They charged us an extra $50 to clean the cottage after we left, even though we were never informed of an extra fee, or agreed to the extra debit from our credit card. When I contacted them and threatened legal action against them, they responded by immediately refunding the money, then sending a very rude email about how lawyers and movie stars had stayed with them before and were always happy... as if I cared about their other customer's alleged careers, and as if someone's career made them better than anyone else.

We will go back to the Hunter again, but never to Billabong Moon.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank mala_chi_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokolbin hotels
0.9 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
839 reviews
9.0 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
1.3 mi away
Splinters Guest House
Splinters Guest House
#4 of 15 in Pokolbin
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
704 reviews
1.5 mi away
Deja Vu Estate
Deja Vu Estate
#1 of 40 in Pokolbin
252 reviews
9.8 mi away
Elfin Hill
Elfin Hill
#3 of 40 in Pokolbin
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billabong Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Moon

Property: Billabong Moon
Address: 393 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A waterfront cottage at Pokolbin along with four other individually designed and decorated cottages located over 10 hectares, makes Billabong Moon a unique place to escape. With couples and small groups in mind, Billabong Moon has an eclectic mix of comfortable contemporary and pre-loved timber furniture, intimate outdoor living, large, comfortable beds, deep baths and spas to help establish the relaxed and indulgent atmosphere. Fish from the deck of Billabong cottage, swim in the salt water pool, gaze at clear night skies or snuggle up fireside. With privacy the priority this is a great place to relax after a day indulging in Pokolbin’s fine wine and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Billabong Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billabong Moon Hotel Pokolbin
Billabong Moon Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing