We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in the Hunter”
Review of Billabong Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Billabong Moon
Reviewed 16 April 2011

We stayed here in 2006 & again for my 40th in April 2011..This place is heaven on earth..From the moment you arrive you feel at peace..The owners are very accomadating & lovely people, the rooms are exceptionally clean, the special touches are awesome, privacy is assured..The beds are heavenly, the breakfast provisions are awesome & the bbq pack is devine..Yes it is in the bush & its exactly what we wanted..Plently of wineries around the area..This is a place to relax & sit back & enjoy the peace of it all & soak up your quality time with one another or friends..As for spiders & bugs that were complained about, well all as i can say is, you get that anywhere in the aussie bush & i have never encountered this problem & if i did, well i would expect that..Some people are too picky..This place is sooooo good we are heading back up there this week for business purposes & are staying here again..Thank you so much BILLABONG MOON for a wonderful 40th..

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huntervalleyscg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2011

We visited the Hunter Valley to do some Wine Tasting with family who were here on holiday and chose to stay here mainly because other places we knew had no vacancy. The main reason it wouldn't be a first choice is that it's a bit out the way, however that is also part of it's charm.

What was very disappointing was the fact the cottages and rooms themselves were lacking in cleanliness to a degree. A large portion of the hunter's "Bush Life" resided inside the accommodation rather than being kept to it's rightful, place outdoors. When accommodation claims to be of 5 star standard measures should be taken to stop large spiders, crickets and beetles from entering the premises.

The facilities in the cottages were very basic and some common utensils were also lacking. Overall it was a pleasant enough place to stay but the cost far exceeds what is delivered by way of quality of dwellings and service - I have paid much less and received much more from other places in the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Oatway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

We stayed here for our 15th Wedding Anniversary on the "Studio" cottage. Absolutely beautiful................ very romantic setting and all the extra touches made our escape even better - cheese plate, bottle of wine, choccies and plenty of fresh provisions for breaky both days. The owners very friendly and the pool was lovely and clean on our very hot stay!! The cottage was air conditoned and stocked with a great range of magazines, CDS and candles!! Located in a lovely spot in the Hunter Valley - cant wait to return!! Thanks

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank getawayn0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We stayed in the "Studio" cottage which is one of five different cottages on the property. Each cottage is quite apart from the other offering a feeling of privacy and seclusion. We loved every minute of our stay here. The cottage is a bit bohemian, a bit earthy and has all you need for a few days stay. Everything was clean and there were lovely little touches like fresh flowers, chocolates and cheese platter as well as a bottle of wine. Lots of towels and gorgeous fluffy bath robes and the four poster bed were other nice touches. The breakfast provisions were fresh, high quality and more than adequate and there were many choices. There is a large spa bath in the bathroom which looks out onto a little landscaped area. The hosts are very welcoming and very helpful with suggestions of good places to visit and eat. Wineries and beautiful restaurants are on the same road and surrounding area. The renowned "Botanica" is less than 2kms down the road and is a fantastic restaurant. The property has a few casuarina forests with walking tracks throughout and you come across seats or folding chairs by the creek or lake and you may spy rock wallabies or kangaroos. It was so pleasant to sit surrounded by nature and really chill out. The bird life is wonderful. There are boats you can take for a row, a pool in which to swim, a gazebo in which to sit or even practice golf at the putting green.
The only drawback were the mosquitos, but what can you do ? - this is in country Australia - just spray the Aeroguard. (That is provided too.)

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_Blot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed in the Billabong cabin for the October long weekend and would never stay anywhere else in the Hunter from hereon in. Seems this place is a hidden gem and it's such a shame I didn't know about it earlier.

Each cabin, has complete privacy and is surrounded by nature - distributed sparsely around the 25 acre property.

Ours, called Billabong, had a private lake and was a wonderful place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine and some cheese, or early morning coffee. There were also 2 bedrooms, each with ensuite and spa. So ideal for two couples or a family. We thoroughly enjoyed the sounds of nature which we went to sleep with and woke up to every day. To be honest, the way the cabin was kitted out and incredibly high spec level, we almost had to be dragged away each morning.

The fireplace and lake were particularly lovely during the light rain over the weekend. and the place had a great ambiance, making you feel a million miles from anywhere (despite being on one of the regions roads which has some of the greatest wineries and restaurants)

The host Jenny was lovely and provided a fully stocked fridge and gourmet goodies for us to enjoy during our stay.

Will definitely be back regularly and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bella_oes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

we stayed in sunset ridge, it was huge! like all the other properties on the site it was set alone, we had total privacy. we loved the double spa bath and the bbq package. the owners are great, they have a rescue kangaroo who is happy to have her photo taken.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deb-bb1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

Kate at DeLullis Wines recommended that we stay at Billabong Moon telling us it's more of a traditional australian bush lodging experience. Jenny and Andy were great and even their pet "Tilly" were most accomodating. The "cabin" was quite large, well furnished and clean. It was very easy to feel relaxed and although our cabin was the closest to the road, it was very quiet. Yes, you are in the bush and there are bugs, but after a couple of sprays they were gone and we got a very restful sleep. Breakfast was terrific cooking and eating breakfast out on the patio.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavePaloAlto_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokolbin hotels
0.9 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
919 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
7.2 mi away
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Elfin Hill
Elfin Hill
#4 of 39 in Pokolbin
232 reviews
1.4 mi away
Deja Vu Estate
Deja Vu Estate
#1 of 39 in Pokolbin
274 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Grange on Hermitage
The Grange on Hermitage
#3 of 39 in Pokolbin
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billabong Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Moon

Address: 393 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range: £191 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A waterfront cottage at Pokolbin along with four other individually designed and decorated cottages located over 10 hectares, makes Billabong Moon a unique place to escape. With couples and small groups in mind, Billabong Moon has an eclectic mix of comfortable contemporary and pre-loved timber furniture, intimate outdoor living, large, comfortable beds, deep baths and spas to help establish the relaxed and indulgent atmosphere. Fish from the deck of Billabong cottage, swim in the salt water pool, gaze at clear night skies or snuggle up fireside. With privacy the priority this is a great place to relax after a day indulging in Pokolbin’s fine wine and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Billabong Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billabong Moon Hotel Pokolbin
Billabong Moon Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing