We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very dissappointing,definately not good value for money”
Review of Billabong Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Billabong Moon
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I planned this stay in the studio cottage for my partners bday,did not meet both our expectations at all,from the pictures & description on the website it appeared to be quite secluded,private with bush surroundings,there were a few dry looking trees around,not exactly bush & worst of all we had a view of the road,not quiet due to that,we have another nights stay and if it was possible I would be happy to get a refund and spend the second night somewhere else,website very deceiving and definately not worth the money spent

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pegsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilda09, Owner at Billabong Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2013

We were sorry that the cottage did not come up to expectations since the guest had asked specifically for that cottage and we moved someone to another cottage to facilitate that. The “few dry looking trees” are Casuarina Glauca, native to the area, referred to throughout our website and a very important Australian species . The other vegetation are mature Grevillea. The cottage is surrounded by vegetation and while guests in this cottage may see glimpses of the road through the trees, the guests are not visible from the road.
Our guests were provided early check in, did not mention any dissatisfaction and left it until mid-afternoon of the next day to depart without a word. A text message sometime later advised they had checked out. It is difficult to provide the level of service apparently expected, when there is no communication until after departure. We concluded at the time that some other factor had precipitated the early departure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here in August for our anniversary and it was nice, but I was a bit disapointed by what I had seen in the photos, the in room spa is lovely, but I feel the place does need a bit of a facelift , in renovations
Great bed very comfy , and maybe consider a alternative to 2 x 2 seater lounge chairs especially for couples as it makes it hard to snuggle . I found the breakfast lovely and very generous , the bottle of wine went down a treat and there were other extras around as well , like cheese tasting plate , and chocolates and popcorn, the down side is its kinda far away from the action , so if you dont have a car I would reconsider staying here unless u get ur own provisions food wise, we stayed one night and that was enough , it was a nice night but I wouldnt feel compelled to go back , overall the people were friendly , and congratulated us on our anniversary when we got there which was nice.

Room Tip: if you want a bit more privary go the tree tops cabin as it is hidden around the corner of the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carlz80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilda09, Owner at Billabong Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2013

Need for car: as with any wine region in the world apart from some in Europe, properties are 25-100 plus acres so they are spread out. There are exceptions: the Hotels close to Hunter Valley Gardens from which you can walk to a few wineries and restaurants. Our clients generally want to get away from crowds and are happy with their own company and all but 2 people in 10 years have had transport.
Facelift: the ancient, weathered teak dining table from Kota Kinabalu and an ancient Chinese occasional table may not be appreciated by all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Stayed here last year, over looking the lagoon, 2 bedroom 2 bath house, wood-fire at night wine during the day.

Come to the hunter often and this is the best place. They supply breakfast basket and leave you to enjoy the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regyuta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012 via mobile

Really loved the stay at billabong moon, stayed in treetops for 2 nights. Can't complain about anything to do with the room or service. Breakfast basket was fresh and tasty and location was great. Highly recommend for a romantic holiday away.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cs64_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

First accomdation where I felt the need to rebook the next time we come back to the Hunter Valley. It's secluded yet still close enough to main wineries. The kitchen was perfectly stocked and the living room furniture was very comfortable. The deck sitting on the water with a gazebo was like staring at a post card.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ctencza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Decided to book this place after we were amazed by the beautiful photos. The place is exactly what we imagined. It's quiet, relaxing and beautiful. It took us 4 hours drive from Blue Mountain via Putty Road. Then we were welcomed by the host, Andy. And a beautiful kangaroo, Matilda.

The treetops cabin we booked is very well equipped and clean. The breakfast stored inside the fridge is very adequate. And we have a bottle of wine on complimentary. There even provide us with few nice music selection. The fire place is a plus since there isn't a heater. Sadly the outdoor bath tub we saw from the website is not working and quite dirty. Too bad since that's the reason we booked this cabin for.

Other than that, we love this cabin very much. It's very romantic and relaxing. Especially at night, one can gaze at the beautiful starry night at the balcony. We wish we could stay more days there. Wish we can visit this place again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahfook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

If you are travelling to the Hunter Valley as a couple or with friends there is only one place to stay - Billabong Moon. The property is on Hermitage road and features a number of individually designed cottages on beautiful grounds at the centre of which is a billabong surrounded by a casuarina forrest.

Over the years my wife and I have stayed at all of the cottages and each one is stunning. The owners Jenny and Andy clearly take great pride in putting the cottages together and as a result they are cosy and inviting places to stay all year round. The cottages have fire places and a number have jacuzzis.

The fridge in each cottage is always stocked wth generous breakfast provisions and a bottle of wine and a cheese plate is always thrown in.

Billabong Moon is luxury accommodation with no pretension. It is the perfect place for a romantic get away or a weekend away with friends.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Garth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokolbin hotels
9 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.9 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
892 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
151 reviews
5.5 mi away
H Boutique Hotel
H Boutique Hotel
#7 of 39 in Pokolbin
173 reviews
3.2 mi away
Estate Tuscany
Estate Tuscany
#7 of 15 in Pokolbin
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billabong Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Moon

Address: 393 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range: £192 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A waterfront cottage at Pokolbin along with four other individually designed and decorated cottages located over 10 hectares, makes Billabong Moon a unique place to escape. With couples and small groups in mind, Billabong Moon has an eclectic mix of comfortable contemporary and pre-loved timber furniture, intimate outdoor living, large, comfortable beds, deep baths and spas to help establish the relaxed and indulgent atmosphere. Fish from the deck of Billabong cottage, swim in the salt water pool, gaze at clear night skies or snuggle up fireside. With privacy the priority this is a great place to relax after a day indulging in Pokolbin’s fine wine and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Billabong Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billabong Moon Hotel Pokolbin
Billabong Moon Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing