We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Loved It!”
Review of Billabong Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Billabong Moon
Reviewed 15 June 2007

We absolutely loved Billabong Moon. The rooms are classy and not remotely tacky We stayed in Sunset Ridge and I couldn't tell if you there were other people in - I never saw anyone the whole time. This is not a hotel. But it is what a Bed & Breakfast should be. We only met out hosts on checking in and checking out - their style is very much "if you need anything - call us". The rooms had everything and were so thoughtfully prepared. Just little touches. We had local wine, and chocolates, and all the breakfast provisions. Couldn't speak highly enough of it.

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndianaMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 70 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2007

Pure heaven.... the studio cottage was beautiful, the owners welcoming, there was a bottle of wine and cheese plate in the room on arrival. All cooking utensils that you would need were there, including a BBQ. Room was spacious and comfortable, and was just perfect. We loved every minute of our stay and would highly recommend. Make sure you go and have dinner at one of the vineyards.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2007

My wife and i stayed there after our wedding and loved the place from the minute we were there. while there we inspected each cottage and they all looked really nice, all the furnishings and fit outs were of good taste and had a good vibe about them.

we stayed for 4 nights, and liked the place so much we extended our stay for another two. unfortuantely we couldnt stay in the same cottage (sunset ridge), and stayed in the one we liked least (cant remember the name, it was the artists retreat or something like that), even then, the place was very nice, only issue was that it was at the front of the property, so it wasnt as secluded as the others.

we have been to alot of places in the hunter and this place would have to be easily the best (i havent yet stayed at the tower though and that looks pretty good).

highly reccommended.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank krumpira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2006

Well, what a wonderful place, Jenny and Andy are just simply wonderful, we had total privacy, the treetops cottage was to the highest of standards, everything was so thought out, everything you could possibly need was there. We had a fantastic time. BBQ package is highly recommeded Jenny made such an effort in to taking the hard work out for us, to make sure that our stay was that extra bit more special. Amazing quality all round can't say enough great things about it all.
Have told every one we know to go there, and we will be back again and again. Worth every penny!

Louise & Gareth

Sydney

Stayed: October 2006
1  Thank Louisejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2006

We were promised breakfast 'every day', but only received one serving for four nights stayed there,

We were promised wine on arrival, but none was provided.

After we left, they contacted us, with an unsigned, unauthorised $50 debit receipt from my husband's credit card attached to a rude letter. They charged us an extra $50 to clean the cottage after we left, even though we were never informed of an extra fee, or agreed to the extra debit from our credit card. When I contacted them and threatened legal action against them, they responded by immediately refunding the money, then sending a very rude email about how lawyers and movie stars had stayed with them before and were always happy... as if I cared about their other customer's alleged careers, and as if someone's career made them better than anyone else.

We will go back to the Hunter again, but never to Billabong Moon.

Stayed: June 2006
7  Thank mala_chi_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MabeHauteluce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pokolbin hotels
9 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
6.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
0.9 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
151 reviews
5.5 mi away
H Boutique Hotel
H Boutique Hotel
#7 of 39 in Pokolbin
173 reviews
7.2 mi away
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Billabong Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Billabong Moon

Address: 393 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Pokolbin
Price Range: £193 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A waterfront cottage at Pokolbin along with four other individually designed and decorated cottages located over 10 hectares, makes Billabong Moon a unique place to escape. With couples and small groups in mind, Billabong Moon has an eclectic mix of comfortable contemporary and pre-loved timber furniture, intimate outdoor living, large, comfortable beds, deep baths and spas to help establish the relaxed and indulgent atmosphere. Fish from the deck of Billabong cottage, swim in the salt water pool, gaze at clear night skies or snuggle up fireside. With privacy the priority this is a great place to relax after a day indulging in Pokolbin’s fine wine and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Billabong Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Billabong Moon Hotel Pokolbin
Billabong Moon Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing