We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to stay in the heart of the Hunter” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Splinters Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Splinters Guest House
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
186 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“The place to stay in the heart of the Hunter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

My wife (and others) recently had 2 long weekends at the Hunter (Sep 2011). We stayed at Peppers Guest House and Splinters Guest House. We dined at 4 magnificent restaurants: Roberts Restaurant; Nine; Muse and The Botanica. (These comments will be uploaded into all 6 places mentioned here).
As for the accommodation. The Peppers Guest House was clean, nice and without a problem. The breakfasts were delicious. I think the bedding was a little worn and perhaps in need of a new mattress. Overall it was a nice place to stay.
But easily the better accommodation was the Splinters Guest House. A small B&B run perfectly by Bobby, the very proud owner. It is situated within an easy drive to all of the main vineyards and best restaurants. The B&B has 3 very clean and comfortable suites and another 2 lodges to house a group or family in each.
My wife and I had an extremely relaxing 2 night stay at Splinters where Bobby served us a delicious breakfast in the common lounge room (in our PJs) each morning. We lounged around the fire place late at night (after a big day of eating and drinking) before returning to our beautiful room. We wandered around the large property, which includes a great pool area, expansive gardens and even a small one hole golf course (will need to bring a 3 iron, because it is longer than you think!). A great place to stay and we will be back (in fact I have now booked the entire B&B for a family & friends holiday) and we cannot wait to get back!
As for the restaurants. The Roberts Restaurant and Nine Restaurant are owned by Tower Estate. The food at both restaurants is magnificent, but Roberts was, in our opinion, better. We did the degustation at Nine and the al-a-carte at Roberts. A couple of the dishes at Nine were not fantastic, so given the hefty price, I would recommend Roberts over Nine. Roberts cost substantially less than Nine.
As for The Botanica Restaurant and Muse Restaurant. The Botanica was similar in price to Roberts and each dish that we ate was delicious. The wine list is good and moderately priced and the overall experience was great … perhaps take a torch to get from the car park to the restaurant (especially if it is raining).
But the dining highlight (and the clear winner) is MUSE. We did the degust’ and the biggest mistake that I made was eating too much of the bread. The perfect hostess (and owner) just kept replenishing my plate. The degust’ of tuna, seared scallops, pork belly, beef and others is a huge meal. Each course is substantial (none of the very small servings that you get at most degust’s). And the dessert (I am not a big dessert eater) was incredible. This is a fantastic restaurant and it deserves it’s SMH Good Food Guide Hat award.
I understand that the owners of Muse are about to open another café-style restaurant at a winery named Keith Tulloch (and as luck has it, it is very close to the magnificent Splinters B&B).
So, my humble tip is: Stay at Splinters for a few nights. Dine at Muse; then The Botanica or Roberts. Perhaps try the new Muse Café at Keith Tulloch (one of my favorite wineries and gee we visited a LOT !)
I cannot wait to go back to the Hunter. Gosh I love good food, good wine and great accommodation!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LFLLFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
193
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
In-Cog-Nito
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

Just back from a three night weekend and we loved it. Have previously only visited the region for day trips so followed the reviews on TripAdvisor and was not disappointed. Bobby the owner appears to be a big draw card but she wasn't there for our weekend and we had an amazing time. The property is beautiful and we intend to stay here again when we return in summer. Book in advance they are often booked solid.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Our only regret here was that we only stayed for one night! It was lovely. You arrive to port and cheese, a lovely comfortable bed, chairs outside your door to sit out on the patio, a nice shower and a swimming pool and sitting area close to the rooms.

Only three or four rooms I think on site therefore very peaceful.

Down the road, you'll find a few vineyards within walking distance. If we'd have had more time we would have hired bicycles as this would have been perfect!

We went on a Monday night and therefore not many restaurants were open for dinner. We paid $15 each for a local gent to take us in a minibus to a restaurant a few miles away, and pick us up when we were ready. Bobby arranges this for you. Apparently on any other day there would have been a steakhouse type restaurant within walking distance available.

For breakfast Bobby serves up fruit / croissants / cereal / toast / juice / coffee / tea (anything you like really!) to a table on the courtyard patio outside your room overlooking the pond, and Hunter Valley countryside. Really nice.

We could have stayed much longer. It really was a beautiful place and would be perfect for a relaxing few days getaway. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanna5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

My husband and I celebrated our one year anniversary in The Hunter Valley. Bobby made our trip effortless and wonderful from the cheese and wine upon arrival to amazing dinner and tour recommendations. We were spoiled by homemade breakfasts and the relaxed country setting and our only disappointment was having to leave. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobeTreckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

No doubt clean, well kept and in a good location. Owner wasn't around, so we didn't get the personal service that so many others have commented on. We stayed in the cottage and the open plan Mezzanine nature of the upstairs "bedroom" meant the kids didn't sleep that well with us downstairs. The 1980s leather chairs weren't our thing. And, as nice as it was to get the provisions on arrival, whilst making our own breakfast it was hard to conclude that $360 per night is good value.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank broome57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

Splinters Guest House was a great place to base ourselves for our wine-tasting weekend in the Hunter Valley.

We were travelling with friends and family from Australia, the UK and Italy and stayed at Splinters as we could base ourselves in their two onsite cottages. The cottages were clean, well equipped, spacious, comfortable and a great place to spend time when not visiting wineries.

Bobbi, Splinters owner/manager, was the perfect host and provided us with some restaurant and winery tour recommendations which were excellent.

I would defintely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatataChap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
356 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

What can I say? This place meets and exceeds all expectations that you might have on a weekend break in the wine region. We were a group of ten thirty-somethings (plus mamma all the way from Italy) and we booked the two cottages. My highlights:

1. The cottages are immaculately appointed. They have got character, they are large, they are clean, they contain everything you need: from a proper coffee machine to a fireplace for those winter getaways, top quality local stuff for breaky, cheese and wine on arrival, verandas with BBQ, port and chocolate and more.

2. The owner Bobby is delightful. She is friendly but not intrusive, efficient, helpful and just utterly pleasant. She helped us organize a wine tour and gave us top tips on local restaurants (real gastro heavens if you are foodies...check out my other reviews on the area).

3. The place is perfectly located for wine/chocolate/olive oil/cheese and any other type of indulgence tasting in the area. It is easy to reach from Sydney (about 160km).

4. There are quite a few amenities such as pool, golf course, gardens.

All in all this was a magical weekend and I will be back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngprofessionalUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.5 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
5.3 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
6.2 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
7.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splinters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splinters Guest House

Property: Splinters Guest House
Address: 617 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Splinters Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splinters Guest House is the perfect retreat for couples and groups wishing to enjoy all the pleasures of the Hunter Valley. Nestled on 10 acres in the Hermitage Road region of Pokolbin with beautiful views of the Brokenback Ranges. Splinters Guest House offers a number of facilities for the use of guests including log fires, reverse cycle air conditioning, fully equipped kitchens and lounge/ dining area in the Guest Houses; TV, DVD, CD player, private BBQ and courtyard areas plus a swimming pool for use in the warmer months. At Splinters we strive to ensure your stay with us is relaxing and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Splinters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splinters Hotel Pokolbin
Splinters Guest House Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing