We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Splinters Guest House
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My husband and I were visiting our daughter and partner in Sydney, and they took us to hunter valley for a wine tasting tour, they had been before and wanted us to experience it as well. We stayed overnight at splinters and it just rounded off a wonderful day. The cottage was amazing it had everything you needed, it was split level and decorated and furnished to a very high standard. We had a BBQ that night which is provided in the outside dining area, and we just relaxed and watched the wildlife stroll by. There is a swimming pool there and a small golfing area as well. The lady who runs it is very nice and will do anything to make your stay a memorable one. I only wish we could have stayed longer, but we had so much to do and see. I would have no hesitation in recommending this guest house and cottages to anyone.

Room Tip: You can have a room in the main house or the cottages are abit more private, but they all have fab v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
193
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We finished up our Australia adventure in the Hunter Valley and Splinters was a wonderful treat. Bobby was so personable and helpful - we can't say enough about the wonderful service, the delicious breakfasts and the beautiful setting. Her dinner recommendations were top notch and mentioning her name at many of the restaurants and wineries made people smile, We will always remember such a special and charming place. Thanks Bobby and belated Happy Birthday! Abbie and John

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbiemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Bobby, the hostess, makes this place. What an amazing woman. Nothing is too much trouble from tour and restaurant bookings, to making sure you have everything you need.

We arrived late on a Friday night, and Bobby welcomed us to the Hunter and our beautiful room. What a bounty was waiting for us there: cheese platter, bottle of white wine, port and chocolates. Also, as it we were celebrating my fiances birthday, she also welcomed us with a bottle of red wine. Such an incredible gesture.

The grounds are immaculate and beautiful at sunrise and sunset. Breakfast is served on the terrace, and is very generous and freshly made. Our guest room was just divine, with the freshest white sheets and gorgeous blankets for keeping warm.

Overall I can not think of one single negative thing, and highly recommend this gorgeous B&B - you will not regret it.

Thank you Bobby for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickyChristinaBCN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We stayed for 3 nights with 2 other couples from Sydney and Ulladulla. From the minute that we drove up the driveway, we were spoilt by our hostess Bobby. Nothing was too difficult for her, with restaurant bookings, winery tour booking and heaps of options for things to do for the "boys" whilst the "girls" visited the Hunter Valley Gardens.

We stayed in the 3 single rooms - all with superb fittings and comfortable beds. Breakfast each morning was a delight and she surprised us each morning with something to eat to complement our continental breakfast.

Bobby has a great sense of humour and was really interested in us as friends, more than just clients.

The Guest House is very centrally located - very close to numerous wineries and within walking distance to restaurants (though I wouldn't recommend walking along Hermitage Road at night).

We had a great time - you will too!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Spent the weekend here with the in laws in one of the cottages. The cottage is beautiful from the outside and has a lovely pitched ceiling, fireplace, and wraparound balcony with full BBQ provisions and seating. The interior wasn't to my taste and was not in keeping with the surrounds however it was functional and clean. The bed was a little hard, but the shower was hot and the water pressure very good.

We were provided with excellent advise from Bobby and full provisions for a hearty breakfast that had to be eaten indoors as the flies were pretty bad (no wind when we were there). We also had complimentary chocolates and port which was a lovely touch.

It is a pleasant walk to Botanica if you would like a good meal and to not have a designated driver. There is a torch, but it didn't have working batteries, but we made it up there and back fine. One bit of advice is to watch for the mosquitos from the nearby dam as they can quickly fill the high ceilings in the cottage and you don't even notice they are there (but there is a spray).

All in all we had a lovely weekend, but I'm not sure I would be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eves21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My wife and I spent one night at Splinters while we were in Hunter Valley on a winery tour. The location was perfect, the accommodations first rate, but the best part of the visit was our host, (Ms.) Bobby Jory. As I said to her as we were leaving, I have been to fancier B&B's - - but I have never been better taken care of.

Go. Relax. Enjoy being taken care of.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tcapg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in one of the cottages, and enjoyed the experience. Booby is a great host and quickly organised a dinner reservation for us. In the cottage, two bedrooms and a lovely open plan living, dining room with adjoining kitchen was great. High ceiling up to the roof with one bedroom up on the mezzanine and another on the ground floor. You cook you own breakfast if you book a cottage, and everything is provided. Nice quality bed linen, but could we move up to a king size next time? Lovely grounds to walk in, a good pool complex although as autumn nights are cool I did not try it. All in all highly recommended.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank astonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
829 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
5.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
6.3 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splinters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splinters Guest House

Property: Splinters Guest House
Address: 617 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Splinters Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splinters Guest House is the perfect retreat for couples and groups wishing to enjoy all the pleasures of the Hunter Valley. Nestled on 10 acres in the Hermitage Road region of Pokolbin with beautiful views of the Brokenback Ranges. Splinters Guest House offers a number of facilities for the use of guests including log fires, reverse cycle air conditioning, fully equipped kitchens and lounge/ dining area in the Guest Houses; TV, DVD, CD player, private BBQ and courtyard areas plus a swimming pool for use in the warmer months. At Splinters we strive to ensure your stay with us is relaxing and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Splinters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splinters Hotel Pokolbin
Splinters Guest House Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing