We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Splinters Guest House
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Such a beautiful location and very high quality accommodation. It was lovely to have a cheese board and glass of wine out on the patio on our arrival. The room was comfortable with a high standard of finishes to provide a great nights sleep.

Bobby provided a wonderful welcome and all the personal touches you could ask for including helping us plan our time to see the best wineries, booking restaurants for dinner and providing a fantastic continental breakfast over looking the grounds.

Would recommend the place to anyone and we wouldn't hesitate in staying again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovely_Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the middle of September. A wonderful place to rest after our long flight to Australia from Europe. Bobby was very helpful with our bookings before we arrived. Then she unfortunately got sick so we never met. But we still had the best service - excellent breakfast and a lovely room.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 101Kerstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Highly recommend. we stayed from sun arvo to tues morning. Warmly welcomed by Bobby and dinner at Botanica was delicious. Also did a complimentary wine and cheese tasting at Ivanhoe estate courtesy of Bobby which was just amazing. I highly recommend working that into any stay. The room we had was very nicely presented and the chocolate, port and cheese platter was a very nice touch. the present for my wife's birthday was also a lovely gesture. also has a par 3 hole of golf which is a nice way to kill a few minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cotchinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed for the weekend - arrived friday early afternoon and left sunday morning. Very nice rooms with a nice views and complimentary cheese and wine on arrival! Very warmly welcomed by Reggie and Bobby who ended up making our whole dinner arrangements for us as we had no idea about where to go and how to get there! I definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting the hunter!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

we stayed 3 nights mid week while celebrating my husbands birthday. Very comfortable rooms, nice touches and great hospitality. While we didn't have the pleasure of meeting the famous Bobbi, she was unwell, Reggie did a great job of filling in.

Room Tip: we also had a look at one of the cottages, really lovely and would be great for 2 couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

'Too easy' is Bobby the owner's catchphrase - no matter what the request, her response is 'Too easy'! We arrived late in the evening and Bobby gave us a warm welcome then ushered us into the sitting room to enjoy complementary port, cheese and biscuits in front of the woodburning stove. A great start to our stay! Our room was beautifully furnished and well equipped and the setting lovely. The breakfasts were great and Bobby's tips for wine tasting tours and restaurants were spot on. Splinters is a fantastic place to stay and we cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

A must for all those visiting Hunter Valley!! We only stayed one night in an attempt to get away from the hustle and bustle of Sydney and what a result. From the moment we arrived Bobby (Owner) made our visit welcoming, relaxed and very very enjoyable. The guesthouse is wonderful, lovely rooms, excellent shower and the port and chocolates on arrival is a great touch. The veranda was a great way to sip some of the regions wine and unwind as the world seamlessly passes by. She organised our wine tour, restaurant booking suggested lots of things to do and was just wonderful. We can not wait to return. Thanks Bobby. (A now converted Lion)

Room Tip: Didn't see the cottages but if they are anything like the rooms then i'm sure they are wonde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
7.8 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
890 reviews
6.4 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
4.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splinters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splinters Guest House

Address: 617 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £112 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Splinters Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splinters Guest House is the perfect retreat for couples and groups wishing to enjoy all the pleasures of the Hunter Valley. Nestled on 10 acres in the Hermitage Road region of Pokolbin with beautiful views of the Brokenback Ranges. Splinters Guest House offers a number of facilities for the use of guests including log fires, reverse cycle air conditioning, fully equipped kitchens and lounge/ dining area in the Guest Houses; TV, DVD, CD player, private BBQ and courtyard areas plus a swimming pool for use in the warmer months. At Splinters we strive to ensure your stay with us is relaxing and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Splinters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splinters Hotel Pokolbin
Splinters Guest House Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing