We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Splinters Guest House
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Gothenburg
1 review
“The perfect place”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We have just returned from an amazing weekend at Splinter's Guest House in Hunter Valley. This was a very last minute trip for us and we hadn't managed to do much research beyond booking the accommodation. Not a problem. Bobby was there to greet us when we pulled up. Not only did she help us to decide upon which vineyards we should visit but she was kind enough to book dinner reservations for us straight away. The beds were super comfy and the cheese and wine was a lovely touch. But it was Bobby's delicious breakfasts which really made this such a fantastic experience for us. The first day we awoke to a delicious bowl of fresh fruit, creamy yogurt and lovely homemade croissants. The second day Bobby had made cheese, egg and ham tarts served fresh from the oven. And the coffee was excellent too! It is a lovely property with a lovely host who goes to all lengths to ensure that you have a wonderful stay. Thanks so much Bobby and Bill! If you are planning a trip to Hunter Valley, I can't recommend a more perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeganEliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
194
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

You picture a B&B in wine country in your head and Bobbi Jo manages to exceed all expectations. Wonderful and beautiful and relaxing. We were pleased from the moment we arrived. THe only disappointing part was leaving!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KPBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I read many reviews of Hunter Valley hotels before booking Splinters. I can confirm that Bobby is a great host and she will make your stay so easy and comfortable so all the other reviews are spot on. She provides wine, cheese, crackers, port and chocolates on arrival and no corners are cut. We stayed for 3 nights and it was everything and more that I expected.
We had the cottage and it was very modern and spacious. The pool is great for cooling off and the entire location is very peaceful. All breakfast provisions were provided, with the difference being that if you are in the guest house, breakfast is made for you and in the cottage it is self made, but all you need is provided. I could not recommend this place highly enough and although it is a little far from the main village area, there are still plenty of wineries within a few minutes drive, so you don't need to stick to the mainstream places. The Botanica restaurant was great and is only a 10 min walk away.
If it is peace and quiet you want then this is your place. And Bobby can sort out all tour requirements and restaurant ideas too.
Thanks for a great stay Bobby, I can't wait to return soon.

Room Tip: cottage is spacious and very modern, with an old fashioned look on the outside. BBQ also available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller100Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

What else can I say except: Perfect!

Check-in was a friendly chat and we were in without any hassle. We stayed in one of the cottages as we were with our toddler. The cottage is absolutely beautiful, with loads of space for a family and luxurious kitchen, living and dining area. Upstairs is a loft with 2 large double beds and a small but nice bathroom. The cottage is light and airy, and a fantastic base for exploring Hunters Valley.

There is a welcome cheese platter and wine, breakfast ingredients in the fridge (bacon, eggs, bread, cereals, fresh coffee with machine), chocolates and port! Absolute bliss.

Recommendations by the owner/managers were also brilliant for wine and restaurants.
Perfect place for romance or with the family. Definitely a place to come back to!

Room Tip: If you have children - you will need to book a Cottage (which cost a little bit more) as children ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PG_Cumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We spent two glorious nights here which was just not enough. The place is in an excellent location in the Hunter Valley. The rooms are spacious, beautifully furnished and tranquil. The ten acres of land are landscaped and give a lovely area to walk and enjoy the views. There is also a lovely pool. What makes the place a number one choice is the hospitality of Bobby who makes sure each guests needs are individually tailored. Her home cooked food is wonderful. This is by far the best b&b I have ever stayed in. My only regret is that we could only stay two nights. We will retune for sure

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank darwin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My wife and I spent two nights in one of the 3 en suite bedrooms located alongside the main building.
Each room overlooks their own section of the verandah / patio with chairs and tables.
All is located in a beautiful setting which is immaculately maintained.
The highlight of our stay was being able to sit outside on two glorious mornings eating the beautifully served breakfast taking in the views across the grounds.
Bobby is a great host and extremely helpful in both suggesting and arranging any visits to POI's and restaurants.
Ideally located for a visit to the Hunter Valley area and would thoroughly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D18KRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrowden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My new husband spent one night with Bobby at Splinters and from the very moment we arrived to she made us feel special. We stayed in one of the beautifully appointed rooms with a very comfortable king bed with special complementary touches of cheese, wine, chocolates and port .
Bobby was a Amazing host organising an evening meal for us at the Botanics restaurant which was fantastic and we were greeted by a glass of bubbly paid for by Bobby.

We awoke to a wonderful breakfast on the veranda which topped of a fantastic stay. I would recommend this to anyone exploring the hunter valley. The only downfall was not being able to stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barrowden2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
861 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
5.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
249 reviews
6.4 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
144 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splinters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splinters Guest House

Property: Splinters Guest House
Address: 617 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Splinters Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splinters Guest House is the perfect retreat for couples and groups wishing to enjoy all the pleasures of the Hunter Valley. Nestled on 10 acres in the Hermitage Road region of Pokolbin with beautiful views of the Brokenback Ranges. Splinters Guest House offers a number of facilities for the use of guests including log fires, reverse cycle air conditioning, fully equipped kitchens and lounge/ dining area in the Guest Houses; TV, DVD, CD player, private BBQ and courtyard areas plus a swimming pool for use in the warmer months. At Splinters we strive to ensure your stay with us is relaxing and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Splinters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splinters Hotel Pokolbin
Splinters Guest House Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing