We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting and accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Splinters Guest House
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We spent two lovely days at Splinters. The rooms are very nice, everything you need, and very clean. The outdoor area is lovely, nice chairs to sit and read, lovely table for breakfast and afternoon drinks, and the outlook is perfect. Bobby is a great host, very helpful with touring tips and restaurant bookings. Her breakfast is delicious, and she is very flexible with eating times, no rush at all. We highly recommend splinters and when we are back in the hunter we will love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fitzroytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Splinters Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is a really great place to stay. The service is first class, rooms very nice and well appointed and the setting is just right.

The wine and cheese on arrival is a real nice touch as is the desert wine and chocolates after dinner.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife & I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at Splinters. The property is beautiful, the rooms very comfortable, the decor very tasteful & the hospitality second to none. Bobby takes great pride in making her guests feel welcome from the second you step onto the property to the moment you have to leave. Truly professionally run guest house with excellent rates. There's no wonder why Splinters keeps receiving awards & great feedback by all who visit. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chlosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We enjoyed our peaceful stay here in the Hunter Valley. The cottage was well stocked (chocolate/cheese/bacon/bread/eggs/bread/cereals/butter/jams/biscuits/port/wine/muffins/juices/milk/tea/coffee) and the hostess was very helpful in arranging places to eat and see. The grounds were lovely with a small swimming pool. The cottage had its own outside eating area and BBQ, so it was easy and pleasant to cook our own breakfast and dinner. The only drawbacks were - the 2nd bedroom was not air-conned but a fan was provided (this maybe a problem in very hot weather) and the Wifi was not very good - we couldn't access it in the cottage and it was weak in the main area too. The 2 bedroom cottage was very open-plan and some of the windows were not curtained in the skylights so we had to sleep with eye masks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank discovery204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The hostess, Bobby, could not be faulted from the moment we arrived, completely unprepared of course, to our early morning departure. Nothing was too much trouble, and within a very short time she had us booked in for a wine-tasting tour, and dinner at a very local restaurant. The grounds are fabulous, and the room and bed very comfortable. Thoroughly recommended. Thanks Bobby and Bill, we'd love to return one day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salobrenaholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

As all the other reviewers say, this is a wonderful place to stay, with Bobby adding to our enjoyment. We spent two nights with our son and partner in one of the lodge buildings which proved perfect for our BBQ of kangaroo one night and fish the other. All washed down with copious amounts of the excellent local boutique wines. Sitting outside,playing scrabble after our feast a wallaby came hopping by. How many places offer this! There are 5 or so boutique wineries within walking distance ( max 1.3 km) so if you don't want to drive or take a tour, then a stroll up and down the road sampling the wines followed by a swim can hardly be beaten.if you are driving back to Sydney take the scenic route through the mountains.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We recently returned from a wonderful 2-night New Years stay at Splinters Lodge. Like all the other reviewers have commented, Bobby really makes Splinters the lovely guest house it is and we couldn't have asked for more from a host. From providing local advice to helping make reservations and even going above and beyond to help organise a New Year's Eve BBQ for us, Bobby really helped make our time in the Hunter that much better.

Splinters is in a really handy spot on Hermitage Road, with a number of excellent vineyards within walking (or cycling distance) and top notch restaurants not much further away. Our rooms were clean and comfortable with all the extras you could need, including cheese and wine on arrival. The breakfast is also lovely and of really high quality - one of the best I have ever been offered at a guest house or hotel of any kind! We also used the pool which was nice and clean and just what you need after a day cycling the vineyards. We have previously stayed at other places in the Hunter but Splinters is now top of the list :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iheartaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
869 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
6.4 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
4.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splinters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splinters Guest House

Address: 617 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £116 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Splinters Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splinters Guest House is the perfect retreat for couples and groups wishing to enjoy all the pleasures of the Hunter Valley. Nestled on 10 acres in the Hermitage Road region of Pokolbin with beautiful views of the Brokenback Ranges. Splinters Guest House offers a number of facilities for the use of guests including log fires, reverse cycle air conditioning, fully equipped kitchens and lounge/ dining area in the Guest Houses; TV, DVD, CD player, private BBQ and courtyard areas plus a swimming pool for use in the warmer months. At Splinters we strive to ensure your stay with us is relaxing and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Splinters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splinters Hotel Pokolbin
Splinters Guest House Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing