We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful cabin & service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Splinters Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Splinters Guest House
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful cabin & service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We just came back from staying at Splinters for 4 days in the self contained cabins and I can't recommend this place any higher. Our cabin was exceptionally clean, with well thought out furnishings & appliances. Bobby made us feel welcome from the moment with got out of the car. Not only did Bobby provide us with a great place to stay but everything was included right down to the bacon & eggs. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in the Hunter Valley be sure to check Splinters out you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
193
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We echo other reviewers that this is a wonderful guest house, certainly the best guest house ./ B&B we've stayed in. It isn't, nor does it pretend to be, a hotel. Bobby enthuses from the moment you arrive & helpfully suggests dinner venues (which we took up & enjoyed). We had hoped to dip in the pool but the weather was not great during our trip. Breakfast on the veranda was lovely, linens, bone china, delightfully presented, fresh chopped fruit, baked pies & croissants. The bedrooms are not huge but each room has its own set of outdoor chairs & table (where the wifi is stronger than in the room anyway) & guests have the use of the lounge with comfy seating, larger TV etc. As others have said, it's a lovely touch to have some cheese, crackers, port & chocolates to welcome guests. We walked to several vineyards for tastings

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We spent two lovely days at Splinters. The rooms are very nice, everything you need, and very clean. The outdoor area is lovely, nice chairs to sit and read, lovely table for breakfast and afternoon drinks, and the outlook is perfect. Bobby is a great host, very helpful with touring tips and restaurant bookings. Her breakfast is delicious, and she is very flexible with eating times, no rush at all. We highly recommend splinters and when we are back in the hunter we will love to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fitzroytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
899 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is a really great place to stay. The service is first class, rooms very nice and well appointed and the setting is just right.

The wine and cheese on arrival is a real nice touch as is the desert wine and chocolates after dinner.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife & I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at Splinters. The property is beautiful, the rooms very comfortable, the decor very tasteful & the hospitality second to none. Bobby takes great pride in making her guests feel welcome from the second you step onto the property to the moment you have to leave. Truly professionally run guest house with excellent rates. There's no wonder why Splinters keeps receiving awards & great feedback by all who visit. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chlosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We enjoyed our peaceful stay here in the Hunter Valley. The cottage was well stocked (chocolate/cheese/bacon/bread/eggs/bread/cereals/butter/jams/biscuits/port/wine/muffins/juices/milk/tea/coffee) and the hostess was very helpful in arranging places to eat and see. The grounds were lovely with a small swimming pool. The cottage had its own outside eating area and BBQ, so it was easy and pleasant to cook our own breakfast and dinner. The only drawbacks were - the 2nd bedroom was not air-conned but a fan was provided (this maybe a problem in very hot weather) and the Wifi was not very good - we couldn't access it in the cottage and it was weak in the main area too. The 2 bedroom cottage was very open-plan and some of the windows were not curtained in the skylights so we had to sleep with eye masks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discovery204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The hostess, Bobby, could not be faulted from the moment we arrived, completely unprepared of course, to our early morning departure. Nothing was too much trouble, and within a very short time she had us booked in for a wine-tasting tour, and dinner at a very local restaurant. The grounds are fabulous, and the room and bed very comfortable. Thoroughly recommended. Thanks Bobby and Bill, we'd love to return one day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salobrenaholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.5 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
5.3 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
6.2 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
7.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splinters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splinters Guest House

Property: Splinters Guest House
Address: 617 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Splinters Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splinters Guest House is the perfect retreat for couples and groups wishing to enjoy all the pleasures of the Hunter Valley. Nestled on 10 acres in the Hermitage Road region of Pokolbin with beautiful views of the Brokenback Ranges. Splinters Guest House offers a number of facilities for the use of guests including log fires, reverse cycle air conditioning, fully equipped kitchens and lounge/ dining area in the Guest Houses; TV, DVD, CD player, private BBQ and courtyard areas plus a swimming pool for use in the warmer months. At Splinters we strive to ensure your stay with us is relaxing and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Splinters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splinters Hotel Pokolbin
Splinters Guest House Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing