We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise or Heaven?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Splinters Guest House
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights which encompassed my wife's 65th birthday. We could not have had a better experience - Bobby is the quintessential host, giving us guidance on what to see, where to eat, wineries to visit. The pool and grounds offer secluded peace if needed and the patio the ability to meet other guests over breakfast or a drink at sunset. Unforgettable.

Room Tip: Anywhere would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chogbolt10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

My husband and I recently spent two nights at Splinters. We had read the reviews and thought it sounded great and we weren't disappointed. Bobby was away but her friend Reggie looked after us and did a great job. The accommodation was beautiful and very clean. We stayed in one of the queen bedrooms which was well thought out and furnished. Reggie was very friendly and helpful sorting out taxis and reservations for us. Breakfast was delicious and was served outside in the glorious sunshine overlooking the lovely grounds. The swimming pool provided perfect relaxation at the end of a busy day.
We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this wonderful guest house as a base for exploring the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We just came back from staying at Splinters for 4 days in the self contained cabins and I can't recommend this place any higher. Our cabin was exceptionally clean, with well thought out furnishings & appliances. Bobby made us feel welcome from the moment with got out of the car. Not only did Bobby provide us with a great place to stay but everything was included right down to the bacon & eggs. If you are looking for somewhere to stay in the Hunter Valley be sure to check Splinters out you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We echo other reviewers that this is a wonderful guest house, certainly the best guest house ./ B&B we've stayed in. It isn't, nor does it pretend to be, a hotel. Bobby enthuses from the moment you arrive & helpfully suggests dinner venues (which we took up & enjoyed). We had hoped to dip in the pool but the weather was not great during our trip. Breakfast on the veranda was lovely, linens, bone china, delightfully presented, fresh chopped fruit, baked pies & croissants. The bedrooms are not huge but each room has its own set of outdoor chairs & table (where the wifi is stronger than in the room anyway) & guests have the use of the lounge with comfy seating, larger TV etc. As others have said, it's a lovely touch to have some cheese, crackers, port & chocolates to welcome guests. We walked to several vineyards for tastings

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We spent two lovely days at Splinters. The rooms are very nice, everything you need, and very clean. The outdoor area is lovely, nice chairs to sit and read, lovely table for breakfast and afternoon drinks, and the outlook is perfect. Bobby is a great host, very helpful with touring tips and restaurant bookings. Her breakfast is delicious, and she is very flexible with eating times, no rush at all. We highly recommend splinters and when we are back in the hunter we will love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fitzroytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is a really great place to stay. The service is first class, rooms very nice and well appointed and the setting is just right.

The wine and cheese on arrival is a real nice touch as is the desert wine and chocolates after dinner.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CocoTampa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife & I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at Splinters. The property is beautiful, the rooms very comfortable, the decor very tasteful & the hospitality second to none. Bobby takes great pride in making her guests feel welcome from the second you step onto the property to the moment you have to leave. Truly professionally run guest house with excellent rates. There's no wonder why Splinters keeps receiving awards & great feedback by all who visit. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chlosun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
7.8 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
919 reviews
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
6.4 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
151 reviews
5.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splinters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splinters Guest House

Address: 617 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £116 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Splinters Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splinters Guest House is the perfect retreat for couples and groups wishing to enjoy all the pleasures of the Hunter Valley. Nestled on 10 acres in the Hermitage Road region of Pokolbin with beautiful views of the Brokenback Ranges. Splinters Guest House offers a number of facilities for the use of guests including log fires, reverse cycle air conditioning, fully equipped kitchens and lounge/ dining area in the Guest Houses; TV, DVD, CD player, private BBQ and courtyard areas plus a swimming pool for use in the warmer months. At Splinters we strive to ensure your stay with us is relaxing and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Splinters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splinters Hotel Pokolbin
Splinters Guest House Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing