We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Splinters Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Splinters Guest House
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
monterey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

A lovely setting, charming owner, clean room. A great spot if you are looking for understated, comfortable accommodations. The Hunter Valley has great wineries, lovely hikes. Have dinner at Botannica! Would love to come back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
193
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

I selected splinters because of the reviews on T.A this place is amazing, Bobby the owner is truly a lovely person and nothing is to much trouble for her. At least 4 wineries within walking distance. Restaurants galore, and bobby knows them all. The premises and location are perfection. Breakfast divine

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

My Wife and I recently had the distinct pleasure of spending four days and nights at Splinter’s Guest House during our visit from Virginia, USA to the Hunter Valley, NSW, Australia. Without hesitation, we can assure you the experience was nothing less than perfect.
Out of personal inclination, we purposefully chose a locally-owned facility over international chains that were also readily available in the Valley. The perfect balance we experienced of hominess combined with world-class service was exactly what we desired. As a simple example of this point, after I returned from a morning run along the bucolic road in front of Splinter’s, my socks were soaking wet from the morning dew. Without hesitation, Bobby collected, washed, dried, and returned them to my room before I returned from another day of enjoying the Valley.
Our daily breakfast, provided at our leisure, consisted of fresh, hand-chopped fruits, expertly poached eggs, and locally-sourced bacon and sausages. Further, our Hostess/Owner Bobby provided impeccable, spot-on advice regarding the Valley’s wineries, cheeses, olive oils, and dining.
All in all, my Wife and I drove away totally pleased that we had not only experienced Hunter Valley to its fullest, at a great value, but we had also gained a friend in Bobby while enjoying her wonderful guest house.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JR F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

First visit ever to the Hunter Valley....what a beautiful, serene destination made all the more enjoyable by our stay at Splinters. Bobbie was the consummate hostess supplying helpful hints, beautiful breakfasts on the patio (the weather was sensational) and witty banter. She had supplied a list of wine tours and restaurants prior to our arrival so I was able to book these in advance. Definitely recommend Muse at Hungerford Hill for a wonderful dining experience and Pigge's Peake, just up the road was a fabulous 'tasting' experience....though there are sooo many great vineyards around you are spoilt for choice. Would love to get back there in the future but will fly into Newcastle next time to save time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dancing-Maz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Both my parents and my partner and I stayed here for two nights. Beautiful property with golf hit around and pool.... Bobby was extremely welcoming and gave us great information on what we could do. As a result we wasted no time figuring it out and from the moment we arrived we had loads of options.

Rooms were great and Bobby has really thought of every little thing you could possibly need. I can't remember the last place I stayed which had such excellent service. Breakfast both mornings was delicious.

Highly recommend a stay here! And with four wineries within walking distance it's also a great location to explore from.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gizz173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We’ve just returned from a three week visit to Australia visiting family and stayed in the cottage at Splinters for two nights. Bobby is an excellent host and very knowledgeable, so it’s well worth taking her advice as to where and how best to visit some of the many vineyards in the area. The cottage is beautifully clean and very comfortable. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend Splinters to anyone planning a visit to the Hunter Valley.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We recently had a wedding to attend and Splinters was the perfect place to stay- Bobbie was fantastic from the moment we arrived to the moment we left- great hospitality and a warm welcome- breakfast was a highlight too- can't wait to return !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gai F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.5 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
5.3 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
6.2 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
7.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splinters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splinters Guest House

Property: Splinters Guest House
Address: 617 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Splinters Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splinters Guest House is the perfect retreat for couples and groups wishing to enjoy all the pleasures of the Hunter Valley. Nestled on 10 acres in the Hermitage Road region of Pokolbin with beautiful views of the Brokenback Ranges. Splinters Guest House offers a number of facilities for the use of guests including log fires, reverse cycle air conditioning, fully equipped kitchens and lounge/ dining area in the Guest Houses; TV, DVD, CD player, private BBQ and courtyard areas plus a swimming pool for use in the warmer months. At Splinters we strive to ensure your stay with us is relaxing and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Splinters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splinters Hotel Pokolbin
Splinters Guest House Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing