We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Splinters Guest House
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Reviewed 28 November 2010

We were looking for a quiet and central place to stay to visit the Hunter Valley. Splinters was ideal. Bobby was particularly hospitable and was very helpful in assisting us on our first visit to the region. Splinters is an ideal base. It is central, very comfortable and with great service. The breakfasts on the terrace were far more than adequate! We would certainly recommend Splinters as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reynard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2010

We stayed 2 nights in one of the beautiful 2-bedroomed cottages at Splinters and had a fabulous time. The cottage was so well equiped, the kitchen had every utensil you could think of, and the fridge and cupboards were stocked up with everything we needed to make a delicious breakfast before a day of wine tasting!!
Upon reserving our accomodation at Splinters, Bobbi forwarded a list of recommended restaurants and tours around Pokolbin. On our first eveing we ate at the recommended Botanica restaurant, which was only a 10 minute walk from Splinters (none of our party wanted to be the desginated driver!!) The meal was absolutely out of this world and was made super-special when we were brought a glass of champagne each, with compliments from Splinters!! What a wonderful touch!
I honestly can't think of a single critism for this accomodation and would whole-heartedly recommend it to anybody wanting to stay in the Hunter Valley.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaChris81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Wow what an awesome stay we had at Splinter's Guest House! We stayed for two nights in one of the cottages with a beautiful view of the vines. The place is so cosy and very neat and clean, and we got really good restaurant and vineyard advice from our lovely hosts. The attention to detail is amazing, like the complimentary bottle of wine and cheese plate that waited for us upon arrival.
This was our fifth trip to Hunter Valley and definitely the best stay we ever had there. Next time we'll be sure to book Splinter's again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

My wife, daughter and her partner and I stayed at Splinters after seeing the rave reviews on Trip Advisor and we realized that everything said about the place was totally accurate! We stayed in the cottage which is extremely comfortable - much nicer than expected at such a reasonable price. The place itself was in a tranquil location, and close to some of the best wineries in the Hunter – Tintilla, Mistletoe and Pigs Peake (Hugh is fantastic) - all within an easy walk of Splinters. The property is extremely well maintained and Bobby is great hostess. Just about got out of the car before she greeted me and gave directions to the cottage where she met us and gave the ‘guided tour’. She helped us plan what vineyards to visit and was a fountain of local knowledge, even booked our restaurant reservation. Fantastic people – fantastic place only sad we were there for such a short period of time. We'd DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kby121148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

My husband and I stayed at Splinters after seeing the rave reviews on Trip Advisor and were really very pleased. The rooms are basic but extremely comfortable - much nicer than expected at such a reasonable price. The property is extremely well maintained and Bobby and her husband are great hosts. They helped us plan what vineyards to visit and even booked our restaurant reservations. We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We stayed at Splinters from other Trip Advisor reviews and now we see what all of the fuss is about! The place itself was in a tranquil location, and close to some of the best wineries in the Hunter- Tyrrells, Lakes Folly, Mount Pleasant and some small ones with wines not to miss- Mistletoe (walking distance down the road), Ernest Hill and Hungerford Hill.

From the minute we drove in, Bobby was out to greet us and made sure we'd be ok for activities during our entire stay. She was a fountain of local knowledge, and was also generous in coming to my rescue one night when I had a chocolate craving- she appeared with a small bowl of her own chocolate to tide me over :)

We had booked dinner at Robert's restaurant which Bobby told us the history of, and then recommended another restaurant, Muse, which she thought we might like even more and we did (just!). Splinters is in easy driving distance of both excellent restaurants.

Breakfast at Splinters was wonderful, with cereals to start, follower by a basket of hot food served outside so that you had a lovely view while enjoying a leisurely meal brought out to you at whatever time you wanted.

We will DEFINITELY be going back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanyaHall_AF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Beautiful place. Great rooms and cottages, clean, all the essentials and more (in the cottages). Really good location too. But the best thing is the service, couldn't have asked for a better hostess, Bobby was awesome! For a place to stay in Hunter, do not look any further.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smason007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
7.8 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
891 reviews
6.4 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
7.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splinters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splinters Guest House

Address: 617 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £112 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Splinters Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splinters Guest House is the perfect retreat for couples and groups wishing to enjoy all the pleasures of the Hunter Valley. Nestled on 10 acres in the Hermitage Road region of Pokolbin with beautiful views of the Brokenback Ranges. Splinters Guest House offers a number of facilities for the use of guests including log fires, reverse cycle air conditioning, fully equipped kitchens and lounge/ dining area in the Guest Houses; TV, DVD, CD player, private BBQ and courtyard areas plus a swimming pool for use in the warmer months. At Splinters we strive to ensure your stay with us is relaxing and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Splinters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splinters Hotel Pokolbin
Splinters Guest House Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing