We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Splinters Guest House
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
henley on thames
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed 28 February 2011

After a long day wine tasting in the Hunter Valley Splinters Guest House is a very welcome retreat.
Clean, comfortable and well-appointed rooms, and extremely friendly service - in fact perfect.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindypindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
194
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

We recently returned home (UK) after a 3 week stay in Australia, travelling independently, visiting 4 main locations – Splinters in the Hunter Valley was our last destination. We decided on a visit to the Hunter Valley after being on a cruise to New Zealand, and listening to one of our fellow passengers, an ex-Brit who had lived in Australia for many years saying that he would really like to go to the Hunter Valley ‘one last time’. So following his recommendation, we planned on a 3 day stay, and booked with Splinters following the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor.

We thoroughly agree with all the positive views given of Splinters and of Bobby – the accommodation is 1st Class, as is her attention to detail. Other reviewers have informed of the amenities and services provided and so I will not repeat my versions of these positive comments. I will however expand a little in respect to Bobby. What an organiser! We arrived following a 5 hour journey and Bobby took charge! She arranged for a Wine Tour the next day via James Wine Tours, when otherwise we would have probably taken the next day to laze. If we had, we would have missed an excellent tour around some small Hunter Valley wineries. The tour was really well throughout and James, our guide, informative and welcoming, as were the Vineyards he chose. Unlike some of our fellow passengers, we ‘sampled’ the wine offered in the correct way, by swallowing, rather than just ‘taste and dispose’, as there are taste sensors leading down from the throat to the stomach – wine connoisseurs please note. By lunchtime we were feeling really happy about our trip! When returning to Splinters in the late afternoon, Bobby was helping to plan our following day’s itinerary! We determined upon a round trip in the Hunter Valley, taking in Wollombi and partaking in Dr Jurds Jungle Juice (again on Bobby’s recommendation). This was a very pleasant drive around deserted roads, many of which were formed through early convict labour which the Wollombi Museum features, as well as the early settlers of the town – well worth a visit. We enjoyed our meal and the aforesaid Dr Jurds Jungle Juice, the like of which I had not sampled before – very pleasant. On return to Splinters, I had mentioned to Bobby that I had not seen and kangaroos on this trip (apart from some road casualties) – guess what, as it was going dusk what should appear but a group of 3 kangaroos at the bottom of our patio – how does she do it?

Really enjoyed our stay and recommend to future guests to follow Bobby’s advice to make your visit to the Hunter Valley ‘special’.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fellwaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in January. Wish we could have stayed longer. Bobby was brilliant in making us feel welcome and helping plan our time in the Hunter valley. Rooms were very clean and well appointed. Many great little touches that make the stay extra special. Really couldn't have asked for any more........ thanks Bobby.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cliffw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

What more can be said that hasn't already been covered? Splinters Guest House is a welcome retreat. We stayed 3 wonderful nights and wished that it could have been longer.

The rooms are clean and very comfortable, and it is the little things like the complimentary fruit and cheese platter and bottle of wine that really make a difference.

Breakfast on the verandah was always a lovely affair, and the mini golfing green was a big hit with my husband.

Splinters is located just a short drive from the main wineries and Hunter Valley Gardens, but it's far enough away where it doesn't feel too overcrowded and touristy!

Two big thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Webson2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We stayed for 2 days at Splinters Guest House. It is well located and easy to find.
Bobbie is an excellent hostess who gives outstanding service. Our room was very clean, well appointed and roomy. On arrival we had chocolates, cheese, a small bottle of white wine, crackers and olives. Complimentary port is also available.

Gardens and grounds are well maintained and the salt water swimming pool is great for swimming. The communal guest lounge has a large screen television, with ample DVD's as well as varied reading material. The massage chair is a delight.

The only disadvantages of this property are patchy mobile coverage and slow internet connection. Shower water pressure is variable, sometimes being normal other times just a trickle. The property does not have a mains water supply.

Breakfast is a deluxe continental with croissants, fresh fruit,yoghurt, juice, toast, cereals and coffee or tea.Each day Bobbie varies things slightly with changes to baked items.

An outdoor babrbecue is also available for guest use.The accommodation is very professionally run and there's well set up 2 bedroom cottages also on the property.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Just returned from 3 days at Splinters Guest House in the Hunter Valley and if you want great accomodations this is the place to stay. Great location, very clean well maintained rooms, and the best innkeeper to help plan your stay in the Hunter Valley. We had the two bedroom/ two bath guest house which would be terrific for a family or two couples. Can't wait to return. Jeff R.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruggesfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We chose this place based on the reviews read on this website, and it was even better than we thought. Bobby is just as nice and helpful as mentioned by previous guests; the grounds are large, very well maintained, quiet and beautiful; it is in the heart of the wine country, you even have interesting wineries at walking distance (and kangaroo sightings too!). We stayed in the Vines room, which is more like a little house, with two stories, two bedrooms and two bath, a private barbecue and state of the art kitchen with nice appliances like espresso machine. There's nothing I can think of that would make our stay better than it was.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
860 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
5.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
249 reviews
6.4 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
144 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splinters Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splinters Guest House

Property: Splinters Guest House
Address: 617 Hermitage Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Splinters Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Splinters Guest House is the perfect retreat for couples and groups wishing to enjoy all the pleasures of the Hunter Valley. Nestled on 10 acres in the Hermitage Road region of Pokolbin with beautiful views of the Brokenback Ranges. Splinters Guest House offers a number of facilities for the use of guests including log fires, reverse cycle air conditioning, fully equipped kitchens and lounge/ dining area in the Guest Houses; TV, DVD, CD player, private BBQ and courtyard areas plus a swimming pool for use in the warmer months. At Splinters we strive to ensure your stay with us is relaxing and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Splinters Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splinters Hotel Pokolbin
Splinters Guest House Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing