We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay in a charming property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 8 Pokolbin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 April 2014

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful and relaxing weekend away staying at the Cooperage last year. The property is located in the middle of a picturesque winery. The room we stayed in (the cheapest option) was comfortable with courtyard access and views of the vineyard, an ensuite, and a nespresso machine. The property has a lovely light-filled living area with fireplace and a comfy cinema with DVD library. Although the owners (who we hear are delightful) were away, we were very well looked after by Julie and her husband, who even helped drive us to the bus stop when were about to miss a bus. The breakfast was simply wonderful with multiple Bill Granger inspired courses - Bircher muesli and fruit salad followed by a hot second course (ricotta pancakes with banana and honeycomb butter one morning and eggs benedict the other). The B&B is well located to the various vineyard regions in the Hunter. Highly recommend the Cooperage for a special, relaxing and charming weekend away.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

This was our first B&B experience and my husband and I enjoyed a wonderful 2 night stay with lovely hosts who chatted, showed us all the great places to see and spoilt us with their impeccable service & attention to detail. The breakfast was amazing ! With different main course served each morning accompanied by Bircher muesli and fruit salad with fresh local honey and Shiraz grapes straight from the vine! A little out if town but worth every bit. We would highly recommend staying here to give your Hunter valley experience that added special touch.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smookiewookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Enjoyed a great weekend at the Cooperage. the owners Gay and Warren were very informative and helpful with their local knowledge of the Hunter Valley. Following their suggestions visiting a few wineries and great shopping at Pokolbin Village a very enjoyable time was had by my husband and myself. The breakfasts were an absolute delight from the yogurt and muesli with pears to the melt in the mouth pancakes with honeycomb butter. The only negative was the use of a fridge on our return each day with no fridge in rooms and nothing said about this on our arrival about using the fridge in the main kitchen , which looked to be locked up.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We have stayed before at the cooperage and had again a great time. Location is fantastic and the hosts gay and warren are delightful. Breakfasts are great but not for the waste line! All in all a great place to stay in a location surrounded by vineyards

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachboy2093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

A wonderful escape to the country! excellent location,accommodation and setting amongst the vines. Hosts were very welcoming and the food was delicious! The best breakfasts ever! Would highly recommend it for a weekend getaway.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ros F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We had a great time celebrating our wedding anniversary at the Cooperage. The hosts are wonderful, the facilities excellent and the location really convenient and beautiful.

It's in a great location to allow you to get to anywhere in the Hunter wine region and you're nestled among vines everywhere.

Wonderful rooms, really clean, great facilities. An excellent breakfast on a wonderful deck overlooking vines.

We definitely recommend this and will return again!

Room Tip: We were in the 'Chardonnay' room which had great facilities for a couple.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adnoctum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We had the opportunity for a night away and let’s just say we really enjoyed The Cooperage! The "wow" factor of the big room when you walk in just make you want to sit and look at the view. The rooms had everything we needed and more. The cheeky note on the bed had us laughing. Breakfast was great, love the pancakes. We have stayed here in the past and we will return. A walk to the cellar door ...really what could be better. Great accommodation surrounded by vines and great hosts.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamworthtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
0.8 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
2.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
867 reviews
6.4 mi away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
146 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hermitage Lodge
Hermitage Lodge
#2 of 8 in Pokolbin
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast

Address: 41 Kelman Vineyards, Oakey Creek Road, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Pokolbin
Price Range: £161 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunter Valley Cooperage Bed & Breakfast Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing