We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly Recommended!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tonic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tonic Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Highly Recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We had a fantastic stay at Tonic Hotel. Stunning views from the rooms! Ian and Janelle were such great hosts. Definitely the best hospitality I have experienced at any hotel. They really did go out of their way to make us feel comfortable and at home.
The hotel is located close to some great restaurants and is not as "commercial" or "generic" as staying at places such as the Crowne. Definitely will be back again. Such a fabulous place to escape and relax!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    17
    5
    7
    0
See reviews for
6
107
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

The best hospitality I have experienced from any hotel! No annoying waiting in a line to check in or check out ... just a simple code to get in and out of your room! We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment which was amazing! Huge rooms both with en-suites... with an ultra modern design and gorgeous huge balcony to laze about on or eat a meal on watching the sun set.

The lounge room and fireplace with super comfy couch and foxtell was also a win - not to mention the well equipped kitchen where you will find breakfast supplies replenished daily with different treats each day such as banana bread, croissants, yoghurt, muesli and so on!

Ian was extremely helpful and wonderful in making our stay memorable. I definitely plan on returning... But remember slippers or socks as the floor can be freezing haha
100 % recommend
Thanks again Ian

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annabelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

You experience the hospitality and friendliness of Tonic before you even arrive, with new owners Ian and Janelle happy to share their knowledge of the area and its produce. Hints and tips for great places to eat and wineries to visit.

My three girlfriends and I were off to the Hunter for the Lovedale Long Lunch so we stayed in the Lodge at Tonic - an expansive two bedroom, two bathroom lodge complete with its own gas fireplace, fully stocked kitchen and divine views out over the lake.

We awoke on the first morning after a wonderously restful sleep to see the resident Black Swans gracefully moving about the lake, searching for their breakfast - ours was tucked away nicely in the fridge and included a fantastic selection of croissants, bread, farm fresh eggs, truss tomatoes, bacon, jams, museli, orange juice - need I go on? The next day, it was even better!

The lodge was modern, clean and spacious, and all products were first class. The common areas of the property are also well appointed, with a delightfully stocked kitchen, full of cheese, home made dips and meals for those of us not wanting to venture out.

Ian and Janelle were wonderful hosts and nothing was too much trouble. I can't wait to come back to Tonic.

Room Tip: Spoil yourself and get the lodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We loved our stay at Tonic Hotel - as a first-timer to the Hunter Valley, it really made my stay. Ian and Janelle were fabulous hosts - so friendly and welcoming; nothing was too much trouble. We were hugely impressed with the quality of the accommodation - the Lodge was perfect for friends (or a couple of couples) travelling together, with a large loungeroom, leather lounge, flatscreen TV, gas fireplace, dining table and beautiful, large, fully-equipped kitchen. The quality of the furnishings, fittings and products (Aesop shower stuff - result!) was excellent. And the view out over the deck of the black swans gliding across the lake was only topped by the incredible sunset. Gorgeous. Breakfast was very generous and incredibly tasty - and so easy given the set-up and fit-out of the kitchen (including the dishwasher!). They have really thought of everything - the common room is stocked up with gourmet curries if you decide you fancy a night in. Staying in the Lodge gave us the feeling we had the entire place to ourselves. I never thought we would want a night in when we were surrounded by so many fabulous wineries and top-class wineries right in the heart of the Hunter, but we loved the Lodge at Tonic so much, that's exactly what we did! Thank you Ian & Janelle for making our experience so perfect and so much fun! I would definitley recommend Tonic and can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: The Lodge with its own fully-equipped kitchen, leather lounge, dining table and gas fireplace was FA...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Huge bathroom with Aesop body products and a tub that can just fit two and beautiful bath salts.

The location is spitting distance from a range of wineries and the fantastic Leaves and Fishes restaurant but feels a million miles away.

Yummy breakfasts are also included and kept for you in the fridge though I couldn't wait til morning for the amazing banana bread!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank producerdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Arriving just in time to see the beautiful sunset over the lush green rolling hills of the Hunter Valley was the perfect start to a weekend getaway. Tonic delivered all that was promised, a very stylish and spacious room with a private deck, the most comfortable bed with luxurious linen, flat screen TV and great sound system with iPod docking station, lovely bathroom with heated floors, a delicious breakfast to prepare in the room, and all in the most peaceful surrounding. To see three magnificent balloons floating just above us on Sunday morning was indeed a treat, as well as seeing the black swans in the dam, and the kangaroos close by. Janelle and Ian, the new owners of Tonic, were very friendly and knowledgable about the local area, assisting with dinner reservations and recommendations of what to see in Lovedale and the Hunter. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BJPSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Set on a beautiful secluded property with idyllic views accross dreamy paddocks, Tonic did not fail to impress.

The rooms are modern minimalist, but at the same time felt warm and welcoming. The concept of being able to buy most items from your room is a fun novelty, and we came home with a gorgeous knitted toy monkey as a momento of our stay.

The bathroom products are all Aesop, and the fridge was stocked with delicious treats. The complimentary breakfast selections were beautiful, and heading up to the main lounge meant we could add free range, local bacon and eggs to our feast.

Luxuriously comfy bed, and lovely private verandah/deck area on each villa was the perfect spot to stop and enjoy a glass of wine.

It was my husband's birthday, and Nicki (the owner) even surprised us with a little plate of birthday cupcakes left in our room when we returned from our day out dining and exploring the amazing Hunter Valley Region.

Highly recommended for couples, or groups of couples. You wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGlamourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.5 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
6.5 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
3.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.8 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonic Hotel

Property: Tonic Hotel
Address: 251 Talga Rd | Lovedale, Hunter Valley, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tonic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
tonic is - a place of uninterrupted relaxation and style, a place where you want to be a guest. A stunning spot - the Lovedale area of the Hunter Valley just 2 hours from Sydney. Simple modern surroundings - Australian design, steel and glass against native grasses. Non invasive service - discrete and informal, no formal check in and check out. Every luxury - crisp white linen, the best towels, groovy furniture and the latest in gadgets. tonic is opulent minimalism. we invite you to come and share ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Tonic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Pokolbin
Tonic Hotel Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing