We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sky is no limit for Tonic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tonic Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Tonic Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Terrigal, Australia
1 review
“Sky is no limit for Tonic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Big thanks to Ian for going above and beyond in making my proposal whilst staying at Tonic Hotel something unforgettable. Ian suggested landing a helicopter on the hotel grounds for a scenic tour of the Hunter Valley. What a success!! My partner says it was the best experience of her life when it arrived by surprise for us. The first class facilities, tranquil setting and assistance from Ian topped off an amazing night. Highly recommended - especially coupled with a helicopter for that special occasion.

Can't wait to come back and do it again!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    17
    5
    7
    0
See reviews for
6
107
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

My partner and I stayed at Tonic two nights over the weekend in July 2014.

We were very impressed with a call and text message from Ian the afternoon of our arrival with our door code included. The directions were easy to understand and we simply parked the car ouside the cabin and went straight in. Wow!

The aesthetics are wonderful - a mix of industrial minimalism with some homely comforts such as incredible linen, a cow skin rug, a teddy bear and a message from both Ian and Janelle on the blackboard in the room.

Entering the bathroom there were two incredibly soft bathrobes, a very well sized (but curiously placed) bath and an open shower. The bathroom is, in itself, massive.

We also noticed that breakfast had been provided for us already and was in the fridge - a fruit platter, yoghurt with passionfruit swirled through, two different breads for toasting and banana bread. We also found fresh coffee and tea complete with orange juice and milk. Wonderful!

Each morning Ian delivered the paper to us personally and we even managed to have breakfast on the balcony on Sunday despite the cooler weather - overlooking the damn and the vineyards with an incredible view down the valley.

A great tip - DO NOT miss the sunset! The view is INCREDIBLE.

We are definitely coming again soon. The overall feel of the place is very personal and private. We felt like we had our very own property despite other guests staying. Amazing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taymaishu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My partner and I stayed here for the first time in March 2014 while attending the Lionel Richie Concert.
The venue is gorgeous and the rooms are so modern and chic. The owners of the hotel are lovely and more than willing to assist with all of your needs. My contact with the owners occurred prior to my arrival, where they assisted with transport options to and from the concert. They were extremely helpful.
Gorgeous part of the stay was the beautiful breakfast basket. Containing muesli, yogurt, croissants, banana bread and fresh fruit.
LOVED OUR STAY

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SommerAaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Sometimes a quiet serene retreat is needed from the hustle and bustle of Sydney and Tonic definitely offered it to us during our Valentines Day weekend stay. Was a beautiful get away for the weekend and what a lovely place to stay! It isn't even that far from the main town or the main wine places to visit but it's so quiet and tranquil that you can just relax and chill out.
Great facilities. Lovely big place with lots of living space and big bedrooms/bathrooms and a our own private deck. Food in the fridge was delightful. Banana bread was amazing!

Can highly recommend and will come back again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kozza44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

A simply wonderful weekend at Tonic. The accommodation was divine, the sunsets from the verandah reflecting on the pond were superb, local wineries and restaurants fantastic, get together in the Tonic room sharing our wine purchases in front of the fire and a few stories 'memorable' and this morning opened the blinds at sunrise to watch the hot air balloons float by - a stunning finale. Thank you - I'm sure members of our party will be back to Tonic for more adventures. Thanks again. PS Breakfasts were lovely!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

My partner and I stayed here for two nights over the John Farnham/Lionel Richie concert weekend in March 2014.

Very quiet grounds with a calming outlook towards the west for great views of the dams and rolling hills, complete with the odd kangaroo.

Rooms were spacious and decorated with a contemporary minimalist feel.
Room Features included:
- King Sized Bed
- Kitchenette (microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge/freezer, cutlery, cups/plates)
- Stocked fridge for breakfast (various toasts, fruit, yoghurt, muesli, croissants, tea, coffee, milk)
- Large flatscreen TV
- Free WiFi
- Bath tub (not a spa)
- open area shower
- own deck facing the westerly view with tables and chairs
- morning papers delivered to your door
- high quality towels, robes and slippers
- ironing board, iron, hairdryer, safe, inspect spray and even aeroguard!

Common area was great too and we were able to spend a few hours in there by ourselves:
- overlooks pool
- FULL kitchen
- large dining area
- outdoor BBQ
- bean bags
- DVD's, CD's, large flatscreen TV
- lounge area

Highly recommended and my own tip would be for the tables on the decks of the rooms to be larger (not enough space to enjoy the morning papers while eating breakfast) and a coffee machine for fussy coffee drinkers!

Sure, it's not cheap, but well worth the extra $$ for a quiet and relaxing Hunter Valley experience. This place would even be great during bad weather (fire place in the common area and watching the storm from your own deck)

Room Tip: We were in a "middle" room with rooms either side and we only ever heard our neighbours wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at Tonic Hotel for the two days prior to my wedding with my mum and best friend.. Owners Ian and Janelle truly made the prior days and morning of my wedding amazing.. They both went above and beyond to make everything perfect and I can't thank them enough..

I really can't say enough about Tonic to do it justice it's just beautiful.. It made for a perfect relaxing stay and the perfect backdrop for all my pre wedding photos..
Positioned to give the beauty and privacy of the Hunter Valley and yet 5-10 minutes from all the beautiful wineries and restaurants..
We stayed in the two bedroom villa which had a massive balcony with a BBQ and amazing views.. Comfy king sized beds, slippers, robes, large bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen, large living room.. Everything you could want in the fridge for a very tasty breakfast and snack supplies..
You wake up in the morning to views of the dam and kangaroos, it's just so peaceful..
My husband and I will definitely be returning again and again to this amazing hotel..

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Mlugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.5 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
6.5 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
3.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
5.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonic Hotel

Property: Tonic Hotel
Address: 251 Talga Rd | Lovedale, Hunter Valley, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tonic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
tonic is - a place of uninterrupted relaxation and style, a place where you want to be a guest. A stunning spot - the Lovedale area of the Hunter Valley just 2 hours from Sydney. Simple modern surroundings - Australian design, steel and glass against native grasses. Non invasive service - discrete and informal, no formal check in and check out. Every luxury - crisp white linen, the best towels, groovy furniture and the latest in gadgets. tonic is opulent minimalism. we invite you to come and share ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Tonic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Pokolbin
Tonic Hotel Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing