We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If there was a Wallpaper guide for Hunter Valley, this would be their top choice”
Review of Tonic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tonic Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If there was a Wallpaper guide for Hunter Valley, this would be their top choice”
Reviewed 31 August 2010

This hotel is a great getaway for couples. We are young urban professionals and this is exactly the getaway we needed. The decor is very modern and the no children policy ensures you will not be bothered at the lounge or the pool. All the gadets like the heated bathroom floors, candles and DVDs also added to the experience.

The in-room breakfast were healthy and very good. It was great to have breakfast in bed everyday. Nici was also very caring to ask for any allergies or restrcitions and accomodated us with the menu.

You should also take advantage of the lounge - great place to eat in (if you plan ahead and buy your food during the day). Again, the decor is fun and modern.

Although ther is no front desk and you may not always have someone to direct you for a restaurant, Nici was very helpful by email prior to our trip in helping us book a private vineyard tour and did send us restaurant suggestions.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath_Bar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    17
    5
    7
    0
See reviews for
6
106
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Have just returned from a fab weekend at Tonic. A perfect quiet escape from the children.

The place is super stylish, elegant, and exactly our taste. Not a bit of chintz in sight!
What we loved:
- letting ourselves in and out (and not having to carry bulky keys!)
- the FAB breakfasts left in our fridge to have whenever we decided to get up
- underfloor bathroom heating on those chilly winter mornings
- spacious rooms and bathrooms
- all the bookings Nici did for us in advance (and she is well known wherever we went...in a good way!)
- probably the most comfortable hotel bed we have slept in
- kangaroos bouncing past whilst I had brekkie in my bed...priceless!

Can't fault it, Nici has thought of everything. We will be back and will be sending our friends too!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveHolidaysTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We went up to the Hunter Valley for a couple of days to unwind the week after a business trip to Sydney from the US and tonic was great. Nici, the owner, provided some really great suggestions for vineyards and restuarants to visit. The rooms had a very contemporary feel to them and took and vantage of some great views of the Hunter Valley sunsets. Nici left gourmet breakfasts in the room each morning and our only disappointment is that we woke up late on our first morning and didn't have time to fully enjoy the meal. tonic is a great place to launch your Hunter getaway and I'm just sorrow that I live in the US and won't be able to visit again for awhile.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mktps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2010

If you are looking for a peaceful getaway for a night or a few, then Tonic Hotel is perfect. The rooms are aesthetically beautiful, light, airy, clean and serene. I actually really enjoyed the "leave the guests alone" philosophy which is completely opposite of a bed & breakfast. So if you want to be waited on hand and foot then this is not the place for you. But if you want to spend a relaxing time with your significant other, reading, talking, sitting then stay at Tonic. And the gourmet breakfast they leave for you to prepare in your room the next morning is very tasty and filling. I highly recommend Tonic Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCronk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney (originally UK)
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

My husband and I stayed at Tonic for 3 nights just after New Year and after a very hectic time at work in the run up to Christmas, and Tonic hit the spot perfectly (and I am very fussy about where I stay on my precious time off!). The location is just lovely, the rooms overlook a large pond/billabong(?), with hills in the distance. The large deck on the front of each room is a great spot for "wine time" while the sun goes down, and yoga in the morning.
The room was as gorgeous as the pictures on the website, if anything more spacious. Everything had been well thought out, from the soft sheets and comfy pillows, the cosy blankets, the stunning bathroom, the aesop bath goodies, the "buy-anything-in-the-room" concept, and no worries about making sure you have your door key.
We loved the no check-in, check-out concept (just key in the number emailed to you beforehand) and the DIY breakfasts were awesome (rhubarb crumble with yoghurt, beautiful smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, fruit and ricotta) - we certainly didn't leave hungry. We just loved the fact we could have breakfast when we wanted, on our deck, overlooking the beautiful Hunter scenery. The kitchenette bit of the room is tiny, but there is everything you need, and there is a much larger kitchen in the Tonic Lounge and a bigger TV - we cooked in a couple of nights and curled up in front of the TV to watch some DVDs (if you fancy a night in, there's even curries in the freezer and wine that you can buy, all at reasonable prices, not mini bar prices).
Yes, it is different to your average 4 star hotel or B&B, and if you want room service or a gym, or a cleaner knocking on your door at 9am then this is not the place for you, but we loved the whole concept of Tonic and thought it was perfect for a relaxing, uninterupted retreat. Highly recommend!
If you go, be sure to check out Mojo restuarant (although go hungry, not like us after a big vineyard lunch) and Scarborough Winery (for the yellow label chardonnay and the white label semillon).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoutiqueHotelAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2009

Thanks Nici for the amazing hotel. It's dissapointing that some of the reviewers on here didn't 'get' the concept of Tonic but we loved it. When you really want to get away and relax this is your place! It was so lovely to come back to an warm and welcoming room after our wedding and not have to check in.....We were able to escape the world and have a moment to ourselves to reflect on the night we had just had. Everything was lovely right down to the massages Nici organised for us the next morning. Breakfast was so yummy (I did prefer the first mornings breakfast to the second) and it was nice to get up and make it at our own pace rather than having to wait for room service or sit in a big dinning room with other guests. This hotel really does feel like you have left the world behind!

Just one more thing.....If you are going to tonic you must must must eat at Bel Posto up the road about 3 kms.......Amazing food!!!!!!!!!

Thanks again! We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlbsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawks nest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Somewhat akin to staying in a toilet cubicle.Cannot believe that some magazines and newspapers are bother to review this place.Scouts and girlguides would love it-not the price however.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank possHawksNest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.5 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
6.4 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
2.5 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.9 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonic Hotel

Property: Tonic Hotel
Address: 251 Talga Rd | Lovedale, Hunter Valley, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tonic Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
tonic is - a place of uninterrupted relaxation and style, a place where you want to be a guest. A stunning spot - the Lovedale area of the Hunter Valley just 2 hours from Sydney. Simple modern surroundings - Australian design, steel and glass against native grasses. Non invasive service - discrete and informal, no formal check in and check out. Every luxury - crisp white linen, the best towels, groovy furniture and the latest in gadgets. tonic is opulent minimalism. we invite you to come and share ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tonic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonic Hotel Pokolbin
Tonic Hotel Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing