We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing retreat”
Review of Estate Tuscany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Estate Tuscany
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Relaxing retreat”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Tuscany and was pleasantly surprised. I had read some mixed reviews on this retreat but am happy to stay, our expectations were exceeded here. We stayed in an olive grove room. The quality of the room was very good, there was the odd scratch on the walls here and there, but let's get real, this type of wear and tear is to be expected unless you're staying at the versace. The cleanliness of the room was also very good (I judge this one on my wife's reaction, she is a real hard marker on this area). The bed was very comfortable and our room was located two steps away from the pool, which also was in very good condition and very refreshing after a hot afternoon touring wineries. The breakfast in the mill was very good as well. All in all, this place was very good, the highlight for me being that the location of the retreat, away from the busier part of pokolbin, meaning peace and quiet are assured here. I look foward to my next visit to the tuscany.

Room Tip: If you have kids, ask for a room near the pool, it makes life a whole lot easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monterey_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuscanyWineEstate, General Manager at Estate Tuscany, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Monterery_Traveller
What can I say? Your review bought a smile to my face and thank you for a perspective it is a pleasure to have a true reflection of what Tuscany is trying to be. We are not a 5 star property; rather a relaxed, friendly guest house style hotel. Good tip for people with children, the beds we have recently replaced and have bed toppers filled with feather and down for a comfy sleep! Likewise we are looking forward to your return!
Thank you

Kirsty Gregson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    251
    103
    43
    35
See reviews for
99
418
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Staff are great. Very helpful & knowledgeable. Breakfast was fantastic. Dinner ok at the Mill but bit pricey. Stayed in Olive Grove room for 2 nights. Good size room but basic & needs updating to justify the price being charged. Lighting in room very poor. Shower ridiculous & water goes everywhere. Smallest courtyard ever with old rusty furniture and uneven pavers. Can hear everything going on in other rooms - toilet shower etc. needs a lot of work to justify the price that they are charging. Just not up to scratch really.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuscanyWineEstate, General Manager at Estate Tuscany, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear MikJules

We are fortunate to have wonderful staff. The prices in The Mill would be in the early fifties for 2 courses; this is an average price to pay. You will find on special event weekends we charge rack rate; this is caused through supply and demand in the area. The paved area at the back of each room is not a courtyard it flows into a grassed, where the swimming pool, dam and bush setting is. We look forward to your return and feedback again.

Thank you & regards


Kirsty Gregson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

A deligtful 2 night stay in the elegant and generous rooms with great (big and comfortable) bed, with views across the pool, dam and olive trees. Greeted by the birds and kangaroos it was a relaxing stay in the heart of the sthe vineyard country. Tariff included excellent breakfasts at the Mill restaurant now part of the resort. Look forward to future stays.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuscanyWineEstate, General Manager at Estate Tuscany, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear Frank

Thank you for your kind words, we are continuing to improve the Tuscany experience and the beds have excellent quality feather and down bed toppers with new mattresses; glad you enjoyed your sleep. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you & regards

Kirsty Gregson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

We were recommended this resort by the Information Office in Singleton. They had a special 'bed only' offer of $115 - which sounded great, but in reality wasn't. On check-in we were advised the main restaurant was closed for the night and that wi-fi was an additional $15.The room was fine and spacious with good views, however the small patio was filthy and should have been swept/cleaned. We wanted a swim, but on walking through reception on the way to the pool, we were told that the pool hadn't recovered from all the rain that had fallen. This had finished 3 days earlier and no effort had been made to get the pool clean and usable by - guests, very disappointing. We walked to the Brokenback Bar, meeting one of the chefs on the way. He was polite and helpful, but he was dressed in the filthiest set of 'checks' we've ever seen (more akin to a car mechanic) and was grubby and greasy. No way were we going to risk eating there!
We had a long drive the following day, but I was prepared to take time and explain our lack of satisfaction, etc. Checkout however, was a 'thanks and bye-bye' - no asking if we'd enjoyed our stay, had a pleasant meal, where we were heading, or any conversation.
We won't be going back - no matter how good the offer.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mo11oway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Stayed in a Olive Grove Room at one end of the resort. Nice and secluded with French doors opening onto olive grove and dam. No passing traffic like Vineyard View Rooms. Room was a good size with very comfortable bedding. Price included a excellent full breakfast.Main criticism was a lack of sufficient power points in the room. Had to unplug bed side lamps that were both plugged into the only double power point that was easily accessible to charge mobile phone and lap top. There was also no desk or coffee table making any correspondence or lap top use difficult.Suggest if you plan on staying take a flat pack!

Room Tip: Olive Grove at Opposite end to the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TOz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This was a return visit for us and it has always been a beautiful stay..
We were let down this time by being in the last room of the olive rooms (nearest to the restaurant) and were failed to be told there was a wedding taking place on the Friday evening. We had booked this well in advance, perhaps 6 months however I am sure the wedding would've been confirmed at this time also. There were many rooms available when I phoned, so perhaps we could have been told this, and then given the option of a room closer to the pool area and away from the loud music!

Room Tip: Don't choose the olive rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tasha100910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White River, South Africa
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Stayed for 3 nights whilst working near Singleton. Great alternative to places in town and worth a little drive. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Has two places to eat. The pub is relaxed and fun, food okay, but not too much choice. Friendly barman and fun option to cook your own. The restaurant option is very pleasant with excellent food and friendly, chatty staff, this I really enjoyed!

On the whole, very good value for money and more character when compared with other places I've stayed on business.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camelthief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.2 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.3 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
839 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
5.0 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
242 reviews
4.1 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estate Tuscany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estate Tuscany

Property: Estate Tuscany
Address: Cr Hermitage rd & Mistletoe ln, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Estate Tuscany 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estate Tuscany Decades of Hospitality & Award-Winning Service. Only two hours from Sydney, located at the foothills of the Brokenback ranges in Pokolbin, Hunter Valley (NSW). Guests can experience a relaxing stay in Tuscan-style accommodation, with uninterrupted mountain views in the heart of Australia's premium wine country. The grounds present a stylish blend of modern and rustic decor, set amongst 26 acres of beautiful countryside. There are two stunning eateries onsite. The Mill Restaurant offers guests a fine dining experience, while The Brokenback Bar presents a cafe-style bar where guests can sample wine and beer from the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Estate Tuscany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tuscany Wine Estate Hotel Pokolbin
Tuscany Wine Estate Pokolbin
Estate Tuscany Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing