We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Estate Tuscany
Nearby Hotels
US$347
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oaks Cypress Lakes Resort(Pokolbin)
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hunter Valley Resort(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Convent Hunter Valley Hotel(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$141
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pokolbin Village(Pokolbin)(Great Value!)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tonic Hotel(Pokolbin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Guest House(Pokolbin)
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (762)
Filter reviews
762 results
Traveller rating
272
290
112
51
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
272
290
112
51
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrokenback barolive grove roomvineyard view roomtapas barhunter valleycheese shopbreakfast was includedcellar doorglass of winenight staylovely outlookwine tourpleasant stayfood and winequiet locationcomfortable roomslovely room
Filter
Updating list...
572 - 577 of 762 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Our group of 21 accountants and their significant others spent a fantastic weekend at Tuscany Wine Estate. We were looked after from beginning to end. The rooms were lovely and well appointed, the Brokenback Bar has comfortable spaces for relaxing, a delicious snack menu and great service. We dined at the Mill Restaurant on Saturday night. Again the food and service were first class. The resort is located close enough to all of the wineries to be convenient - but not close enough to be noisy. The gardens are peaceful, well laid out and peppered with local wildlife. I'd go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: The Olive Grove Rooms are excellent. Beautifully furnished and the most comfy beds!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumbozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

From our arrival until our departure, our 2 nights here felt like we really were in Tuscany. The decor, furnishings, buildings, grounds, everything had the Mediterranean look and feel. Extremely comfortable and clean. The estate has a pool and plenty of outdoor area.
Tuscany has 2 styles of dining, casual eats at the Brokenback Bar and elegant dining at The Mill Restaurant . Fantastic views from both the bar and restaurant. Plenty of food choices and well priced. The wines are over priced but that seems to be the story at all Hunter Valley wineries.
We found the staff very efficient and friendly.
We had unit #315 which was at the end of the property, perfect position for privacy and quiet.
Would love to go back for another getaway.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank LalaTib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We attended my grandaughter's wedding and reception here and the setting is idyllic with lovely views over the vineyards. We were originally going to stay there however well over $300 for 1 night was excessive.The ceremony was held outside on a very warm day. There was very little seating out of the sun and as there were nearly 4 hours between the ceremony and the start of the reception at 6pm our family group left, went home and returned. The Mill Restaurant was packed with 75 people seated and our table was located right next to the small bar so I kept getting knocked and it was difficult for me to push the chair back to get up. Bar and table service were both very poor and very slow, it was difficult to get water for the table and when we did get it it was not enough and not very cold. On a positive note the entree and main course were excellent although the plates of vegetables came after we had all finished the main course. Staff were nice enough but seemed to be rushed off their feet and not able to provide decent table service.
There were 2 things that I feel that the staff need to take notice of:
"The DJ had extension leads running across the floor where we were stepping onto the verandah. These leads were not taped down and were a safety hazard! They were moved later in the evening."
"A child slipped over on a puddle of spilled drink on the verandah - it was reported to staff by myself and others but it was some time before it was partially mopped up with a bit of paper towel. To my knowledge no enquiry was made as to whether the child was hurt."
The parking area was very small and we had to park up on the grass then step over large rocks.
The toilets were very dirty and appeared not to have been checked by staff as the evening progressed.
Summary: The place would be suitable for a much smaller number of people but I am sure there are much better places and better service for what you pay!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanMushroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuscanyWineEstate, Manager at Estate Tuscany, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

In response to your recent comments and please be aware appreciate receiving your thoughts. I am not sure why overrated and by whose rating? However we offer the following response.
Firstly we may I say how much your comments are in contrast to the positive posts of your family and friends, (who arranged the wedding) and the comments we received from other guests both on the night and since the wedding, to best of our understanding it was a wonderful wedding and that Tuscany’s efforts were outstanding and greatly appreciated, from both the mother and father of the bride (your grand daughter) specifically.
This does not diminish your observation’s, how please understand concerning that the seating (which was not to your liking) we ask that you take that that from time to time someone in most weddings does not get the seat that they want, however families always do there best to accommodate their family and guests needs and Tuscany does not unilaterally allocate seating and it is always managed via the wedding organiser.

The point on tariff appears not to be understood as our standard policy is a 2 night stay, however for weddings we offer a 20% discount and allow a number of single Saturdays to assist the family of the wedding couple. The rate of $300 is quite heavily discounted and may appear to be at the higher end, is in fact one of the lowest rate available for a single Saturday night (if available) in the Hunter.
If the toilets were not clean when you entered we do apologise, as they are and were checked hourly, in fact the flowers had been knocked over and at one time we closed them while cleaning was effected. The water spill during dinner being cleaned up with paper towels again appears consistent, if it was completed correctly as reported by both the Restaurant manager and Operations manager on the night, where possible we would not bring a mop and bucket into a busy wedding when discreet paper towels will do the job.
Items such as where the cars were parked are a grassed area bordered with sandstone boulders to edge the car park and the area level leading to the helipad, we would not recommend stepping over the border, but to exit via the drive or sections without borders, I personally saw the cars parked and do not understand where there is some issue, most if not all our weddings park on this area.
In our defence I feel that you summary is both unfair and totally inaccurate, staff being nice enough is totally at odds to the comments received on the night from your family (and from the large number of wedding testimonials attached to our web site), re the service which again was highly praised. The comment re pricing which suggests you are privy to the wedding charges, which you may be but I would ask you to define better value and quality of a wedding venue with out location benefits? Obviously our accommodation rates are posted for all to see on our web site and would ask you to explain why you believe these charges were excessive.
Re numbers, this was a smaller wedding (72 guests) and we would normally seat 105 to 120 in this room and often up to 150 elsewhere (the previous week we sat 93 in this room) without any issue, again I ask could you discuss this with the guests who we worked with throughout the planning process and who expressed their thanks for our effort and the great outcome.
I would be more than happy to discuss with you any of the points you have raised as it does appear we have not met your expectations, however truly believe as with all our weddings the very positive comments are totally different to your experience.
W.D.Gregson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Great property located in an idyllic location just a bit outside of the pokolbin tourist centre.
The surrounding is lovely with vineyards and green hills.
Lobby is cousy and the reception staff is amazing, smiley, helpful and very professional - well done.
Rooms are large in size, nice high and comfy beds overlooking the garden. (at least ours)
Carpet is in need of a freshen up, furniture dated but acceptable, bathroom very large and clean only problem a loud and annoying noise coming from the vent every time you turn on the light.
Breakfast - the set up is lovely however the quality of the food very average and service very slow - waited 20 minutes to get a coffee.

Overall this is a very nice property and the location makes it an ideal place to spend your weekend in the Hunter!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuropeinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed here recently as relatives had their reception here. The reception and food were beautiful and the staff were great. The room would be ok for $160 a night but not for $375. The breakfast was average at best and I noticed on our bill that we were charged $45 each for very basic buffet breakfast with bad coffee in flasks. The staff were lovely at the breakfast but it was clearly understaffed.
Stay at the sebel - much better value and nicer rooms.
Great reception venue but don't get your guests to stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank E_19_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TuscanyWineEstate, Manager at Estate Tuscany, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback, it is pertinent to all business and appreciate the kind words you noted regarding the wedding reception and generally re our staff, which I am sure you would agree this extends across the resort, again a point you comment upon for staff at breakfast.

Re the $375 tariff, rates are a very subjective issue, as we do charge $625 for a two night stay weekend, (as per our web site) and while slightly biased, believe that you will not find a better location for beauty, tranquillity and resort features including as Cellar Door, Cheese Factory, two different food outlets, easy walking access to 4 cellars doors, kangaroos grazing at the back doors and with our views across acres of vines to the Brokenback Ranges, we are total unique in the entire Hunter Valley, the Hunter in one stop!

As rule we do not sell a single Saturday nights, usually we have a two nights including the Friday standard, however to assist wedding couples, we do offer the facility for a one night booking at $375 to assist with guests who may night be able to justify 2 nights, or the $500 special tariff,( 20% discount for a two night’s accommodation associated with wedding parties, we also allow 5 single Saturday nights per wedding). Therefore the one night stay on the Saturday night is at premium price as we try to offset some of the lack of tariff from not selling the Friday night, however @ $375 it is still a 30% discount on the already 30% discount( $500) being our wedding guest tariff 2 nights, which was the alternative, although a greater rate for one night.

Regarding breakfast It certainly appears to me the breakfast was not our normal standard and I apologise for this, on investigation, we had our normal team on for our busiest day of the week, when we usually serve between 80 and 100 guests for breakfast. Sometime when we have a wedding we do find that guests will all agree to meet at the one time and then instead of the 90 guests being spread over 2 hours we find that they may all arrive at say 9.30 which occurred on the day in question.
As the restaurant is large enough( we seat 100) we do not ask guests to wait outside, however this may cause it to appear that we may be understaffed , however we believe it is better to get seat our guests as soon as possible, even if it appears to be a little slower, it is faster than asking them wait outside with reduced seating, as can happen at some other hotels. It is a difficult blend and I apologise that we did not handle this as smoothly as we should have and that the quality of the coffee was not to your liking. I do not have your details, however would certainly like to make some amends for this and would ask that you contact me in order we make some rectification.
Additionally our standard pricing for breakfast again as per our web site and menu’s in the restaurant is $30.35 on the weekend, your comment of $45 however is understood, as when you looked at your account it showed breakfast at $45 per person, however this is only an internal booking keeping process generated from our Front Office system and does not reflect in any way what we actually charge for breakfast, however I appreciate that it is confusing and obviously leaving an unpleasant taste given that your experience was unsatisfactory, we have amended this to avoid such confusion in the future.

Once again many thanks and my apologies for your disappointment, I trust you will make contact and allow me to make some amends.


Belinda Pooley
Wedding & Conference Co-ordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews