We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food and wine”

The Cellar Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$31
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb food and wine”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The service was calm, helpful and discreet. The food was beautifully prepared and served. The flavours and textures were exceptional. Of course the food was well supported by some superb local red wine!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julz826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    127
    48
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Look no further”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

What a great surprise to find such great service and food. Dimmity served us and was fantastic and attentive. The food was excellent and the prices were reasonable. Our food for some reason was a little delayed and other guests had their mains before us, so things went a little awry in the kitchen however they kept us informed. I would dine here again, nice atmosphere and a big roaring fire.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saltpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennox Head, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Would not go anywhere else - incredible food and service”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We recently arranged a 21st birthday dinner at the restaurant and throughout the whole process the staff and chef were amazing and very accommodating. From the moment we arrived the service was fantastic and they made not only the birthday girl feel special but all of the guests. The staff were fabulous, the food was as good as any restaurant in the area if not better. They even made a raw food birthday cake ( scrumptious ) especially for the birthday girl. One member of the party is glutton free dairy free and they were able to adapt nearly every meal for her to choose. Wow and many thanks, we will be back many times and can't recommend this restaurant enough.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland
1 review
“Could not fault, AMAZING!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Went to this restaurant for a friends birthday. The staff were fantastic. As a friend is a vegan we find it very hard for her to eat a decent meal at most places and staff always seem annoyed that they have to ask the chefs questions. This is not the case at all here. The staff were more than happy to help and even managed to get an amazing vegan entree, main and dessert that was just as delicious as the other meals. As we all work in hospitality we understand what good service is and I am very happy to say this is one of the best places to go for a great atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff and AMAZING food. Everything was cooked to perfection and we were incredibly happy at the end of the night.
I HIGHLY recommend this place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaylahospo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent & attentive service, good food”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

After walking out of the Peterson restaurant, we attended the Cellar. From the moment of arrival we were made to feel wlecome, and although reasonably busy, we were given excellent service by staff who were very helpful & pleasant staff in our food & wine choices. Excellent value for money. We will return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PhredNerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cellar Restaurant also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to The Cellar Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing