We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food. Great service!”

Restaurant Botanica
Reserve with
Restaurant Botanica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 73 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$42
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Modern Australian yet regionally distinctive in style, the menu at Restaurant Botanica is focused on seasonality and freshness, perfectly complemented by an award-winning wine list and stunning views looking out across our private vineyard to the Brokenback Mountain Range. The restaurant's very own kitchen garden is the source of many of the herbs and vegetables that add a wholesome and healthy dimension to the dishes.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food. Great service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Despite the location being deceptively far from pokolbin, the restaurant has a great atmosphere and the property is very pretty with gorgeous vineyards. The food was stunning especially the lemon curd tart for dessert! We had great service and were treated very well by the friendly and caring staff. It's a place we'll definitely recommend to friends. Do not take a taxi. They are ridiculously expensive and they will ruin your night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elysse R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Restaurant Botanica at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for dining with us. We are glad you enjoyed your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    153
    44
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

My husband and I and another couple went last night for dinner and had a great time. We had our 2 year old daughter with us, and the staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful.

The entrees were delicious ( especially the scallops!) and everyone was delighted with their mains. They really know how to cook meat to perfection. I had the steak- delicious. My husband had the pork belly, also delicious. The produce is all very fresh and much of it comes straight out of their own garden. They make a fabulous sourdough bread too. Wines were excellent. The atmosphere is relaxed while still being an elegant restaurant. Very warm and welcoming. And thanks to the staff for the drawing paper and pencils. Our daughter loved your french fries! Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emechka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Owner at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Emechka,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a fabulous review - especially as you traveled so far from Vienna to dine with us! We were so pleased to accommodate you both with your beautiful little girl - we always keep entertainment for the kids on hand so that you may enjoy a fabulous and relaxing night. We hope Australia can entice you back for another overseas visit and that we may be able to welcome you back to Restaurant Botanica and our stunning wine region!

Happy and safe travels!
Belinda Stapleton - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Seafood is phenomenal. Had prawns for entree - perfect. Kingfish is great, lamb is heavenly. Almond semifreddo and caramelised apples for dessert was the perfect finish. Free champagne as it was our anniversary. Little tasters before and after the meal. Left with a very happy full tummy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kbatty1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Owner at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Kbayyt1991 - thank you for your 'Delish' review! We too love those scallops - certainly a big favorite on the menu!

We are so glad that you allowed us to spoil you for your anniversary and hope that you may decided to celebrate another one with us in the future!

Warm Regards,

Belinda, Mark and the Botanica team xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

My boyfriend and I visited Restaurant Botanica for my birthday and after a few poor meals in Hunter were on a low ebb, hoping for something to cheer us up.
We were not disappointed!
On an extravagant whim we went for the five course taster menu with matched wines. Goodness it was simply perfect. Simple, beautiful food that just took our breath away. Special mention must go to the trout and the venison dishes. Usually living in Scotland I have had my share of good venison, and the venison here was the best I've tasted. The wine was incredible and perfectly suited the food with which it was served.
The service was wonderful, with little personal touches for my birthday I really appreciated. I felt very special.
The place itself is beautiful, unpretentious, romantic. We were very happy.
The food is not cheap, but frankly I would have paid more for what we received.
Thank-you!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LittleMooUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, restaurant botanica at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you choosing Restaurant Botanica for your birthday celebration?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
2 reviews
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The service and food was second to none, the setting was romantic the staff were exceptional. Fine dinning at its best.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Manager at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you Sue T for your "Delicious" review. We look forward to seeing you again soon to enjoy more of our "Delicious" food.

Warmest Regards,

Renee - Restaurant Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Botanica also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Restaurant Botanica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing