We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dining experience!”

Restaurant Botanica
Ranked #3 of 76 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$42
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Modern Australian yet regionally distinctive in style, the menu at Restaurant Botanica is focused on seasonality and freshness, perfectly complemented by an award-winning wine list and stunning views looking out across our private vineyard to the Brokenback Mountain Range. The restaurant's very own kitchen garden is the source of many of the herbs and vegetables that add a wholesome and healthy dimension to the dishes.
Reviewed 18 June 2014

From the minute we walked in to restaurant Botanical, we were treated as valued guests.
The service was excellent and the food fantastic :)
We chose the two course option and a lovely bottle of a Hunter red.
Being nighttime, unfortunately, we could not appreciate the lovely view, but the ambience was good in the restaurant, with lots of space and this helped to make the whole experience very intimate.
Would highly recommend this restaurant.
On an extra note, it is WELL worth staying at Thistle Hill Guesthouse, nearby!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frederiksen205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Manager at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Fredericksen205,

Thank you for your wonderful review and your recommendation! We are now open on Saturday and Sunday for lunch, we would love for you to return and enjoy the view and allow us to spoil you again when you are next in the Hunter.

Warmest Regards,

Renee - Restaurant Supervisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

712 - 716 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

I went to this restaurant on a girls weekend with 3 other ladies. The service was very attentive. The food was to die for! I had the pork belly which melted in your mouth. The deserts in particular the semifreddo is a must. I can't wait to go back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jensen1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Manager at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Jensen1974,

Thank you for the amazing review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your dining experience on your recent girls weekend. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Renee - Restaurant Supervisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Not for nothing is Botanica so highly rated on TA as previous reviews are spot on about the service, cuisine and ambience of Botanica. I only highlight these:

a. it's closed on Tuesdays;

b. the amuse bouche of king fish sashimi cubes in citrus mayo is to die for!!!!;

c. the soft shell crab with soba is equally excellent!!!

I'd dine at Botanica again in a heart beat!!!






    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FootlooseSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Manager at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear FootlooseSingapore,

Thank you for taking the time for such an excellent review especially all the way from Singapore! We are overjoyed that you enjoyed the amuse bouche. Happy Travelling!

Warmest Regards,

Renee - Restaurant Supervisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This restaurant is a little out of the way in the Hunter, but is worth finding. There is a choice of multi-course meals, with a wide menu from seafood to chocolate. But the food is absolutely wonderful. Highlights were a soft shell crab, and donuts for dessert, and complimentary cauliflower soup and homemade chocolates to finish. Service was exceptional, with a great knowledge of the food and wine on offer. Can recommend for food lovers. One of the few restaurants open on a Sunday night in the Hunter.

Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Manager at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Patrick B,

Thank you for your wonderful review, we very much appreciate it! We are so happy you chose Restaurant Botanica and enjoyed the in-house made vanilla doughnut, with warm caramel sauce and vanilla bean ice cream! We look forward to welcoming you back for some more spoiling!
Warmest Regards,

Renee - Restaurant Supervisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I dined here late last week and what a great experience!! Food, service and atmosphere all amazing! We were served by a waitress Emma, and I was very interested to hear she was from a hospitality family. I am actually a chef myself and took this on as a chance to test this young waitresses knowledge about food and wine, and I must say I was not disappointed. Not one question was unanswered about ether the food or wine, weather it be about the vintage of the wine or where their produce was farmed, this was such an amazing night and highly recommended dining here. Thank you to the team at botanica "especially emma" for an amazing night!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chef9931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Manager at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Chef9931,

Thank you for such a fabulous review and choosing Restaurant Botanica for your night out. We are so overjoyed that you had a great night. We are very proud of our staff's knowledge and appreciate the amazing recognition! We look forward to seeing you again soon and allowing us another chance to spoil you.

Warmest Regards,

Renee - Restaurant Supervisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Botanica also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Restaurant Botanica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing