We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still so good....”

Restaurant Botanica
Ranked #3 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$42
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Modern Australian yet regionally distinctive in style, the menu at Restaurant Botanica is focused on seasonality and freshness, perfectly complemented by an award-winning wine list and stunning views looking out across our private vineyard to the Brokenback Mountain Range. The restaurant's very own kitchen garden is the source of many of the herbs and vegetables that add a wholesome and healthy dimension to the dishes.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Still so good....”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

What is the hardest aspect to operating a good restaurant.... consistency. I had been to Botanica a bout 3 years ago - and it was a sensation. This weekend I went back with a group and if possible, it was even better. The Restaurant just looks so good. It was almost a full moon - the vineyard was a silver shadowy vision punctuated with many a kangaroo - and the restaurant in the middle and beautifully lit, created a perfect visual image. The restaurant was full and our table of 10 caused not the slightest concern. The welcome by all staff was warm and generous and the limited menu offering (pared for the large number) offered an excellent selection. My scallops were fat, plump and unctuous. The mash and peas just seemed to ooze out of the scallops and combined to give a really sensuous taste. My Duck Confit - was crisp skinned - whilst the flesh was soft and slightly gelatinous with the accompanying peppered beetroot and roasted garlic - finished off a superb dish. The Hunter Valley and Associates only wine list - gave a good cross section of the region. The staff were excellent, friendly, helpful and above all patient. On that night, our group were not an easy one to handle - but everybody had a great hunter experience. well worth the drive out along Hermitage Road.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Restaurant Supervisor at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for dining again at Restaurant Botanica, it was our absolute pleasure to welcome you again along with your guests. We are always delighted to gain such wonderful feedback about our food and service, so thank you for taking the time to share it with is. Hopefully we will see you again soon, so that we can impress you once again.

Kind regards,
Clare Bremerkamp
Restaurant Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    829
    162
    44
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I ate a beautiful Saturday lunch with a group of 3 girlfriends. The atmosphere was lovely and the outlook lovely. We were already impressed when we spotted the chef from the carpark foraging in the vegi patch. We ate the bread and spreads to start, followed by a hazelnut soup. (Not just any soup) it was so frothy and creamy . Felt like mouse in my mouth. O then ha 2 entrée. First was scallops that were cooked perfectly. The second was crispy skinned trout that was so tender is nearly dissolved in my mouth. Followed it up with an affagato that was beautifully presented and served with 2 lovely shortbread. Divine. The service was also fabulous.

Helpful?
Thank sephani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Restaurant Supervisor at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
HI sephani,

Our chefs tend to our beautiful herb and vegetable garden daily and incorporate as much of that lovely fresh produce into the meals as possible. It is lovely that you were able to spot one of our fabulous chefs foraging before service.
Both the Scallops and the Ocean Trout dishes are so delicious, and we're glad you liked them as much as we do! Hopefully we will see you again soon for another girls catch up.

Kind regards,
Clare Bremerkamp,
Restaurant Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Scores a 10!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We were part of a party of 10 friends and were seated in the private room. From the moment we entered the restaurant until we left, we could find no fault at all.
The food, starting from the amuse bouche of a mushroom velouté, finishing with the coffee marshmallows, was just exceptional. Being a large group we were offered a pre-arranged choice of three entrees, three mains and three desserts with the cost being based on 2 or 3 courses. All the food was perfectly cooked and served and was absolutely exceptional.
The staff were also excellent. Every one who attended to us, whether serving, topping up drinks or clearing the table were friendly, efficient and delightful. All service was done with a smile and it seems as though they all enjoy working there.
I couldn't recommend the restaurant more highly and will happily return when we next visit the Hunter Valley.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AKA-Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Restaurant Supervisor at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your 'Scores a 10' review. You are absolutely correct, we love our jobs and are very passionate about wonderful service and delicious food. It is fantastic to hear that you were able to experience that during your visit to Restaurant Botanica.
The Harvest Room is perfect for intimate group bookings where you can relax and enjoy your meal with friends and family. We would be so happy to welcome you and your guests back to Restaurant Botanica on your next visit to the Hunter Valley.
Kind regards,
Clare Bremerkamp
Restaurant Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Culinary Delight!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Visited this gorgeous restaurant with my husband on a getaway to the Hunter (8.8.14).

Located at Spicers Vineyards Estate, you will find a beautifully presented restaurant, it's not massive which is perfect (more intimate). Being winter they had a beautiful open fireplace crackling away next to our table, just bliss. All of the girls working on the floor did a fantastic job, very polite and well trained.
We opted for the 3 course option which began with an amuse bouche of Mushroom Soup. OMG! The best tasting mushroom soup ever.

My husband chose the Soft Shell Crab for Entree, the Wagyu Beef Cheek for main and Hazelnut Meringue for dessert. The crab was one of the best we have ever had and the beef cheek was just beautifully cooked and melting in the mouth.

I chose the Crispy Skin Ocean Trout for Entree, the Yamba Prawns with herb Gnocchi for main and the lemon curd tart for dessert. My entree was a perfect balance of flavours and trout cooked to perfection. The main had the most beautifully cooked prawns with soft herbed pillows of gnocchi. Traditionally I'm not a huge dessert fan, however the lemon curd tart is absolutely divine. Beautifully balanced acidity of lemon to cut though the sweetness and don't forget those delicious little squares of passionfruit marshmallow!

Whilst dining I also indulged in a glass of their 'out the front' Chardonnay, went beautifully with dinner.

Absolutely loved this restaurant and it's staff. Can't wait to return again!

Thank you.

Helpful?
1 Thank scruflz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Restaurant Supervisor at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hi scruflz,

Wow! What an amazing review, thank you so much for taking the time to share it with us. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful dining experience with your husband. We take pride in delivering wonderful food and service, and it makes the team extremely proud to receive such great feedback. We look forward to inviting you back to the Hunter Valley and our beautiful restaurant.

Kind regards,
Clare Bremerkamp
Restaurant Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Went here for a solo dinner while my partner was at a conference -absolutely beautiful service, food and wine. Staff were attentive, friendly and helpful. The food was beautiful. I had the three course menu with zucchini flowers (so yummy), prosciutto wrapped veal for main (had some delicious char grilled fennel) and lemon tart for desert. Every single course was well presented and a pleasure to eat.

Helpful?
Thank KyriaEmka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Restaurant Supervisor at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hi KyriaEmka,

It is lovely to hear that you had such a great time dining at Restaurant Botanica recently. Hopefully you will get a chance to visit again soon with your partner.

Kind regards,
Clare Bremerkamp
Restaurant Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Botanica also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Restaurant Botanica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing