We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“you will be delighted!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Botanica

Restaurant Botanica
Reserve with
Restaurant Botanica is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 73 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$42
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Modern Australian yet regionally distinctive in style, the menu at Restaurant Botanica is focused on seasonality and freshness, perfectly complemented by an award-winning wine list and stunning views looking out across our private vineyard to the Brokenback Mountain Range. The restaurant's very own kitchen garden is the source of many of the herbs and vegetables that add a wholesome and healthy dimension to the dishes.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“you will be delighted!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

Sometimes places don't seem to live up to their ranking, but this one certainly does. Stunning, delicious food, nice atmosphere and good, attentive and customer focussed service. we had the signature degustation and my husband had matched wines (we were driving). Each course was amazing and well matched with the wines. Our favourite was probably the venison, which was so soft and juicy - cooked just right! Definitely worth a visit for anyone who appreciates beautiful and delicious food.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Launie_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Restaurant Supervisor at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hi Launie Girl,

We are very proud to hear that Restaurant Botanica was everything that you had heard and hoped for. The Signature Degustation menu is a fantastic way to sample many of our yummy dishes, and we too love the venison! Hopefully we will see you and your husband again soon so that we can spoil you once again.

Kind regards,
Clare Bremerkamp
Restaurant Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    781
    153
    42
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Stunning food, good value, great service. Every mouthful was amazing and all my friends agreed. Not to be missed

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sydneysimpsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Restaurant Supervisor at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hi Sydney Simpsons,

It is lovely to hear that you and your friends were able to enjoy our beautiful food and service. Thank you for sharing your review with us, we would love to invite you back to enjoy some more of our "stunning" food soon.

Kind regards,
Clare Bremerkamp
Restaurant Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Always great food and service. Definitely in the top 5 or 6 in the Hunter Valley. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JWB300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Restaurant Supervisor at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hi JWB300,

Thank you for your "excellent" review. We are looking forward to your next visit and hopefully we can make that top 5, a top 3!

Kind regards,
Clare Bremerkamp
Restaurant Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Amazing food, wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Loved ever meal we had, 2 breakfasts, 3 course dinner & an incredible 5 course degustation with matched wines - just perfect.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Restaurant Supervisor at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Hi Wendy B,

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We're so glad to hear that you loved every meal you had at Restaurant Botanica. The 5 Course Signature Degustation is a lovely way to try many of our beautiful dishes and the matched wines are just perfection. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Clare Bremerkamp
Restaurant Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A restaurant NOT to miss !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Ate at Botannica last Sunday evening. The last time I ate there was about 2 years ago and then the food was great but now Mark has ramped it up signbificantly. The presentation of the food was superb. I had Soft shell crab, Beef Fillet and Rocky Road - all were fabulous but I tasted some of the Pork Belly and WOW - I wish I had ordered it !!! The pork belly was not fatty - something that the wait ress said was a feature of their locally sourced pork. I cant wait to go back there again on my next trip and will make sure I order the Pork belly then !!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpicersVineyards, Restaurant Supervisor at Restaurant Botanica, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi,

Thank you for your review "A restaurant not to miss", we most certainly agree and it is lovely to hear that others do too! All of our meals are delicious, and you are not alone in thinking that the Pork Belly is amazing. We would love to invite you back to Restaurant Botanica so that you can order it all for yourself.

Kind regards,
Clare Bremerkamp
Restaurant Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Botanica also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Restaurant Botanica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing