We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday celebration”
Review of Muse Restaurant

Muse Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$59 - US$174
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Muse has become renowned for not only its food but also for its professional and friendly service. Offering a season driven Contemporary Australian menu, the food is fresh and exciting without overcomplicating the ingredients. Using quality produce, sourcing locally whenever possible, the dishes show technique, restraint and respect.
newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday celebration”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Perfect venue to celebrate my husbands birthday, food inspirational, service exceptional, open fire awesome.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank wishbonenewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    782
    131
    46
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We dine at Muse on a weekend trip to the vineyard and all I can say is wow 10/10, the food and service was faultless , can't wait to dine there again , we will be back soon

Helpful?
Thank Marcusfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A 'must do' to complete your Hunter Valley experience!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Muse deserves every positive review they receive. The service is second to none, wait staff are very attentive and knowledgeable in every dish on their menu. It is a little on the high end of the price scale, however I do not think it is unreasonable at all. When you combine exceptional service, high quality meal and a sophisticated menu complimented by an extensive wine list, Muse is sure to please any 'foodie'. I wouldnt leave this one off your itinerary when you are in the Hunter. This was my first time here, but definitiely will not be my last.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tannas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Definitely on the high end of the scale for fine dining but what you pay is what you get! Some of the most amazing food i've ever eaten. The scallops were to die for and our whole experience from the moment we were greeted at the door to being seated and eating. Love the ambience and the staff were very friendly.
If you want to splash out a little whilst in the hunter, can highly recommend eating here!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kozza44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Hmmmm....”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The venue itself if beautiful and the enormous fireplace gives it a wonderful ambience. The staff was most welcoming and proactive with the younger people in our party. They were most respectful of them which is a refreshing change from other restaurants. The initial service was excellent, but as the restaurant filled throughout the evening, it started to wane.
Be prepared for a Set course (min $75/ 2-course pp not.incl wine. Children's menu is a la carte and their menu appealed more to some of the adults). We were served an amuse-bouche and artisan breads post-ordering. I chose an entree as my main, as the menu is a little bit on the fiddly, fancy (very busy) side and I was not impressed with the portion, nor the quality of the meal which arrived at the table. I was disappointed with the Muse Restaurant experience as I do not feel it lived up to the hype and esp for the $ paid. It came highly recommended and I have no doubt that it can be an amazing dining experience however, it did not deliver on this occasion.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelManagerLoveIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Muse Restaurant also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Muse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing