We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A life changing journey.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A life changing journey.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I was absolutely exhausted physically and emotionally and going to the Golden Door was just the ticket. The staff are ALL AMAZING - so genuine and caring and authentic. They really love and care about what they do and all the guests benefit from this. The spa treatments were incredible, the food divine. The accommodation luxurious and the view to die for. And fellow guests all there for their own reasons - so respectful and so much fun!
Don't wait 'till you hit rock bottom - go and look after yourself at this divine place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side are so gorgeous and sunny in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    25
    7
    9
    6
See reviews for
32
58
180
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2014

If you are looking to break bad habits and form new ones, gain insight into yourself emotions and spirit, meet like minded people to egg you along, be uber active or simply indulge in zen like relaxation, golden door is your place. I was fortunate to spend an amazing 7 days at this gorgeous retreat. My favourite aspect were the talented and inspiring staff - i can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renata B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Double Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It was my choice for my wife and I to attend the Golden Door Elysia as a mid-year re-boot/de-tox. The setting is wonderful - gorgeous views of greenery, rolling hills, water with natural wildlife (read kangaroos) mingling unobtrusively around the grounds. The accommodation is excellent and the facilities (recreational; training; spa) are terrific.

Another lovely aspect of our stay was the other guests...a friendly and warm group of people each with their own stories and journey for improvement. Friendships are formed quickly.

The single most significant attribute of the Golden Door is its team...the staff are simply outstanding. Brigid, Jaye, Mel, Kath, Tony, Matt, Lita, Jess et al...each have their distinct personalities yet are uniform in their absolute engagement, genuine empathy, professionalism and self-effacing yet completely positive approach toward every guest.

You'll be a bit hungry to start with; your head will ache a little as the toxins depart your body; your stomach will grumble with all the wonderful "new" and healthy food passing through....and then all clears and the balance is a lightness and vigour mixed with a renewed positive outlook. "It won't happen overnight...but it will happen".

Room Tip: We enjoyed a villa close to the main building...others will enjoy the walk around Meditation Hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCE2028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

An exceptional program that uplifted me physically, spiritually and emotionally. I enjoyed every minute, made lasting friendships, achieved goals and set new ones and will be back. I got so much more than I expected out of my GD experience and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I recently spent 7 days at Elysia ,,, and let me say they would have to be the best 7 days I have spent on myself. The staff are truly, truly amazing. They are strong and compassionate, gentle and nurturing. They really do love what they do and you feel that from the moment you meet them. I have to admit at first I thought it was a bit too good to be true, but it's real and genuine,,, it's fabulous. I had been through a lot leading up to that week , both in my health and emotional well being. I had felt disconnected from myself and those around me, lost if you like.. By the end of my week not only was my physical health improving but I felt better about myself and my future. I will carry that experience with me for a very long time and hope to return for a "top up" next year. It really is a beautiful place to stay and relax, regenerate, rejuvenate, find yourself or lose yourself in the moment. Let it go :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I went along hoping to develop some good lifestyle habits. Instead I found a new me. I loved the day program and choice of activities. I got to try some activities I have wanted to try and get into (Tai Chi, Pilates - that actually made sense, meditation, using the massage roller). 1 month later I am still living the changes that I have put in place and loving it. The people are fantastic and so enthusiastic. The site is beautiful and relaxing, I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 96227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I didn't know what to expect when I was booked into this retreat. My employer insited I go to de stress. What can I say...This place has been sent from heaven. I not only managed to relax, I met some amazing people, had the most amazing food and more importantly managed to focus and look at myself. Something I had not done for a while!

If you need some time to recharge, I suggest you book in the Golden Door. Jaye and her team are the most amazing people.

I also suggest a deep tissue massage with Tara. Your miscles will melt away from the bones.

Thank you Golden Door - I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesKyriakou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
6.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
1.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
4.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
4.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia

Property: Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia
Address: 165 Thompsons Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover wellness, balance and vitality, reach new peaks, feel inspired to make lasting health choices and unveil a new more balanced you. The Golden Door Health Retreat Elysia is a place where tired souls can be restored, new goals set and a wealth of knowledge gained to unveil a healthier, happier and more motivated you. All in the peaceful and serene surroundings of the Hunter Valley’s rolling hills, two hours north of Sydney. Whilst our facilities, accommodation and dining are remarkable, it’s the quality and warmth of our staff that keeps our guests coming back time and again. Our all inclusive health and wellness programs, provided under the guidance of our professional team, have been developed to motivate change and provide lasting results when continued back in everyday life. A holistic blend of exercise, nutritious cuisine, health education, relaxation and spa indulgence will allow you to discover new sources of energy and vitality. Located in the beautiful NSW Hunter Valley, The Golden Door Health Retreat Elysia offers magnificent views of vineyards and the Brokenback mountain range and the opportunity to breathe fresh country air each day. Featuring 74 stylish villas with one, two or three bedrooms, this exceptional property is the only purpose built Destination Health Retreat in Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Golden Door Health Retreat Elysia Hotel Pokolbin
Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing