We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pokolbin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
NSW
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Highly recommended!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2010

We did a 5 day programme and thorougly enjoyed the combination of healthy diet, interesting and varied activities, comfortable rooms and pampering. The staff are interested and caring, we particularly enjoyed the cooking sesion with the chef.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetravellingNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    25
    7
    9
    6
See reviews for
31
58
179
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2010

I had a wonderful stay at Golden Door Elysia on the 5 day program. It is the perfect mix of relaxation, physical exercise and spiritual healing.

I was a bit worried initially about the no alcohol, salt, sugar, meat and caffeine....but I walked away at the end of the week feeling better than I have in years! Back home, I am energised and continuing with my new healthy way of life.

The treatments at the spa are fantastic; in particular the facials, hot stone massages and the mud moor bath.

There are many different activities you can choose to try, there is no better way to start the day than tai chi at sunrise overlooking the hunter! The trainers are approachable and know their stuff.

There are also lots of interesting seminars that you can take part in. I went alone, and found the experience to be excellent. I believe the trip was good value for money, with all meals, snacks and activities included. You have the option of upgrading spa treatments at an extra cost.

If you are looking to get back on track in your life with your health, are looking for some serious relaxation, or are looking to try some new things then Golden Door is the place to go!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneySterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2010

I stayed here in February 2010. In general I thought this was excellent value and I feel heaps better than I usually do after a week's break. I also lost 2kg and a significant % in body fat. In the spirit of offering the hotel advice I would, however, suggest the following:
1. Change that cutlery! The knives are almost unusable;
2. Ensure a more even distribution of activities during the week. Thursday was very light on, whereas some other days there was simply too much to do;
3. You should provide a packed lunch for the day of departure. I (withseveral others) was dropped off at Newcastle Airport at lunchtime - a total oasis of quality food and thus guaranteed to ruin the habits formed over the previous week;
4. You should hold off on the 'XXX is evil' line in relation to one of your trainers. I actually thought she was excellent and I am sure some people would have been put off by that story.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyFMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2010

It's not about the rooms - they're clean, comfortable and the showers are hot.
It's about the experience. This place can be a challenge for the mind, the soul, the heart and every aching muscle you didn't think you had. The program is essential.
This is a health retreat - and it's up to the guest to decide how much healthier they want to be. The staff are conduits to achieving the target and they do a fantastic job of it.
The meals match the program beautifully and despite the initial hunger pains I didn't starve.
I came away with far more from the experience than I thought I would and a host of friends to boot.
I'm mentally clearer, physically fitter and have goals to achieve better health.
Value Factor - I'm not sure you can put value on your health.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weleasewodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

This was my first experience at a health resort and I not only had a really good time, I also lost 2kgs in 5 days. I did Body Blitz week which was a real challenge given my level of fitness but the trainers are brilliant and cater to all fitness levels and shapes and sizes. The was great too, and I'm a big meat eater and caffeine addict but by the end of the week I felt better than I had in years. The other guests were amazing as well and several of us keep in touch. I learnt so much and it was a fantastic way to start the year. I actually can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazzaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2010

I have to admit that I was terrified when I booked the Body Blitz week at the Golden Door Elysia Hunter Valley. I have never been to a health retreat. Was I fit enough, what about the food, the other participants, so many questions.
I cannot recommend Golden Door highly enough, from check in to the restaurant to the trainers every member of the team were warm, welcoming and knowledgable.
The trainers are not your typical fitness industry fly by nighters - these people are experts that will push you to your limits but always on your terms and only through encouragement and eductation.
The food was great, in fact my family is now pretty well eating from the Golden Door cookbook most nights and loving it. At night the turn down team light your oil burner so you can truely relax when you return from dinner.
The other participants are now my friends and most of us keep in touch, we are about to have our first reunion.
If you want to learn valuable lessons about health and nutrition this is the place to go.

Stayed January 2010
Helpful?
Thank KLK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2010

Is it common practise these days to charge your guest a fee for when he or she asks for a razor?. Putting that aside, if you want your cleaned dont expect that to be done untill 5pm that evening. Beds and bathroom are lovely. Attention to detail is perhaps one area they need to invest time into. Reception never seem to answer the phone.. Oh and also, if you ever send them an email with a concern, dont expect to hear back from them.. They are clearly not a resort with a 5 star service standard.. Their are many more issues which I can illustrate for you keen customers, but I will let you read the negative reviews on here and let you make the final decision.. Oh yes, and what they say about negativity is genuinly TRUE.!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvs2rest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.3 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
6.1 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
3.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
1.9 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia

Property: Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia
Address: 165 Thompsons Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pokolbin
#2 Spa Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover wellness, balance and vitality, reach new peaks, feel inspired to make lasting health choices and unveil a new more balanced you. The Golden Door Health Retreat Elysia is a place where tired souls can be restored, new goals set and a wealth of knowledge gained to unveil a healthier, happier and more motivated you. All in the peaceful and serene surroundings of the Hunter Valley’s rolling hills, two hours north of Sydney. Whilst our facilities, accommodation and dining are remarkable, it’s the quality and warmth of our staff that keeps our guests coming back time and again. Our all inclusive health and wellness programs, provided under the guidance of our professional team, have been developed to motivate change and provide lasting results when continued back in everyday life. A holistic blend of exercise, nutritious cuisine, health education, relaxation and spa indulgence will allow you to discover new sources of energy and vitality. Located in the beautiful NSW Hunter Valley, The Golden Door Health Retreat Elysia offers magnificent views of vineyards and the Brokenback mountain range and the opportunity to breathe fresh country air each day. Featuring 74 stylish villas with one, two or three bedrooms, this exceptional property is the only purpose built Destination Health Retreat in Australia. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Golden Door Health Retreat Elysia Hotel Pokolbin
Golden Door Health Retreat & Spa Elysia Greater Newcastle/Pokolbin, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing