We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly but average food”

Harrigan's Irish Pub
Ranked #27 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Family friendly but average food”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We wanted somewhere more casual in the Hunter and with young kids, we wanted somewhere with quick and easy service.
The night we went was school holiday time and it is advised that you make reservations. We did not and had to sit at the sports bar area.
Their dishes were average quality pub food but their menu provided decent variety. You can choose from pizzas, salads, steaks, usual pub food and pies. Their kids meals were a hit with the kids and service friendly. Our waiter was particularly friendly and was very good with the kids.
The mains were nothing special although their fried squid salad was the standout.
Food came out reasonably fast given it was a busy night.
I guess everything is expensive in the Hunter but for such a casual dining experience, the food here was still on the pricey side.
But compared to other restaurants in the Hunter, Harrigans will suit most families in terms of the price and atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AustTrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    440
    307
    107
    98
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
toukley
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

during our recent hunter valley trip we called in at Harrigans , we had a meal and a beer
its a fantastic spot , food was excellent and good service .we did not stay but had a chance to look at the rooms and we are impressed .
for what is really a pub its more like a resort , the hotel and grounds are beautiful well maintained
and its a good location to explore the region being central location

lindsay

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindsay v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Aust
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Pub meal”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Nothing special here, overpriced for a pub. We stayed there so it was convenient for us to eat there too, but next time, I'd try somewhere different for our meals.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It is food”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The food in the Hunter is generally pretty good..it can be on the expensive side but generally pretty good. Harrigans is on the more affordable side and generally easy to get a table at..but that is because the food is just..well..food.. I've been here a number of times mainly because I wasn't smart enough to make reservations or friends just wanted something really simple...
The environment is fine...seats are generally easy to get...I've had service here that was decent and service here that was not good at all...again, this should be a stop only because you couldn't find some place better to go to. I'd not actually plan to come here in a normal situation.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fun night out”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We arrived late afternoon Thursday and decided to head to the pub to have a beer, pick up some wine and grab a bite to eat. Was quiet so didn’t expect to be out so long but we ended up staying right to closing time after meeting some of the locals and it turned out to be a fun night. We ordered pizza and chips which were tasty. Staff was friendly, fun and service was good. Heard that Friday and Saturday nights are packed out so will try and go back on our next visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank terriede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harrigan's Irish Pub also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Harrigan's Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing