We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”
Review of Pokolbin Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pokolbin Village
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We spent 3 nights here in July. The accommodation was clean, spacious and centrally located for wineries and restaurants. Very comfortable and functional. Due to the time of year the main restaurant was closed. Local shop had all supplies but pretty expensive for basics. Only disadvantage was having to carry suitcases from the car park to the unit but not too much of a problem.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevSunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Hi BevSunshineCoast,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Pokolbin Village. We are pleased to hear that you found our accommodation comfortable and functional.

Our on-site restaurant and shops are under separate management however I will pass these comments on to the owners for consideration.

Warm regards
Emily M
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

Spacious, clean, comfortable and warm - we stayed in a queen suite and enjoyed our stay. The accomodation is centrally located, so it is a good base for exploring the area. We also found the staff on reception very helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 210 & 212 and both were good rooms. Room 212 had no heater in the bedroom but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damianpaulevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Hi damianpaulevans,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay at Pokolbin Village. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us in the heart of beautiful Hunter Valley Wine Country. We pride ourselves in providing quality customer service with our staff members being a great asset to Pokolbin Village. We hope to welcome you back to Pokolbin Village in the near future.

Regards, Emily M
Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We had 3 queen suites for our party. They are spacious and entirely adequate. The pillows were the best that we have come across. Usually they are very hard but these were soft and very comfortable. The entrance is a bit different and car parking proximity to rooms is not ideal but we coped with that and would stay there again. There is a wonderful restaurant on site and their staff were very attentive.

Room Tip: Queen suites at reception building are great. Choose one at the end as will be closer to car parkin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

It was a last minute booking.I had no idea what to expect. Reached there at 7 pm with my family . I was told that the office will be closed and we will have to find our room . But it wasnt that easy . Reception was at the back and was hard to find in the dark and there was no one i could ask. We actually thought we landed at a wrong place when we saw the restaurants and shops ( all closed )but no reception.However, upon entering the room,i was relieved to see a spacious and clean room. Not bad for the price.

Room Tip: DO not be there after 5 pm .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amir m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

The location is perfect as it is central to most wineries. There are a few shops on sight as well. The room was spacious with a separate lounge area. The bathroom was smallish and the shower a trickle.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Wanted to book as the website looked lovely, sadly disappointed the 2 bedroom Villa we stayed in was small in area and dated. The bathroom had a wonderful array of signage written in the dust on the fly screen from past guests, which by no means impressed us. I was very disappointed that the standard of the villa does not meet the prices that are asked. The front room smelt like a sewer or a pipe had leaked the smell of human gas was very unpleasant & the old cold bathroom was not welcoming at all.I really feel the management need to reassess the asking price versus the quality of accommodation that they are asking. Was glad for the pleasant receptionist on check in and the location of the property but other than that not impressed at all.It felt like a cabin in a caravan park and if we were charged for the rate of a beautiful hotel such as the Crown who offer modern, spacious villas' to charge $380.00 per night was way over priced for this sort of accommodation. My suggestion would be pay $20.00 less and go to the Crown at the Hunter beautiful, yes well worth the money,

Room Tip: sorry cant advise on this as only stayed 1 night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidaydreamer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I paid $225.00 per night, stayed two nights. Had explained when booking that I had a bad
back and needed good bed. Bed was awful, I could hardly walk after staying here.
The only good part was the restaurant. Very poor accomodation for the money.
It was telling that reception did not ask on checking out, how everything was.
This was listed as a resort.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank princess255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.4 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
2.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
6 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
919 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#12 of 15 in Pokolbin
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pokolbin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pokolbin Village

Address: 2188 Broke Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pokolbin
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range: £62 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pokolbin Village 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Pokolbin, minutes to all the major attractions and event locations, Pokolbin Village offers unique 4 star accommodation with a charming and friendly "Village" atmosphere, ideal for the perfect short break. Surrounded by vineyards, Pokolbin Village features 4 star accommodation, a full-size tennis court, swimming pool, boules court, landscaped grounds and an array of on-site attractions to suit couples, families and groups. Relax by the pool, play tennis or browse the on-site attractions including The Pokolbin Winemakers Outlet (Cellar Door/Wine Tasting facility), The Pokolbin Chocolate & Jam Company, The Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop, Tempt & Vixen (art, jewellery and homewares)and the Pokolbin General Store (with a large range of essentials, gifts and memorabilia). Buon Cibo Ristorante is also conveniently located on-site and is open daily from 8.00Am the perfect place to enjoy a sumptuous breakfast, coffee and cake, lunch or dinner. Buon Cibo Ristorante is open for dinner Friday to Monday and breakfast and lunch 7 days a week. Bookings are essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pokolbin Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pokolbin Village Hotel Pokolbin
Pokolbin Village Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing