We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, Quiet & Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pokolbin Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pokolbin Village
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Spacious, Quiet & Clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed in a Deluxe Queen Suite for two nights. We were surpised at how spacious the room was - we had a separate living area and bedroom with a bathroom and balcony that was lovely to sit out on in the afternoon with the pool just a stroll away if we wanted a swim.

The young lady on Reception went above and beyond offering to help book us dinner and our activities.

Location is right in the middle of all the sights and attractions - you can even walk to a handful! Plus the shops and restaurant along the front are ideal if you want to stay in the one place and relax

Will definately return again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorker65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hi Yorker65

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Pokolbin Village. We will be sure to pass on your positive feedback to our staff members.

We look forward to welcoming you to Pokolbin Village once again!

Emily M
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    135
    52
    8
    13
See reviews for
54
156
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Great accommodation fantastic location great rooms great service awesome village definitely staying here again without a doubt. Near all the great wineries and not far from Cessnock and not far from all the great restaurants available also great little village that is perfect if you want to duck out and grab a coffee or sandwich

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalkerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hi Chalkerj,

We are so pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Pokolbin Village. Our location at Pokolbin Village is certainly ideal with on-site shopping/dining at the front of the property or within close proximity to wineries/attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you to Pokolbin Village once again.

Emily M
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here with a few different groups of friends for a wedding nearby over the new year period 2013/2014. We stayed in a Delux Queen room - the bed did not seem queen sized, but the room was clean and functional. Staff at reception were very friendly and despite being located at the back of the Pokolbin shops there was minimal noise - in fact none. The tranquility was divine. Apart from the shops, it is also located near a lot of wineries, Hannigan's Pub and only a 10min drive to Cessnock - for when you don't want to pay through the nose for groceries.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu_Lovett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hi Lulu_Lovett,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your views on Pokolbin Village. We are pleased to hear that you found Pokolbin Village accommodation tranquil and central to attractions of the Pokolbin area.

We would also like to confirm that the bedding in the Deluxe Queen Suites is queen sized.

Our Reception staff take great pride in customer service and your feedback will be passed onto them.

Regards,
Emily M
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
472 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed here overnight, the room was comfortable enough and it is in a great location. The gardens/lawns are well manicured, the pool clean and pleasant. Our check in and check out was quick and painless. It is rated at 4 star but I'm not sure it's worth that rating. Our deluxe queen suite was a small bedroom - was that really a queen sized bed or a double - with a lounge room and separate bathroom. A suite but I wouldn't describe it is deluxe.
The rooms are not very sound proofed and when the toilet is flushed during the night it is quite loud.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool and all back onto the gravel driveway which is quite crunchy when cars arriv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Hi SteveandDD,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Pokolbin Village. We are pleased that you found our property comfortable and well located.

Our accommodation is officially rated by AAA Tourism and has continued to achieve 4 star rating over the past years. One of the many factors that allow us to achieve this 4 star rating is having queen size beds.

We are sorry however to hear that you did not believe your Deluxe Queen Suite to be 'deluxe' and will take your feedback on board regarding this to further improve our guest experience.

Regards,
Emily M
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Wanting accommodation conveniently located near the venue of a wedding reception, Pokolbin Village ticked all the right boxes.

Located centrally on Broke Road, it is close to many of the vineyards, Hunter Valley Gardens (their Christmas Light Show is a must), lots of shops and cafes, and opposite Hope Estate.

We found the self-contained Villa clean and comfortable, with ample space for our group of 5. The kitchen was well equipped with a full oven/cooktop, microwave and a small fridge (although we couldn't locate a toaster) so we were able to put together meals as we liked.

Although we didn't have time to enjoy the other facilities, I am sure the pool would have been most welcome on a hot summer afternoon and the tennis court would have entertained our young adult kids had we been staying longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussiePlaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at Pokolbin Village.

We are pleased you found our 4 star Villa's clean, comfortable and spacious. We apologise for the confusion in not being able to locate your toaster which was in the kitchen cupboard.

We hope to welcome you once again to Pokolbin Village to make use of our various facilities.

Regards,
Emily M
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

This resort hidden away behind the Pokolbin village shopping centre is centrally located, extremely clean spacious and relaxing accommodation. Just a short 5 min walk through the paddock to the lovely Blaxland restuarant. Village shops have an excellent variety for a small shopping centre. Just a stones throw from the beautiful must do Hunter Gardens and many wineries. The rooms were spacious (separate bedroom) and exceptionally clean. Definitely come back again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozzyfootprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Hi Ozzyfootprints

Thank you for sharing your positive experience whilst staying at Pokolbin Village on Trip Advisor!

We look forward to welcoming you to Pokolbin Village again.

Warm regards,
Emily M
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We spent 3 nights here in July. The accommodation was clean, spacious and centrally located for wineries and restaurants. Very comfortable and functional. Due to the time of year the main restaurant was closed. Local shop had all supplies but pretty expensive for basics. Only disadvantage was having to carry suitcases from the car park to the unit but not too much of a problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevSunshineCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Hi BevSunshineCoast,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your stay at Pokolbin Village. We are pleased to hear that you found our accommodation comfortable and functional.

Our on-site restaurant and shops are under separate management however I will pass these comments on to the owners for consideration.

Warm regards
Emily M
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.4 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
0.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#11 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
6.0 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pokolbin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pokolbin Village

Property: Pokolbin Village
Address: 2188 Broke Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pokolbin Village 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Pokolbin, minutes to all the major attractions and event locations, Pokolbin Village offers unique 4 star accommodation with a charming and friendly "Village" atmosphere, ideal for the perfect short break. Surrounded by vineyards, Pokolbin Village features 4 star accommodation, a full-size tennis court, swimming pool, boules court, landscaped grounds and an array of on-site attractions to suit couples, families and groups. Relax by the pool, play tennis or browse the on-site attractions including The Pokolbin Winemakers Outlet (Cellar Door/Wine Tasting facility), The Pokolbin Chocolate & Jam Company, The Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop, Tempt & Vixen (art, jewellery and homewares)and the Pokolbin General Store (with a large range of essentials, gifts and memorabilia). Buon Cibo Ristorante is also conveniently located on-site and is open daily from 8.00Am the perfect place to enjoy a sumptuous breakfast, coffee and cake, lunch or dinner. Buon Cibo Ristorante is open for dinner Friday to Monday and breakfast and lunch 7 days a week. Bookings are essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pokolbin Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pokolbin Village Hotel Pokolbin
Pokolbin Village Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing