We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Pokolbin Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pokolbin Village
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Tried to obtain other hotels for the weekend and this was the only one in the price range to suit us all. From the time of booking plus other calls and plus the check in, we could not have been happier as the staff were A1. Nothing was a problem. The rooms were well appointed, just lacking a microwave, and thanks to the last guest that borrowed the hair dryer, all was good. The beds comfy and thankfully, a soft pillow. Very quiet location and worth a stay. PS Don't forget to buy the breakfast vouchers, value for money.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AussieFLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thank you for review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location quiet and our staff accommodating. Our apologies for not having a hair-dryer in your room. This certainly should have been picked up by our housekeeping team upon preparing your room and has been raised with the Housekeeping Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    137
    53
    8
    13
See reviews for
54
160
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Spacious room with huge living room and a balcony. Comfortable bed.
They have a swimming pool but we didn't use it.
The service at the restaurant where you can have breakfast was a bit slow.
Great location , close to the wineries and Chocolate factories in the Hunter valley.
Reception stuff was very nice, Free WiFi at Reception area.

Room Tip: We got the room behind the reception so we enjoyed the free WiFi in our room. Otherwise the free WiF...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hagit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
188, Pokolbin Village at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us at Pokolbin Village.

The on-site restaurant Vittorio's is not part of Pokolbin Village Accommodation direct however we will pass this onto the owners for their consideration.

We are also aiming to roll out wifi to be accessible not only in public areas, as it is now, but also to be available in all rooms.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

stayed here for 2 nights in Feb over the weekend. The cabins are cute and cosy, location is close to all wineries, it’s great for a getaway.
Negative would be that their restaurant had limited food options and there opening times seemed infrequent.
Would definitely stay here again, has a chocolate and cheese shop which was fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresa_nichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
188, Pokolbin Village at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
HI theresa_nichols

We thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience of Pokolbin Village. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you to Pokolbin Village once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed with 2 friends and the accommodation was fine. Nothing fancy but comfortable. Only concern was the damp (?) smell on entering the room. It didn't bother us once in the room but there was a definite odour on entering the room

The reception staff were lovely!! Very helpful and smiley!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pegs85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay at Pokolbin Village. In regards to the smell in the room we believe this may not have been a 'damp' smell however the smell of new carpet as our rooms have had new carpet laid recently.

Regards,
Pokolbin Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

All-in-all a great stay! Central location with easy access to local vineyards, restaurants and general store. Rooms very comfortable and secluded. Only down-side would be a poor shower...but a small complaint really.

Would recommend to anyone traveling to the Hunter Valley! A++

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jono L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your positive review of Pokolbin Village. We are pleased that you found the accommodation comfortable, secluded and within close proximity to attractions. Thank you for raising the issue of the shower within your room. This feedback has been passed onto the Maintenance Supervisor to investigate.

Regards,

Pokolbin Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greystanes, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We stayed in a Deluxe Queen suite #209 for 2 nights. Staff were helpful over the phone at the time of booking and whilst we were here. Room was clean, spacious, and came with a pull out sofa bed for my kids to sleep on. We were on holidays with another family and also had a connecting door between rooms as they stayed in the room next door. Wasn't charged for the kids as they were under 5 years which worked out well for us. (But was told if kids were over 5 years & over would be charged an additional fee). Room was over looking pool, was serviced & cleaned daily and a short walk across to the village's shops. Car park is gravel and there is a small parking lot on one side of the rooms which was mostly full most of the time, but they do have more parking on the back of the rooms where you can see and walk through to reception. Overall very good value for the price we paid and considering the location it was perfect for a weekend away!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twins151010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Recently stayed here for one night whilst in Sydney.
After talking with the very helpful lady in the tourist information centre she recommended this place as they had a special offer on.
I think it was 120 dollars for the night which during school holidays was extremely good. The room was very clean and spacious with a good shower, small terrace and separate lounge area.
Staff very friendly, and the pool was empty at all times so nice and relaxing. (No kids!)

The place itself is located pretty central to the rest of the hunter valley so easy to navigate around all the wineries.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.4 mi away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
0.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
6.0 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hunter Valley Resort
Hunter Valley Resort
#8 of 15 in Pokolbin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pokolbin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pokolbin Village

Property: Pokolbin Village
Address: 2188 Broke Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pokolbin Village 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Pokolbin, minutes to all the major attractions and event locations, Pokolbin Village offers unique 4 star accommodation with a charming and friendly "Village" atmosphere, ideal for the perfect short break. Surrounded by vineyards, Pokolbin Village features 4 star accommodation, a full-size tennis court, swimming pool, boules court, landscaped grounds and an array of on-site attractions to suit couples, families and groups. Relax by the pool, play tennis or browse the on-site attractions including The Pokolbin Winemakers Outlet (Cellar Door/Wine Tasting facility), The Pokolbin Chocolate & Jam Company, The Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop, Tempt & Vixen (art, jewellery and homewares)and the Pokolbin General Store (with a large range of essentials, gifts and memorabilia). Buon Cibo Ristorante is also conveniently located on-site and is open daily from 8.00Am the perfect place to enjoy a sumptuous breakfast, coffee and cake, lunch or dinner. Buon Cibo Ristorante is open for dinner Friday to Monday and breakfast and lunch 7 days a week. Bookings are essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pokolbin Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pokolbin Village Hotel Pokolbin
Pokolbin Village Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing