We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very lovely and comfortable place to stay for the weekend.”
Review of Pokolbin Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pokolbin Village
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Very lovely and comfortable place to stay for the weekend.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The village was excellent. The villa was very clean and tidy and the staff were highly efficient and were very friendly. I hate bad service more then anything so to have such a high level of service was pleasant:-)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smithajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PokolbinVillage2188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Smithasjs

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Your praise has been passed onto our staff.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    139
    53
    8
    13
See reviews for
55
161
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Snowtime in the Hunter Valley Gardens was the reason for our stay. This accommodation was close to where we were going and other things on offer in the Hunter Valley. Loved the shops so close by as well.

Room Tip: rooms with verandah facing north are best in the winter as lovely to sit outside in the mornings
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lucille S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PokolbinVillage2188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Lucille S,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Pokolbin Village. Our close proximity to the Hunter Valley Gardens and on-site shops certainly is handy for our guests.

We hope you enjoyed your time in the beautiful Hunter Valley and hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Very handy to all the wineries, reasonably priced. Great sized rooms with lounge. Main negative... Paper thin walls. Lucky we had considerate Neighbours Breakfast included would be good. Staff in reception were very friendly and helpful and knew the area well.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Coctailqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PokolbinVillage2188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay at Pokolbin Village and are pleased to read that you enjoyed our close proximity to the wineries of Pokolbin Village. Your comment regarding the 'paper thin walls' has been taken on board however our rooms are soundproofed.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The bed was extremely comfortable and the decor fresh and contemporary.
The room had plenty of space.
A very relaxing environment.
The free wifi a bonus.
The Pokolbin village was very hand being at the door step.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Howellf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PokolbinVillage2188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your Pokolbin Village review. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are pleased to hear that you found our rooms spacious and contemporary.

We hope to welcome you back to Pokolbin Village in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Great friendly and helpful staff. Excellent value for money. Well located near the centre of the Pokolbin area. Easy access to all the area has to offer. Clean and very well serviced. We had a great weekend. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Moni1blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PokolbinVillage2188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your review of Pokolbin Village. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your weekend in the beautiful Hunter Valley.

We would love to welcome you back to Pokolbin Village soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We wanted a one night stay in the Hunter Valley, which is almost impossible to do. This property became available for one night 5 days before the date of our stay. Prices in the Hunter are high these days, and this property was good value for money. The staff were brilliantly accommodating and helpful and the house is quite large with most bedrooms quite separate from each other. Great for families or groups. Location can't be beaten - very central. The only downside of the property is a lack of dishwasher.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HappyTravels2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PokolbinVillage2188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your review of Pokolbin Village. We look forward to welcoming you again to Pokolbin Village very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heemstede
Level Contributor
125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

While very clean and spacious we were disappointed in our 2 night stay there. Why? There was no breakfast included , you could buy one in a restaurant and that was was too expensive for what it was. There was nothing on the premises for an evening meal so one had to drive somewhere else and that in a wine area! Admittedly we were there during the week and in March,off season, so nothing was really geared for tourists. Unfortunate as we would not further recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meerbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
188, Front Office Manager at Pokolbin Village, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi Meerbee

Thank you for posting your review of Pokolbin Village on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you found the rooms clean and spacious.

Your comments regarding the restaurant costings will passed directly on to the owners of Vittorio's Restaurant as they are separate to Pokolbin Village Accommodation. We are sorry to hear that the dining options available were not suitable for you. Vittorio's is open breakfast and lunch 7 days from 8.00am and dinner Friday - Sunday nights from 6.00pm. Should our guests require dinner other nights we have two restaurants within walking distance and many others within a short drive or taxi ride away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pokolbin
2.4 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
0.6 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
6.0 mi away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
0.6 mi away
The Convent Hunter Valley
The Convent Hunter Valley
#10 of 15 in Pokolbin
242 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pokolbin Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pokolbin Village

Property: Pokolbin Village
Address: 2188 Broke Rd, Pokolbin, New South Wales 2320, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Pokolbin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pokolbin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pokolbin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pokolbin Village 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Pokolbin, minutes to all the major attractions and event locations, Pokolbin Village offers unique 4 star accommodation with a charming and friendly "Village" atmosphere, ideal for the perfect short break. Surrounded by vineyards, Pokolbin Village features 4 star accommodation, a full-size tennis court, swimming pool, boules court, landscaped grounds and an array of on-site attractions to suit couples, families and groups. Relax by the pool, play tennis or browse the on-site attractions including The Pokolbin Winemakers Outlet (Cellar Door/Wine Tasting facility), The Pokolbin Chocolate & Jam Company, The Hunter Valley Smelly Cheese Shop, Tempt & Vixen (art, jewellery and homewares)and the Pokolbin General Store (with a large range of essentials, gifts and memorabilia). Buon Cibo Ristorante is also conveniently located on-site and is open daily from 8.00Am the perfect place to enjoy a sumptuous breakfast, coffee and cake, lunch or dinner. Buon Cibo Ristorante is open for dinner Friday to Monday and breakfast and lunch 7 days a week. Bookings are essential. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Pokolbin Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pokolbin Village Hotel Pokolbin
Pokolbin Village Greater Newcastle, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing