We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much potential...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elizabeth's - CLOSED

Elizabeth's
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We offer breakfast, lunch, morning and afternoon tea, with a range of wines from the outstanding McWilliam's Wines portfolio. We are also available for evening group bookings and weddings from 20 to 120 people.
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So much potential...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Elizabeth's has so much potential. Absolutely breathtaking setting, stunning building & features. Gorgeous outside dining terrace.

However, it just needs a little push in the right direction on the service side to make it great. The staff were all very friendly, but perhaps lacking some urgency. It all seemed a little 'too' relaxed, to the point of slightly frustrating.

Starters were excellent - we had the pea and ham soup special which was delicious. In addition - their homemade Balsamic vinegar, served with breads, was incredible.

Main course was really disappointing - Open Wagyu burgers served with belgian beer hot chips. The steaks were tough and cold. I wondered if they had just been re-heated before being served. We were offered a bottle of the wine on the house, and apologies, but overall it did take the edge off a lovely lunch.

They picked it back up again with delicious hot scones

The staff seemed stressed and flustered at times (I wouldnt have said it was 'that' busy though). So perhaps all this needs is a strong front of house person to up the game and they would have something amazing here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cdh299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, General Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this review, 4 June 2013
Hi - we appreciate your feedback on our restaurant setting, the service and food. We have discussed your comments with the team and are confident we have put measures in place to ensure our staff provide the high level of service that gives all our customers an enjoyable experience.
We would love to see you again.
Regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    14
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best coffee in the Hunter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed in the hunter for 6 nights and drove out to Elizabeth's each morning for the coffee, service and breakfast. One day we stayed for lunch as well - very indulgent indeed! Don't even think of going without the polenta chips and blue cheese sauce. I enjoyed mine with a Lovedale semillion and still dream of the lunch. The service is really fast and the girls were lovely.
Don't plan on lunch after breakfast here as they are very substantial.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kaddy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, General Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Hi - thanks for the wonderful review, I know our team enjoyed your visits. We do work hard on our coffee service here, so it is good to know it is appreciated. Our Autumn menu has created a few favourites with visitors, and yes the polenta chips are very popular!!
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
271 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“quick lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

it was one of the few open on Xmas Eve. Nice food and a friendly waitress.
short menu list but quality in it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank smaggy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, General Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Thanks for the review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Came highly recommended and did not disappoint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed a delicious lunch at this restaurant. The menu was interesting and varied, the food was superbly cooked and presented with excellent service. Have heard the breakfasts are legendary but sadly didn't make it back in time the next day!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kezzaaustralia_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, General Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this review, 25 December 2012
Glad you enjoyed your visit to our Restaurant, and we look forward to seeing you enjoying our breakfast next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stopped at elizabeths on our way home for breakfast on a monday.As we were the only couple there service was great and the place was very well laid out and clean.We both had a hot breakfast and let me say I did not need to eat again ill that night.Very generous servings and I could not finish mine.A lovely winery would love to go back and have lunch next time :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wofftam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elizabeth's also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing