We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely lunch spoiled by one course”
Review of Elizabeth's - CLOSED

Elizabeth's
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We offer breakfast, lunch, morning and afternoon tea, with a range of wines from the outstanding McWilliam's Wines portfolio. We are also available for evening group bookings and weddings from 20 to 120 people.
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We ate a family lunch here and three of us were very pleased with dishes that we ordered. However, one of our party ordered the risotto. On reflection we should have returned this to the kitchen when served. It was like no risotto have ever seen before, it did not have the consistency that one expects and I suspect that it was not freshly cooked. This spoiled the occasion.

The wine list, however was, as one might expect, excellent and well priced. The service was good and well informed about the wine. There is an opportunity to try wines at the cellar door.

Since much of the lunch was good, I would return to try it again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travellerNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, General Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hi - thanks for visiting our restaurant and we appreciate the feedback - as a result of your comment about the risotto, we have fine tuned the dish. Glad to hear you would like to come back, we look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Spent a wonderful morning having an exceptional breakfast outside under the eaves. Non oily, beautiful and fresh, superb service. Delightful!

Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, General Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Hi Julie - thanks for the review - yes our breakfast is a very popular attraction, and very affordable - come back and see us again!
Regards
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We enjoyed a beautiful Sunday lunch with friends, service was very pleasant and attentive .
Outstanding dishes were duck spring rolls , pork cutlet and linguine with salmon and most delicious was the selection of gelato .....loved the salted Carmel .
We will be back !

Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, General Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Hi - glad you enjoyed your Sunday lunch at Elizabeth's - always a great way to spend a day off!
Regards
greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stopped in for dinner and were very impressed with the service, the food, the wine and views were awesome! We will visit again the next time we are in the HV!

Thank DCWSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, General Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Hi - thanks for the review - "great service, food, wine and views" - what else can we say!!??

Hope to see you next time you are in the Hunter

Regards
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My Aunty decided we would try Elizabeth's as they had driven past McWilliam's Mount Pleasant Estate a number of times and it looked inviting.

It was lovely—really lovely. All six of us had a delicious meal. My stack of stuffed mushrooms (from the Entrés) was exactly what I craved. It was also the right size. My sister thoroughly enjoyed her Tandoori chicken meal. Anything that remained was polished off by my Uncle, who delighted in every morsel.

Next time I visit Elizabeth's I'll order a Muscato. I tasted some, which others had ordered, and it was delicious.

We sat outside, in the shaded outdoor area. It was very comfortable, even though it was in the 30s, temperature wise.

The last, and certainly NOT least, topic I wanted to cover was the service. WOW! We were treated to the excellent attention of Polly. What a professional, friendly and polished waitress. Its rare that you find that mix in the right proportions. She is a huge asset to Elizabeth's at McWilliam's Mount Pleasant Estate.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kerry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Hi - thanks for the review, and we are glad you enjoyed the food, atmosphere and service that we provide - don't be a stranger, please come back soon!
Regards
Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elizabeth's also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing