We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointing main meal on Mothers Day” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elizabeth's - CLOSED

Elizabeth's
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We offer breakfast, lunch, morning and afternoon tea, with a range of wines from the outstanding McWilliam's Wines portfolio. We are also available for evening group bookings and weddings from 20 to 120 people.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dissapointing main meal on Mothers Day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Entrees were really lovely however 2 of our guests who ordered the sirloin steak with Spanish omelette were unable to eat the steak due to it being dry and the Spanish omelette was more like a potato bake which was not very nice. The waitress did not ask why the meals were left almost untouched and our guests were too polite to complain as they did not want to make a fuss due to it being a Mothers Day lunch. Would not return to this restaurant for this reason.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank catherine111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    14
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cessnock, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of our new favourite breakfast destinations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We came here for breakfast for the first time last saturday. I've been wanting to come here for ages, but just hadn't had a chance yet. The coffee here was great and the food servings were HUGE! I had the chorizo and scrambled eggs on italian loaf with sides of haloumi and hashbrowns (the sides are massive - I recommend sharing them). My husband had the eggs benedict with prosciutto. Both meals were delcious! I can't wait to come back and try the french toast next time :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Munchiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, General Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hi - looks like you had a great time at Elizabeth's for breakfast recently! Look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“breaky post concert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

referred by Trip Advisor search. Great breakfast. Fantastic service. Meals took a bit of time, but no problem since we weren't in a hurry. Managed to find room to park our caravan in their carpark easy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank racmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, General Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hi - thanks for the great review of our breakfast, we are getting quite famous for them! Look forward to seeing you visit next time.

Regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE England
Level Contributor
385 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A lovely lunch spoiled by one course”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We ate a family lunch here and three of us were very pleased with dishes that we ordered. However, one of our party ordered the risotto. On reflection we should have returned this to the kitchen when served. It was like no risotto have ever seen before, it did not have the consistency that one expects and I suspect that it was not freshly cooked. This spoiled the occasion.

The wine list, however was, as one might expect, excellent and well priced. The service was good and well informed about the wine. There is an opportunity to try wines at the cellar door.

Since much of the lunch was good, I would return to try it again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travellerNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, General Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Hi - thanks for visiting our restaurant and we appreciate the feedback - as a result of your comment about the risotto, we have fine tuned the dish. Glad to hear you would like to come back, we look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Spent a wonderful morning having an exceptional breakfast outside under the eaves. Non oily, beautiful and fresh, superb service. Delightful!

Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, General Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Hi Julie - thanks for the review - yes our breakfast is a very popular attraction, and very affordable - come back and see us again!
Regards
Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elizabeth's also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing