We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lunch at Elizabeth's”
Review of Elizabeth's - CLOSED

Elizabeth's
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: We offer breakfast, lunch, morning and afternoon tea, with a range of wines from the outstanding McWilliam's Wines portfolio. We are also available for evening group bookings and weddings from 20 to 120 people.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch at Elizabeth's”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Attended Elizabeth's with my mother on Saturday for an unplanned lunch. Service was very good and food was lovely, hearty (for the cold day that it was) and very reasonably priced. The meals that were served around us also looked delightful. A little bit out of the way of the main hub of Pokolbin, but worth the look. Definitely will be returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    14
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Lunch review”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Although our lunch was of a very high standard we were disappointed by the menu. We have eaten at the restaurant many times before and this is the first time there was nothing on the menu of a simple nature. Previously we had enjoyed items such as a Ploughman's lunch and a lamb burger. Hopefully the chef will make the menu more family friendly in the future. Robyn.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg W, Manager at Elizabeth's, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are always looking to keep our menu dynamic and interesting. Your feedback is very helpful and assists us in making sure we are delivering the best experience we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, even though we were the only ones...”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

It was a slow weekday morning and having found few places open, we tried our luck here.
The breakfast was good as was the coffee, and although the buttermilk pancakes were not as fluffy (we realised that they tend to be quite dense in Australia), the rest of the meal was rather good.

A good place to have a quiet meal before more wine tasting

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank digitium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place for breakfast”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Small intimate cafe, good menu, friendly welcoming staff. A great little find my portion of the scrambled egg and chorizo was on the large size (certainly no need for a side order) and good value for money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had Sunday lunch here with a group of 7.. One in the group is very ill and the staff at Elizabeth's made a huge effort to make our day great. We were seated in the private dining room, which was great and our waitress Britt was fantastic! The chef made a special batch of pumpkin soup for the member of our group who is ill, who, in the end, couldn't come to lunch. The chef sent the soup home with a lovely note written on top of the container. The food was amazing! Overall, fantastic!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankie2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elizabeth's also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing