We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice”

Il Cacciatore Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Il Cacciatore specializes in Northern Italian Cuisine, it is not fast food. Each pasta , risotto and gnocchi is individually created in the pan, no premade sauces for us. Il Cacciatore is open from 6pm nightly. Il Cacciatore is licensed, reservations recommended Private dining room may seat up to 30 guests. The deck over looking the vineyard and dam is open during the warmer summer months, weather permitting. Take Out of pizzas and pastas are available for pick from 5pm nightly.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
280 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We ate here last night, I had the Beef & it was cooked to perfection & very tender, my husband had the Lamb but even though he was informed it would be cooked medium to rare (which he was happy with) it came out more medium to well, it was also dry with very little taste. We shared the dessert a caramel/ banana pie which was lovely. Our waitress was very professional without being intrusive. We shared a bottle of Pepper Tree Pinot Gris, an exceptional wine. They also have a Take Away menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buffie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    186
    66
    26
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great restaurant that also does take-away”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We chose to eat in our hotel so ordered takeaway pizza from this restaurant. Pizzas were excellent and good valley for money. Staff were very courteous and ushered to a lounge room to sit whilst we waited for our order.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ozzyfootprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, fantastic staff”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I went here for dinner with my parents just ahead of a great big thunderstorm. When the storm hit, the restaurant lost all electricity however not once were the staff flustered they just carried on like true professionals and delivered one of the most amazing meals! The gas still worked so the chefs managed to cook in an extremely hot kitchen (no aircon after one of the hottest days on record) and the food couldn't have looked or tasted better. Simply stunning. The candle light dinner actually made for a memorable meal and lovely atmosphere. The staff are true professionals and such lovely down to earth people. I would definitely recommend!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fitzpasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Ambience!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We came from Singapore and were very happy that our choice turned out well.

The restaurant was easy to locate and as soon as we alighted from our car, we were welcome by the nice scent from the flowers.

The Ambience was great with nice italian music playing softly in the background.

We took a stroll outside the restaurant and took lots of pictures while waiting for our food to be served. Food was great and the service was pleasant too!

Overall excellent and relaxing evening for us. We will recommend it to all our friends!

Helpful?
Thank EdmundKao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, Limburg, Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Real hospitality, great food, perfect ambiance”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This restaurant is a perfect place to get a great dinner in an almost Italian tradition.
The food was prepared with passion by the chef. My pasta with seafood was excellent. We would love to go back! Thanks to Marc ( I think that was his name) for his great hospitality!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarianS44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Cacciatore Restaurant also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Il Cacciatore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing