We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Steak and Soup of the day.”

Il Cacciatore Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 74 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Il Cacciatore specializes in Northern Italian Cuisine, it is not fast food. Each pasta , risotto and gnocchi is individually created in the pan, no premade sauces for us. Il Cacciatore is open from 6pm nightly. Il Cacciatore is licensed, reservations recommended Private dining room may seat up to 30 guests. The deck over looking the vineyard and dam is open during the warmer summer months, weather permitting. Take Out of pizzas and pastas are available for pick from 5pm nightly.
Liverpool, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Steak and Soup of the day.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Steak and Soup of the day were fantastic. Their own Shiraz by the glass was nice - bit pricey thou considering they make it. I'd go again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    186
    66
    26
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst takeaway experience ever!!!!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Spent the long weekend in the Hunter Valley and had some amazing food and experiences, after a long day my partner and I decided to have a quiet night with takeaway and a movie. We ordered two pizzas and a pasta from Il Cacciatore. The pizza had anchovies optional which we requested not to have them as I am allergic to seafood, when we got back to our hotel found the pizza was covered in them. The second pizza tasted like it was from the frozen section at woolworth heated up. The pasta was half full and tasted like it was from a tin. Very disappointing experience and defiantly never eating here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 1234Laura1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Really enjoyable evening”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We turned up without booking, having found the place on the internet. We found the staff to be very pleasant and attentive. To those complaining about slow service, I'd say that we found the unhurried nature of the place a real plus point, it meant we didn't feel pressured to eat and clear out. The food really was excellent, can highly recommend the chef's special bisque and the lamb shoulder just melted off the bone. A very enjoyable and relaxing evening

Graham & Rachel P.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“VERY DISAPPOINTED”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Last time we came here 8 years ago we had the best Italian meal... This time round was a HUGE disappointment! The meal was awful from start to finish.. If the chef thinks he can cook Italian he needs to go to Italy and learn how to cook and if they are going to create a menu eluding a taste of Italy then I expect Italian! The pasta portion was less then half a cup and for $36 my eye browns raised that's for sure.. If you like raw onions in your pasta and rocket (weirdest mix I have ever encountered).. Pity as this place used to be the high light of our hunter wine trips.. Definitely would not recommend it!

Helpful?
4 Thank Daniela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Frustrated”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We ate here on Friday evening and were also disappointed by the waiting for staff to take even a drinks order, never mind food. We ordered bread and olives - the bread arrived but no olives and then they brought my entrée which we sent back. The olives arrived scorching hot (out of the microwave?) When the entrée returned, the bread roll had obviously been re-heated (in the microwave) and was like a brick!!

Mains were delicious, the cheese board excellent and tiramisu OK.

Overall a slightly frustrating experience due to staff who need training in making customers feel at home and looked after in a silver service way. Cannot fault the excellent table settings and sparkling glasses and cutlery.

Not sure who invented dipping bread into olive oil but it is not easy when you are liable to drop some on your clothes if you are not careful!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank yellowrose68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Cacciatore Restaurant also viewed

Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
Pokolbin, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Il Cacciatore Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing