We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top spot for lunch on a sunny afternoon 👍”
Review of Hunters Quarter

Hunters Quarter
Ranked #1 of 59 Restaurants in Pokolbin
Price range: US$13 - US$29
Description: Hunters Quarter, known as HQ to locals and regulars, offers an elegant dining experience with modern Australian cuisine, driven by high quality seasonal local produce, and relaxed and attentive service. Head chef, Brian Duncan brings a wealth of global and local experience in fine dining to HQ, having worked at the Dorchester Hotel and Claridges Hotel in the upmarket area of Mayfair in London, and also at Level 41 and The Establishment, two of Sydney’s premier restaurants. Brian’s breadth of experience and exposure to a variety of world cuisines bring a unique and refined quality to his product, and his philosophy on food is based on simple, fresh, local and seasonal produce. The HQ wine list mainly focuses on local wines, and also offers some interstate and international wines.
Restaurant details
Description: Hunters Quarter, known as HQ to locals and regulars, offers an elegant dining experience with modern Australian cuisine, driven by high quality seasonal local produce, and relaxed and attentive service. Head chef, Brian Duncan brings a wealth of global and local experience in fine dining to HQ, having worked at the Dorchester Hotel and Claridges Hotel in the upmarket area of Mayfair in London, and also at Level 41 and The Establishment, two of Sydney’s premier restaurants. Brian’s breadth of experience and exposure to a variety of world cuisines bring a unique and refined quality to his product, and his philosophy on food is based on simple, fresh, local and seasonal produce. The HQ wine list mainly focuses on local wines, and also offers some interstate and international wines.
Reviewed 5 September 2019 via mobile

Scored a great table outside overlooking the vineyard and dam. Service was great with the just the right amount of attention. Food was delicious, we had the pork belly and the dumpling dishes.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank MuddyW_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sophia T, General Manager at Hunters Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave your recent dining experience at Hunters Quarter here on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased you enjoyed the experience, we have certainly been blessed with beautiful weather recently allowing for such a lovely dining spot. We would look forward to welcoming you back to Hunters Quarter next time you are in the Hunter Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (752)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 280 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2019

Our group of girls enjoyed a beautiful lunch at this establishment. The view is gorgeous, the service was first class and the meal was the best we have eaten in the Hunter. It was prepared by Casey who professionally explained all the dishes to us as they were served. We will return next year on our annual pilgrimage - I highly recommend you give Hunters Quarter a visit too.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TanyaD465
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HQ576, Guest Relations Manager at Hunters Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave a wonderful review of your experience here at HQ. We so pleased you enjoyed our picturesque views and the food. Your kind words will be passed onto Chef Casey and the staff and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2019 via mobile

The food was lovely...the service was inconsistent although they were all pleasant but not as on the ball as one would expect at these prices. We had to ask for wine and our meals were not all served at same time which resulted in our meal being cooler than we liked as we waited for others to be served. Its not cheap here but food is nice enough. About same calibre as most vineyard restaurants but not exceptional. The duck was pretty bland but crab dumplings and lamb was lovely. Would I go back..probably but wouldnt rush.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HQ576, Guest Relations Manager at Hunters Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2019

Thank you for that valued feedback on your dinning experience at Hunters Quarter. We we certainly discuss it with the team and we would like to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2019 via mobile

After reading the reviews and noting head chef has been awarded two hats, our next visit we decided to try Hunters Quarter.

What a fantastic meal we had. I had the scallops, duck and the Jaffa mousse and my wife the beetroot entree & barramundi main. Outstanding.

I never write reviews but had to on this occasion and am certain we will be back again.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank horseking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HQ576, Guest Relations Manager at Hunters Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2019

Thank you so much for leaving a review of your experience here at HQ. We so very lucky to have such experienced and professional Chefs. We are pleased you enjoyed your meals and would love to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2019

Food was great as were the staff and the setting.
Thoroughly enjoyed the food.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Switchy112
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Sophia T, Manager at Hunters Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2019

Thank you for taking the time to leave your recent dining experience at Hunters Quarter here on TripAdvisor. We are pleased you enjoyed the experience as we are certainly lucky to not only have a dedicated team but also a beautiful view. We would love to welcome you back to Hunters Quarter in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hunters Quarter also viewed

Pokolbin, Cessnock
Pokolbin, Cessnock
 

Been to Hunters Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.