We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Apartment but the bed is shocking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Port Macquarie
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good Apartment but the bed is shocking”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Good apartments located in the middle of Port Macquarie. The rooms were quiet despite being on a really busy street and the roof top pool was an absolutely brilliant bonus. The apartments are located close to most things which was a bonus because we could walk. The beds however were a complete let down. Old, cheap nasty hard things that made my hips hurt and sagged in the middle. The name quayside is a little misleading too - you sort of expect a view of the water - we sort of got one but don't go here for that reason you will be disappointed. This place has got some good aspects but in my book the uncomfortable beds are unforgivable.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MiniMooToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your honest & detailed review; we are glad you enjoyed the location & facilities at Mantra Quayside. On the score of bed comfort we have assessed the bed in question & have replaced it with a brand new mattress of high quality; we are sorry that this was not done by the time of your visit & would encourage you to contact me directly in regards to any future bookings with us & we can ensure that your next stay with us will be a great one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    185
    36
    5
    7
See reviews for
82
239
20
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed on a Saturday night in March. The place is appealing. The roof top pool and barbeque area (and gym) are well maintained and good for entertaining (not the gym of course..lol).

We met up with other couples staying in the same vicinity. I've got to say that the vista isn't very appealing (overlooking the cruddy old closed down supermarket) but I expect that will change in time. Other friends staying near the pubs etc were kept up all night. Our place was very peaceful.

It was a short stroll to restaurants and bars (and the waterfront.) All in all a very pleasant stay. This place is not a hotel, they are apartments, so you do have to do without some of the luxuries such as room service but this is great value for money, particularly for those that might be traveling with kids.

ps. The pool was heated, which was fantastic first thing in the morning after sharing a couple of glasses of wine with friends the evening before. :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your detailed review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your time in Port Macquarie and our apartments met your expectations. We also hope in time the building across the road will become something other than run down building it is at the moment.

We do hope you choose to return to Port Macquarie in the future and that you also return to Mantra Quayside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hotel is good, convenient, easy access to shops. Only thing is there is no dryer in the apt. It's located next to the lift. =( . Have to make sure to collect our clothes from the common area.
Room is clean, value for money though.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MagzL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed our convenient location and do hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Lovely, clean tidy rooms with everything you need for a relaxing stay.The bed was comfy, ample parking underneath in the basement and good little kitchen.There was a bit of noise from traffic when the balcony door was open, but fine when it shut.loved the spa on the balcony

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaijai35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your review, it is lovely to hear such nice comments about our property. We are delighted you enjoyed the spa and do hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

When you get tired of driving and start searching for clean accommodation in the late afternoon it is always best to search on the direct booking websites, check the write ups on TA and then phone the hotel direct for a deal. You bet - we got a good one. Out of holiday season and a Monday night the rate offered was excellent. They explained about a smell of new paint but we were happy with it.
The room and property was all we expect with Mantra. Although a franchise group, the owners and managers go the extra mile for their own businesses and we were welcomed with a that friendly service level that many bigger hotels have forgotten.
Nice sized room and although in the centre of town there was no street noise. Also a short walk to everything and we enjoyed a meal out at the local recommended Thai restaurant overlooking the small wharf.
Overall - very good and no problems!
Peter & Janice

Room Tip: Call ahead to discuss your requirements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
What lovely comments, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay. It is wonderful to hear that our staff, location and facilities met your Mantra expectations. We do hope you return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were travelling up the coast and just needed a one night stopover. The Mantra apartment was clean, spacious and well equipped. The centre location in Port Macquarie was perfect for us and we were impressed with the secure underground carpark. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Elaine18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you, we are so glad you were happy with your stay and hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked in here for our honeymoon as we wanted to go to Port Macquarie and the property seemed to be in a great location, virtually in the heart of town plus a heated outdoor rooftop swimming pool. We arrived late due to a late departure and a lot of road works on the highway. The property rang and told us that reception would be closed when we arrived and what we had to do and it was very simple and easy. We parked our car in the underground secure car park, then made our way up to our room which was on the third floor (highest floor). When we entered our room we were greeted with some chocolates and a big bottle of bubbly wine with a lovely letter of congratulations on our marriage. What a lovely surprise! The room was wonderful. Large lounge with dining and small kitchen. The fridge was only a bar size fridge and it took two days for the ice to freeze which was disappointing for us. The bathroom was a lovely large size. The bedroom was wonderful and spacious. Everything was clean and well maintained. We were able to walk to the shops in the town Centre, we were so close. We drove to the beaches and they are so beautiful and yet all so different. Had breakfast at our room, had dinner in our room one night then went out the others. Every day we swam in the roof top pool.....what a life.....spent a day at the beach and even came home and went straight upstairs to the pool again, it was just perfect. You were aware of the traffic noise from outside but after a while it didn't affect us at all. Being central to town you have to expect some noise. On our balcony we had views of the river. The towels were regularly changed. Really enjoyed our stayed. Very happy to have air conditioning as it was very hot. Our bed was really comfortable. When you had a shower the water tends to leak out onto the floor a bit so you need to be aware of that but it wasn't really a problem. Would stay here if we come back again, definitely!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuisaLloyd, Manager at Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
What a wonderful detailed review, Thank you. We do appreciate your comments, and we are so happy you enjoyed your celebration in Port Macquaire and that we were able to play a part in that. We are glad you were able to make use of our wonderful rooftop facility and our convenient location. Thank you again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.3 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ki-ea Apartments
Ki-ea Apartments
#3 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#10 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mantra The Observatory
Mantra The Observatory
#5 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macquarie Waters Hotel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Sails Resort Port Macquarie - by Rydges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie

Property: Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie
Address: | Cnr William & Short Streets, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Macquarie
#6 Romantic Hotel in Port Macquarie
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port Macquarie
#11 Family Hotel in Port Macquarie
#13 Business Hotel in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra Quayside, Port Macquarie is situated in the beautiful coastal town of Port Macquarie, offering quality accommodation just minutes walk from the shopping and dining hub of Horton Street. Featuring self-contained Studios and One and Two Bedroom Apartments, Mantra Quayside provides everything you need for a relaxed and stress-free North Coast holiday. Perfect for business people, a couples getaway or family holiday, Mantra Quayside Port Macquarie offers spacious, self-contained apartments all featuring a kitchenette or full kitchen facilities, air-conditioning, state-of-the-art home theatre system and balcony or patio, with some offering views over the Back Channel anchorage on Hastings River. Our relaxed and comfortable Port Macquarie resort features a rooftop pool and entertaining area with views over the waterfront, a fully equipped gym, sauna, sauna and direct access to shopping. Only a short stroll from Mantra Quayside Apartments you will find dynamic Horton Street which offers an abundance of cafes, restaurants, boutique stores, cinemas and the brand new Glasshouse theatre or take a scenic drive to the many wineries in the Greater Port Macquarie region ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Quayside Apartments Port Macquarie Hotel Port Macquarie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing