We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, cheerful and good for a short stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Port Macquarie Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap, cheerful and good for a short stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived late by bus and was therefore unable to be picked up, however, it was only a 10 minute walk. Only had 1 day here and the manager was very friendly and helpful in pointing out where to go in Port Macquarie and how best to spend our time there. The wifi was free which is always a bonus, everything was clean and the town itself was only a short walk away. Port Macquarie is certainly a place to visit but probably not for more than 2 or 3 days. The only issue I found in the hostel was that there were no plug sockets in the rooms so found it difficult to charge phones etc.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SwynYrAwyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    46
    14
    0
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
36
58
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hostel was well furnished and cozy. The best part was the people. I stayed there in the off season and I was able to not only meet everyone there, but travel a bit with them afterwards. Colin, the manager of the hostel for the duration of my stay, was very friendly and not only told us about all of the fun stuff to do in town, he also hung out after hours and made the place that much more welcoming. I would highly recommend this place and the price can't be beat either.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Stewart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Having stayed in a few backpackers I found that this one in Port Macquarie was quite friendly, extremely clean and just what we needed for a one night stay (possibly longer if we needed to).
Colin in reception was really friendly, giving us directions into town, recommending somewhere for dinner, and something to do the next day if we wanted, a very thorough tour of the house, showing us to our room, kitchen and then inviting us to a gathering to watch the AFL.
Our room was a bit small, but big enough.
The ladies bathroom facilities were spotless, and there was plenty of hot water.
There appears to be a good tour desk.
We didn't use the kitchen, other than the fridge, but thought that it looked quite good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CestLeVie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as a stop over and it was fine for then but wouldn't have wanted to stay much longer. To be honest there's not an awful lot to do in Port Macquarie and there wasn't really much going on in the hostel either. It's very small and pretty basic. The rooms were small, they were clean and the bathrooms were really clean. It is quiet so good for a nights sleep and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Quite close to the town but not really much around the hostel like restaurants or bars, even though it's on a main road. Not the best, not the worst!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maxandsez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed at the Port Macquerie Backpackers for one night in March 2014. It had been raining straight for two days and unfortunately rained during our whole time in Port Macquarie. The evening staff at the hostel was extremely friendly and the rooms clean even if on the small side. The kitchen is however very poorly equipped for the number of people staying (especially if its raining) and I couldn't help but feel that a little more care and thought would make this place a million time better. The owner (or the guy who was at the desk in the morning) was really not friendly though which was a shame. It's an ok place to stay but I feel the reviews are overly positive for what is quite average.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Friendly and helpful staff, willing to go the extra mile to make sure that you get to do what you want, heaps of free things to do such as visiting the koala hospital and fishing. clean rooms and cleaned every day. Fun atmosphere, very inclusive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I'd booked 2 nights here but ended up staying 4 as it was such a lovely atmosphere. The staff are all extremely nice and helpful, everything was clean. The free shuttle is very useful. The hostel is very good value for money! If you're passing by Port M, i would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Macquarie hotels
0.6 mi away
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
Mercure Centro Port Macquarie
#11 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rydges Port Macquarie
Rydges Port Macquarie
#12 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beachside Backpackers
Beachside Backpackers
#3 of 35 in Port Macquarie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers
Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers
#7 of 35 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mid Pacific Motel
Mid Pacific Motel
#7 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Hill Motor Lodge
Aston Hill Motor Lodge
#9 of 42 in Port Macquarie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Macquarie Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Macquarie Backpackers

Property: Port Macquarie Backpackers
Address: 2 Hastings River Dr, Port Macquarie, New South Wales 2444, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Port Macquarie
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Port Macquarie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pay for your bed; the rest is free: computers, WIFI, bus pick up, swimming pool, beach & koala hospital shuttle, body boards, kayaks, snorkel gear, fishing rods, kangaroo sunset tour. There is no better place or value for money to enjoy Port Macquarie. Port Macquarie Backpackers is the most awarded hostel in town, renovated in 2011. People say it has a homely feeling and that's exactly what it is, a big home. It has never been easier to make new friends! The only real backpackers in town with a 24h kitchen and lounge room! Free pick up and drop off from the bus stop, free beach and koala hospital shuttle bus, fast Internet and Wifi all day everyday, free bodyboards, free fishing rods and tackle, free tea, coffee and sugar all day, free pool table, free day trips to see kangaroos in the wild at sunset (very cool!), and special deals for pizza, ice cream and coffee everyday! With 9 beaches in town and some of the nicest coast line on the north coast there is lots to do or just relax & chill on the veranda or swing in a hammock by the pool. Come stay and play you will be amazed! See you soon Tony No children, sorry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Port Macquarie Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing