We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can pick your cruise, but you can't always pick your fellow passengers”

The Cruise Terminal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Port Venture cruises has the largest boat in Port Macquarie- The River Princess, there is plenty of space to move around the boat. She has two different viewing levels.She has a number of enjoyable river experiences for you:-BBQ cruises- GO exploring up river and have your BBQ cooked for you as we travel. Enjoy morning tea along the way with an informative historic commentary. Lunch is a choice of fish or Steak, Salad, Sausage & bread roll for your lunch. This is a Great day out for any age or group. Boom net ride included.Eco History Cruises- Up into the Hastings river system. Enjoy our informative commentary about our history and environment whilst enjoying afternoon tea- (Enjoy cooling off in our Boom net. peak school holidays only)Optional upgrade to include a Devonshire tea whilst cruising :)Twilight/Sunset- Bring your own drinks and nibbles to enjoy on our picturesque waterway. Stunning time of day on an airy all weather boat. . Boom Net rides- summer months & peak times only We Have a Whale watching Boat The Ocean Adventure 1 that offers Daily Whale watching Trips from May to November and Ocean coast line Trips all year round. we offer Kayak/sup Hire all year round.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“You can pick your cruise, but you can't always pick your fellow passengers”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Not something we'd normally do, the cruise was included in our accommodation booking.

The staff on board were especially pleasant, and went out of their way to cater for the interests of the patrons for that trip. Unfortunately, our journey co-incided with a small on board work Christmas party for a bank, who were well lubricated by the time others arrived and dominated the upper deck. Ironically, a larger group of teenagers celebrating the end of school were well behaved on the lower deck, and especially enjoyed the boom net being lowered.

Out along the river, spotting dolphins, with some commentary about the history of the convict settlement of Port Macquarie along the way, through some of the last canal developments and back to the main street.

Overall, a very interesting diversion for two hours, and the crew were great. I would consider repeating it, under different circumstances, and with different company!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Flashduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChineseJunk, Manager at The Cruise Terminal, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. I sorry to hear that your cruise was impacted by other guests aboard with you. Unfortunately like you, we are unable to vet our guests before boarding and a public cruise has a different dynamic every day. This particular dynamic is an unusual one. It is a little like going on a bus or a train or a plane you don't get to choose your travelling companions or their behavior. Thank you for acknowledging that the staff did a great job, we always appreciate positive feedback. I understand that our fellow human beings are not always considerate to others needs and that is something we deal with daily, especially given the time of year. It would be lovely to see you another time and we would do our very best to look after you.
Regards and Merry Christmas Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    26
    12
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cohuna, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great crew and whale watching”
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Although it was fairly rough the day we went out we saw several whales and really enjoyed it. Crew were great and obviously excited to see the whales even though they must see them several times a day. Would love to go back late in the season when the calfs are travelling down south again as they apparently play around more then. Enjoyed the larger boat and being able to see the whales from higher vantage points

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 297janine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChineseJunk, Manager at The Cruise Terminal, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We are so glad we were able to share our passion with you. The whale watching boat has left town now. However we have Plenty of river cruises to offer. I you are looking to Whale watch before the end of season (end of Oct beginning Nov) we can certainly point you in the right direction. Many thanks again for coming out with us. Kind Regards Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“A cruise to remember”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Being a resident of Port Macquarie I thought it was about time I did some whale watching. WOW!! What a fantastic trip on the Port Venture, it was my first trip out and certainly won't be my last. It didn't take long to find a couple of whales who continuously circled the boat and put on a great show for us. The commentary was very informative and it was obvious that the lovely ladies looking after us enjoyed the experience just as much as us whale watchers. Fantastic experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChineseJunk, Manager at The Cruise Terminal, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Kevin, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad your trip was so special. Please prompt us next time you are in for a local loyalty card that gives you a discount off our cruises and is valid for two years. Look forward to welcoming you back next time. Kind Regards Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
1 review
“Awe-inspiring experience”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I bought my sister, visiting from the UK, a whale-watching cruise with Port Venture Cruises as a birthday treat. Right from the get-go the staff were warm, friendly and very knowledgeable.

We headed out, straight for a pod of whales directly off the coast of Port. According to the captain, it was a "heat run" - one female, with five males trying to prove their worth to her. We followed them up the coast for about 40 mins as they went about their business (travelling at between 5-8 knots to keep up with them). Our captain seemed able to predict exactly what they would do and we were privileged to have them surface right next to our boat a number of times.

On the way back to Port, we came across a breaching, cavorting whale off the North Shore beach. Although we were over out allotted time, the captain called into the office and we stayed watching this whale for about 30 mins...an incredible, awe-inspiring, unforgettable experience.

Thank you Port Venture Cruises for an outstanding experience!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aussiegnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliPortmacquarie, Manager at The Cruise Terminal, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Many thanks for your review. I am so glad that the day tuned out well for your Sister's Birthday. Sometimes the weather and the whales join to make an amazing trip and you were the lucky recipient. We try and please where possible and if we are able to stay longer if the whales weather and our guests are happy we love to oblige. Thankyou for taking the time time to review us. Much appreciated... hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Natural wonders and accessibility too!”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

My family and I took a whale watching cruise on 16/7/13 with Nat and Ginny. We needed a vessel with wheelchair access and Port Venture fitted the bill. Our whole experience with Port Venture Cruises was fabulous - from Alison's response to my enquiry, cruising out on a beautiful and extremely clean vessel, all the way to disembarking at the end of the cruise.
We saw whales and dolphins, and I can't tell you how long we were out watching because at no time did the passengers feel rushed.
All in all a very positive experience - especially for my 11 year old who is in a wheelchair and never dreamed she'd be able to go whale watching!!!
Thanks so much Nat and Ginny!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliPortmacquarie, Manager at The Cruise Terminal, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Many thanks for your review Richelle, we hope you and your family enjoy their travels. It was a pleasure to have you on board. Kind Regards Alison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cruise Terminal also viewed

Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
Port Macquarie, New South Wales
 

Been to The Cruise Terminal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing